We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem”
Review of Pipers

Pipers
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Garstang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Very easy to find on the High Street. Opposite the Crown Hotel
Great Eccleston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Came here last Saturday, heard good things and thought we would give it a try. Really pleased we did because the food is out of this world and what a lovely place/atmosphee. Will most certainly be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    56
    24
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Normally a never mind the quality look at the quantity sort of eater this was out of the ordinary and simply sensational”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I don't normally go for art on a plate type of food but was taken to Pipers for a treat and I have to say it was sensational! The staff were very welcoming, polite and helpful, the food was quite simply a series of taste sensations and beautifully presented from the little canapes provided whilst waiting for the food to be cooked to the last morsel of the dessert I have to say it was all fantastic!
Now that is high praise from someone who would normally avoid art on a plate type of restaurants as I love my food and would go for flavour and quantity over the visual presentation any day but this was something different - each course was a flavour sensation and a delight to eat and yes it was beautifully presented too!
I have been so disappointed by other restaurants where the look of the food was definitely more important than the flavour but this wasn't like that at all. Would I go back - I certainly would and will - it's not the cheapest place to eat but it is certainly well worth every penny.
The other fantastic thing about this place is the total lack of tinned background music - you can have a conversation - it's lovely.
Just mind your head on the beams and low doorways - the building was constructed when people were much shorter than they are today - but that doesn't detract from a really wonderful dining experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Visitexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Something special”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was our third visit to Piper's. if you are celebrating a special occasion and you want somewhere a bit special this is the place to go. My husband is vegetarian and choice in a lot of places is sparse, here it isn't. His main course of wild mushroom gateaux was divine! My choice of butternut squash and ricotta bilini's was heavenly, I didn't want it to end. Desserts are my thing and I'm never disappointed, my duo of creme brulee's with mrs dowson's ice cream finished of another wonderful night. I cannot recommend Piper's highly enough, try it for yourselves.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mags R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Always High Quality”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Always a great qulaity meal at Pipers - Ian the chef patron is a great chef who keeps the standard high and delivers a good meal everytime.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasted beautiful and perfect presentation”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We went to Pipers tonight (a Wednesday) so it was the deal of 3 courses for £15 or 2 courses for £10. The food was so incredible, it tasted AMAZING and looked stunning. I recommend it to everybody! Such good value for money especially on a Wednesday, you won't find anywhere that will give you a more wonderful experience than here. Recommend it to anyone and I will be going again as soon as I can!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank youngdiner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pipers also viewed

 
Garstang, Lancashire
Scorton, Lancashire
 
Garstang, Lancashire
Garstang, Lancashire
 

Been to Pipers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing