We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Visit”
Review of Fleetwood Museum

Fleetwood Museum
Ranked #3 of 23 things to do in Fleetwood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fleetwood Museum is closing on 30 September 2016 except for pre-booked school visits. Negotiations are underway with a potential new operator. We will keep you updated on progress.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting Visit”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The maritime is an excellent and interesting visit for all the family. Some very surprising historical detail here too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    30
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Returned”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I have been on both sides of the counter here. I am afraid that, since the budget was cut for the museum, the main point of interest seems to be the cafe.
There are less exhibits now but still very much of an interest for for fans of the fishing industry, sea-going vessels and local industries of the past.
Events for children are always excellent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kcvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting and very helpful”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We visited fleetwood for the day whilst staying at carnforth for the week. Found the exhibits very interesting, The staff and the volunteers were amazing. Very friendly and helpful and we learned a lot more from them. seeing the Harriet was fantastic too. Hopefully they can raise the money to do something with her.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Glassfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A credit to the volunteers”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

As soon as you walk in through the front door you can feel how proud the staff are who run this museum. Not the largest in Lancashire but certainly one of the most well kept and interesting, even my youngest daughter aged 5 was amazed by the displays of various themes of maritime. Well worth the cost of entry and the 10 mile bike ride from and back to Cleveleys.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank montycamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not great”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

In contrast to other reviews I wasn't that struck with this museum. Not a lot to see really and videos had no sound so could not watch. I love history and museums but just was not impressed. Just glad we went on a heritage open day so it was free. Staff lovely though.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CheekyChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fleetwood Museum also viewed

 

Been to Fleetwood Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing