We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“appalling... better value if I bought a shed and stayed in it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fleetwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The New Boston Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Fleetwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“appalling... better value if I bought a shed and stayed in it!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We had gone out for the day and came back to the hotel room to find the polystyrene roof tiles had fallen in dripping water everywhere, we where then moved to another room with disgusting mugs/cups/spoons etc. for one night. For the second night we were moved back to our original room, the floor was dirty from the water coming in, the shower was a trickle and either scolding or turned off! the toilet chain hardly worked and the taps produced black flecks and gunk when they were turned on!!

when we went to reception to check out and told the receptionist our problems, he got all moody and refused to accept it and refused any discount if all our inconvenience!

anyway, we will never be going back again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anna-rose1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newboston_11, Owner at The New Boston Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We have to say we are very confused by this review as it does not tell the full story as to what happened.
Firstly the guest does not state that during this weekend Fleetwood suffered continuous downpours of rain and the weather was very stormy which of course we can not control im afraid, and when bad weather occurs sometimes a building our size can suffer with certain incidents and can be difficult to maintain which is how this happened so was completely unforseen and therefore powerless to prevent.
Secondly when they checked in and went to the room they was perfectly happy with the room they was staying in and it was not until later that evening at approximately 9pm they made us aware of what had happened which was of course due to the continuous rain we had suffered during that day.
We therefore made some investigations and swiftly moved them to a more luxurious suite at no extra cost this was a brand new refurbished room on the front with a seaview.
As we was fully booked the evening after we informed the guest that we would have the repairs done in the other room they had booked in the morning and that they would be moving back as the room we had let them stay in was in fact booked out that night. They accepted this and was happy.
The repairs was in fact done as stated and the room checked and cleaned very thoroughly as they always are and the guests then moved back into the room the next day.
We never saw them again until the next morning upon check out when in fact they requested a discount which was politely refused due to the fact we had dealt with the problem very swiftly by moving them to a better room and also having the repairs done right away.
At no point was we informed of the grievences in their review i.e. dirty cups/spoons and problems with the shower as they write because if they had we would have investigated this straight away and dealt with that too and if discounts was justified then this would be given.
We have in fact checked the points they raise and the rooms and can find no trace of any of these problems in those rooms at all which confuses us further really.
As fas as we are concerned they checked into the hotel just after lunch and then at 9pm that evening this unfortunate accident happened. We therefore moved them straight away to a brand new room, the problem was dealt with swiftly and no inconvenience was caused, we offered help with luggage but this was refused too.
This incident happened while they was not occupying the room i.e. sleeping, they was out at the time and no damage occurred to any of their property.
We are just very confused as to why no issues was brought to our attention that they now write here, they only asked for discounts because they had to move rooms even thought they was moved to a superior room at the same rate.
We feel we are justified with the refusal of a discount for reasons stated and can say to any future guests we will always try our best to make their stay as comfortable as possible, comfort is our main priority and guests are always welcome to view rooms before they check in.
As you will see on our website www.newbostonhotel.co.uk our customer reviews are very positive after the refurbishment project.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    18
    4
    11
    15
See reviews for
34
26
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Back for a 10 day stay, and delighted to have a newly refurbished room overlooking the Bay.. Clean, fresh and great service, Linda and John are doing a great job as they continue to refurbish. Meals are excellent, as can be seen by the number of locals who eat in the Restaurant.
The room we had was large and well appointed with all new furniture.
In terms of value for money I find this hotel to be excellent. I cannot fathom why anyone would want to discredit it by negative reviews, of course its not the Radison or Skytower but neither are the room rates.
It is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view, the rooms overlooking the Prom are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZConsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury, lancs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Please do not stay here if you wish to have a good night sleep with your children. Room priced at £90 on first arrival was very impressive , double bed and two twin beds. With en suite bathroom which was all very clean, modern And just great for what we needed. I managed to squeeze my babies travel cot in the space on the floor too. When returning to our room in the evening to put our three year ol and ten month baby to sleep. We was shocked to hear the noise of the music below our room from the party below. The floor was actually vibrating! We complained to staff yet nothing was done! In the morning we spoke with the lady owner who dismissed our complaint and who was extremely patronising. She only offered any apoligy once she had snatched our money from us.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank sandy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blueboys9, Owner at The New Boston Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
To say we are dissappointed with this review is an understatement really purely because we have just worked so hard on the refurbishment of our rooms which as you will see from our website are to a very high standard so this review is a little disheartening really.
The family rooms are very spacious, any future guests are very welcome to look at rooms before they book into our hotel and will see there is plenty of room for travel cots should they wish to bring them as in this case. We was informed prior that this would be the case.
This guest was in fact a guest at the wedding that we had going on at the hotel and had we been asked to provide a quieter room then this would in no way be a problem prior to check in as we have rooms higher up that are a lot quieter than those on the first floor but we was not asked for this at all by the guest and as we was fully booked that weekend then it became impossible to swap the rooms around, by the time the guest mentioned the noise at 10.45pm!!
We did explain that the music would stop at midnight and no later, which it did. There was no other mention of the music by any other guest that evening it just seems unfortunate that these guest did not request a quieter room then no problem would have occurred we just simply was not made aware of this need when the booking was made by the guest.
We simply could not do any more for the guest other than explain the music could not go off until the wedding guests had requested it until which this guest knew about as we understand it was her mother whom actually got married.
We apologise once again for this unfortunate incident and would merely suggest to any future guests that they request rooms higher up should this occur again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We was there for Shirley and Colin's wedding, the hospitality was great, couldn't fault it. The food was very nice, and the rooms was very clean! And had a good view of the sea side! Overall a great hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frostie666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked room with double bed that barely fitted in space.

Poor quality furnishings

Bedside light didn't work.

Restaurant closed.

No bath towel rail - just the two end holders sticking out of the wall.

Very noisey toilet macerator.

Pictures mounted behind cupboard which you had to move the tv table out of the way to open

Room smelt and had black mold on window frames and bathroom tiles.

No toilet roll holder - just rawl plugs sticking out.

If you want a good night sleep then go elsewhere - you can't avoid hearing everything that goes on in adjacent rooms, those below and above.

Not recommended at all - horrible.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glock16261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newboston_11, General Manager at The New Boston Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We have to respond to this review as it is absolutely astonishing to say the least.
At present any of our guests will see we are undergoing major refurbishments to our bedrooms and this can only be done at certain times of the year for example our more quieter months i.e. January and February.
The work is now very nearly complete and would say to any future guests to ignore this review and come see the hotel for themselves and they will see what work has been carried out.
These refurbishments simply can not happen overnight it is as simple as that, as i say they are major alterations and take a number of weeks to complete.
All i would say that very few of the rooms are still to be completed but we will ALWAYS make guests aware of that and the price for certain rooms will be reflected in the price they will pay.
We totally dispute the complaints the above guest has made however and can categorically say that our rooms are in no way disgusting and tatty, they are cleaned daily whether they are used or not.
Should there be any complaints by any guest then they will be dealt with the best way we can and will always try our best for our customers to be as comfortable as they can be during their stay and if that means moving rooms then this is no problem.
Had we been made aware of this guests problem during their stay we would have dealt with anything we could but we wasnt so find it hard to deal with problems if we are not aware of them.
There is a manager who lives on the premises 24 hours a day and is always available but was not informed of any complaints by this guest during the stay.
As for the restaurant being closed this we simply can not understand it is open 6 days and nights a week without fail all through the year, the only evening it does not open sometimes should we not have any guest pre book meals is a Monday evening as we only have one full time chef and therefore we try to give him one evening off, although if meals are required then these will be provided.
Again all our guests are always made aware of this when making thier bookings, so that is very confusing indeed.
All we can do is apologise to this guest as clearly not happy but would say to them that they will see we are undergoing major refurbishments at present which are now days from completion and would suggest if they book in the future request one of those rooms and i think they will be pleasently surprised.
As already stated, work like this can not be done overnight and does take some weeks so would say to any future guests reading this review to stay before they make judgement on review alone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have stayed in The New Boston Hotel before on many occasions and over the years the owners John and Linda have made many changes to the hotel. I have always found it to be clean and very friendly.
I have just stayed again and have to say that they have to be applauded to what they have done to the new bedrooms they are wonderful, everything within them is brand new from carpets to lightfittings and furniture, they are absolutely gorgeous and would recommend to anyone to stay here.
I have noted that there have been some negative comments previously on the hotel and can understand some of them but would just say that the hoel has been transformed with this recent refurbishment, you just need to see it to believe it the rooms are so nice.
The prices have hardly increased at all too which is also brilliant especially in the climate we find ourselves in.
The food is fantastic too, they have just re designed their menu which has so many offers on, the sizzler deals are out of this world and you have to try them they are delicious.
I travel a lot either with my family or on business and will always come back to The New Boston as it has everything i need. They also now offer complimentary WIFI at the hotel which is a big bonus as this helps when im travelling on business so i can work and also my children love it too obviously.
I absolutely loved my stay once again it just gets better and better each time i go as they always seem to be improving it year on year and really cant wait to stay again which wont be in the too distant future.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are beautiful with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Having going to the new Boston hotel me and my husband have been quite a few times and sometimes take the family but we do like to go alone .... As soon as you walk in to the restaurant you are welcomed to the most warm smile by Linda and a hello from John if he's there ..the staff are always there to help and have a great work force ,we have never had a problem eating here the food it's hot (which is good) ,good portions ,and value for money which is a bonus !! Having gone out to other restaurants and if its bad I always say we should of gone to the Boston !!! Even when there was awake on ,we got took to another bar and eaten there which was nice and cosy... Sunday dinner is lovely all the trimmings leaves u full up ,please try a dessert I get the banana coupe it's very yummy ,they once ran out of bananas and put in warm sticky pudding instead it was amazing !! I've tried a few meals from here and have never been disappointed always warm ,welcoming and nothing's to much bother and that's what you want ,I will defiantly be going again and again as I love this place ,lovely food,few drinks ,nice chat ...overall a good place to go ....

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lojolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleetwood
0.5 mi away
North Euston Hotel
North Euston Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fleetwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
3.7 mi away
Briardene Hotel
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Bispham) Hotel
5.0 mi away
Shard Riverside Hotel
Shard Riverside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poulton Le Fylde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#12 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Boston Hotel

Property: The New Boston Hotel
Address: 41-43 The Esplanade, Fleetwood FY7 6QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Fleetwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fleetwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is set on the seafront at Fleetwood overlooking the Wyre Estuary with panaromic views across Morecambe Bay to the hills of the Lake District.The Hotel has undergone a major refurbishment project in 2013. It is open all year round and has 24 tastefully decorated bedrooms which includes a brand new Bridal Suite all of which have en suite facilities.All rooms include tea/coffee making facilities, courtesy trays, flatscreen tv's, freeview channels, direct dial telephones and complimentary Wifi access.There is a very modern and comfortable bar and lounge area for all residents and a large restaurant which also opens to the public with a wide variety of meals cooked by our full time chef.A swimming pool, gym and leisure centre is opposite the hotel aswel as a lynx 18 hole golf course.Tram and bus stops going into Blackpool are within 5 minutes walking distance are very frequent. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The New Boston Hotel Fleetwood, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing