We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a good location”
Review of North Euston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
North Euston Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fleetwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We thought that the North Euston was excellent value, and would certainly stay there again! The beds were comfy and creak-free, our room had all we needed, and everywhere was very clean. During our stay, the staff were really nice - some repeat guests said that they were much better than the staff had been in 2012. There was a wedding on while we were there, and everything to do with it looked great. We enjoyed all our meals, and had no complaints with the service we received. Ignore any reviews moaning about the décor - for what you pay, you're not going to get a 5-star boutique hotel but the North Euston will be fine unless you're EXTREMELY picky!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fedupsingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 580 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

went here as part of a wedding. the ceremony was held in the hotel which looked amazing. the staff were very attentive and made sure everyone was happy. we then went through to another room for our lunch, the service was very good and we didnt have to wait around for our food. the staff were always on hand incase we wanted anything. overall a lovely place, completly faultless.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank pinkelephant2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The North Euston hotel is an early Victoria delight built in a gracious crescent on the esplanade overlooking Morecambe Bay and the River Wyre. The present owners seem to be intent on updatng the facilities and room comforts whilst retaining the charm of the establishment.
My room was on the second floor and had expansive views of the estuary. The bathroom was clean and modern, albeit not large. The room facilities included a tea/coffee tray, a quirky hot water bottle, wonderful creaky floorboards and a thoughtful wedge to prevent the original sash widow from rattling on windy nights.
The dining room is an elegant transformation of Victorian grandeur to modern chic design, with a menu giving a good choice of snacks, afternoon teas to 3-course dinner from an excellent chef. The staff are all friendly, welcoming and willing to accommodate individual requests. The DBB option is a good choice.
The hotel offers special wine-tasting dinners and murder mystery evenings, so whilst I was staying at the hotel for business this time, I would return with my wife for a special event weekend away in the future. The hotel also has an elegant meeting room and fantastic ballroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Visitor_to_Blackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and 2 children, and my dad. It was my Dad's treat, so I did not make any complaints while we were there, as I didn't want to sound ungrateful. Ok, where do I start?

The good:
- decent food in the bar and restaurant
- good full english breakfast in the restaurant
- the hotel bedrooms must have thick walls because we could not hear our neighbours (or maybe it was empty?)

The bad:
- had to pay for the rooms upon arrival (bad sign!) to the most miserable receptionist ever! Our rooms were not even ready, and it was an hour AFTER check-in time.
It felt like we were a huge inconvenience and they were not used to having guests. There were other staff glaring at us from behind a glass screen.
- The bedroom was filthy and I had to clean it with wet wipes before letting our baby get on the floor.
The bedside tables were thick with dust, the skirting boards had gunk all over, the doors had chocolate smeared across, the carpet was pulling up going into the bathroom causing a trip hazard. On the window ledge outside, there was a stack of tissues with blood on them. What EXACTLY do the cleaners get paid for here? They change the towels and restock your tea bags and that's it, by the looks of things!

- The windows are single glazed so you can hear everything outside. There is a bus and tram terminus right outside the hotel and they leave the engines running. They start around 5.30am and finish around 1am, so earplugs are needed if you like more than 4 hours sleep!

- One night, there was a band on in the bar, 2 floors below us and it shook and vibrated everything in our room. We put up with the likes of HiHo Silver Lining til around 11pm when we thought it would stop. Bearing in mind our baby was not able to fall asleep, my husband asked reception when it would stop...."I don't know, probably midnight". Oh well, nice to know they cared!

- My tip is to check if there is live music or a function going on because if you have children, they won't sleep.

- Fleetwood is a bit of a ghost town. This hotel is the main social point for the locals. I'd say the hotel caters for the locals more than it's guests. They have weddings, birthday functions, conferences. The hotel bar is full of locals and the staff are very friendly with them but rude to hotel guests. Not just us, I witnessed a waitress being really abrupt and patronising to another guest.

- Whilst the food is good, tables are not cleared. We sat amongst other tables piled up with dirty plates and beer glasses. We ate our food and came back 2 hours later and it was all still there! This happened every day. The highchair always needed a good clean, not just in the bar, but in the restaurant too. YUK!
The staff cannot say they are busy either. There were tables piled up with glasses and plates while 2 female staff played on their phones and made themselves a coffee.

- The restaurant: unfriendly waitress faking efficiency. Dropping plates and cutlery throughout breakfast. Waiter comes along and drops a teapot all over another couples table...what is this? Fawlty Towers? The staff in this whole place seem to really hate working here. Which brings me on to...

- We wanted to eat in the bar one night but half of it was closed so the live band could bring their drums in, and there were no tables left, so we went to the restaurant where it was a la carte menu but my 6 year old just wanted tomato soup from the menu in the bar. We went in and asked if that was ok. First of all the waitress at the door seemed very flustered that we had even dared to enter the room and barked "Are you residents?!", and no we can't have tomato soup as it's pea and ham soup across all the menus in the hotel. (even though they were serving tomato in the bar). I could not be bothered to argue with her and told her we would go elsewhere hopefully for some better customer service. She stomped off to answer her mobile phone.
(The chinese restaurant over the road not only has friendly staff but the food is very good aswell - go there!)

- I've touched on this already, but the reception staff are amazingly rude to hotel guests. They only care about locals using the bar, functions and corporate events. There was no friendly greeting on arrival, they just wanted paying. We had the audacity to leave our keys with them while we went out for the day. When my dad went to collect ghem, the woman just threw them on the desk and did not look at or say a word to him. Absolutely disgusting.

Overall, a hotel with character that needs money spending on it. The owners should think about sending the staff on training courses for customer service and ensure the cleaners are cleaning.
Our room was £80 per night and it was filthy. The carpet was meant to be pink but it was black.
£80 is a joke.

We won't be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Melanie009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

was visiting Fleetwood for a concert with my Mum & Sister and booked this hotel due to special rates when visiting Marine Hall. Booked a triple room and was expecting the usual 3 beds crammed into a tiny space only to find the most beautiful well equipped room, more like a suite really with 2 separate bedrooms. Ate in the bar before we went out, gorgeous freshly cooked, good value for money piping hot food and same with breakfast, cooked to order and very good quality. Very friendly and helpful reception staff and all in all a very pleasant stay and we will book again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMoore0644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night, we chose the Wyre room as it is the biggest and the windows open fully, lovely breeze and comfortable room. Meals were unite good and service was great. Would stay again, wifi was good and overall experience would make us recommend, would suggest one of the 2 best rooms

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egghead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Very good location if you have business in Fleetwood or are attending the college or offshore courses.

Good points: good size rooms, clean, very reasonable prices, good quality English pub style food

Bad points: no water pressure in bathrooms on top floor making the shower very hard to use, service staff were slow and rude - breakfast service was very bad, I had the feeling from the staff that asking for breakfast was the most outrageous thing they had ever heard!

Overall an average hotel. Shame about service staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleetwood
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
150 reviews
4 mi away
Briardene Hotel
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
233 reviews
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Bispham) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,301 reviews
4.9 mi away
Shard Riverside Hotel
Shard Riverside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poulton Le Fylde
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Euston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Euston Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Fleetwood FY7 6BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wyre District > Fleetwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fleetwood
Price Range: $70 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North Euston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your North Euston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Euston Fleetwood
North Euston Hotel Fleetwood, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing