We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrid Place and very very rude Manager!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New Boston Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Fleetwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My 12 year old daughter and I travelled to fleetwood to surprise some old friends and booked into the New Boston. On 1st impressions it looked lovely. Then we 3 nights and was given a box room on the 3rd floor! It was truely disgusting and dangerous!!!! Where do I start? The bathroom. Tiles were falling of the walls! The Light switch cord was minging and dirty and out of reach for my daughter. The sink was cracked and very sharp and my daughter cut her finger on it cleaning it out. There was a boiler in here which seemed to constantly running and making a loud noise which disturbed our sleep. This also was not locked and when opeed it was full of builders rubish. Also the panels were fallng of and had sharp nails exposed. The door to this room did not shut also and there was no privacy lock. The ligh in the bathroom turned on and off on its own which suggested to me an electrical fault anf fire hazzard. Also this room had a velux window fitted which looked over to another hotel and i going to the loo you could be seen, likewise taking a bath. If you closed the fitted blind on it you could not see as the lighting was poor and turned itself on and off.
In the entrance hall to this room was a sky light windo which was covered in mould and smelled fusty.
The bedroom was dirty. We did not have any Tea or Coffee but had powderd milk??? The curtains also kept falling off when un drawn as they were held on with black tape(Gaffer Tape).
When I complained the manager openly admittedto me that the room was in need of modernisation and offered me an upgrade as I clearly said I am not one for complaing. He gave us another room which was worse than the first one.. What tipped me over board was that the toilet had been use and not flushed!!! Also the bedding was all over the floor!!! Oh and the shower was held up with electrical wire??? (Brown wire which suggest to me it could be live!!!!)
We did not unpack and went to the reception and complained!!! I asked for a full refund however only got £80 back. The very rude and arrogant manager then said I wanted you to leave anyway???? We left sharpish!!
One last! We planned t eat in here on the night however when we went down the place was closed... Including the reception!!! Several other guests were there also complainig about this.

Room Tip: Go to the Savoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newboston_11, Owner at The New Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

To say we are dismayed by these comments is an understatement and can confirm that we are currently in the process of taking legal proceedings with regard to this review as we simply do not agree with a majority of the comments made. by this guest.
Upon check he was given various options with regard room choice he simply stated he wanted the " cheapest room " possible and he was informed that the room he would be staying in does require attention as he quite rightly states but he was in fact warned of this before he checked in.
Although we can quite categorically say that the room is no where near as bad as he states,yes the bathroom is in need of a re furb and as stated previously this will all be carried out in November these things do take time and can not be done overnight,but we always inform our customers of this upon check in and always give them the option to even view the room first!!!!
No panels are falling off,all we can see is he seems to be forcing them off on the picture which looks quite astonishing really.
As he states in his review there is a blind fitted to the skylight to close when there is need to get a bath or use the toilet so that staement is quite contradictory???
With regards to the alternative room this is even more bizarre and very confusing........the reason being he made us aware of his complaints first thing the following morning even though this could have been done as soon as he checked in which is even more confusing as the manager states he saw him on a few occasions after check in that evening.
The alternative room at that time of the morning when he eventually complained he was informed had not yet been laundered after guests had just in fact checked out of that room which he accepted and that the cleaners where in the process of cleaning and turning rooms over,check in time usually for new stays is 2pm.
This is where it gets even more bizarre as he then came back down and complained accordingly as seen on the review.The manager was completely and utterly confused by this and even offered an even better room with a seaview as by this time he had tried everything to please the guest but to no avail.
This is when the guest was becoming quite rude and clearly nothing was going to appease the situation so advise it would probably be best to check out and a refund what was owed was given accordingly.
Then the review gets even more bizarre as he states he then came back to eat!!!!This we know is not true as our restaurant is open to the public and there are stipulated times we are open which has been the case for many years now and feel this is very unfair and is further reason why we contest this review.
The reception being closed is NEVER the case when the restaurant is operating,sometimes this will close at 9pm if everybody is checked in. We do not operate a 24 hour reception but the manager lives on the premises and is available 24 hours a day to tend to any needs that any guest require.
As already stated we are in the process of proceeding with defamatory contents and feel as though we ought to reply until this matter is resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 132 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

stayed here four times room22 clean room with fantastic views .breakfast was brillant always have the full breakfast but other choices .food at night is fantastic there is plenty to choose from and very good value especially the jumbo cod and chips. staff very friendly and helpful carol@ phil

Room Tip: second floor sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

stayed here for one night, paid 55 pound for bed aand breakfast, was put on the third floor in a box room, carpets were dirty wall paper was mouldy and the bathroom was very old. asked if we could move to another room and was told no but we could check out if we wanted to! we asked if we could have some heating on in our room as it was freezing and was told no because it was warm outside. Had dinner in the restaraunt which was good and worth the money and breakfast was good in the morning but overall dont think its worth the money.

Room Tip: not on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newboston_11, General Manager at The New Boston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

We were very sad to hear this comment, these ladies checked in with a block booking for a wedding which had in fact been booked by the bride of the wedding they were attending.
They asked to change rooms but unfortunately we had no other rooms available as we was fully booked and advised the ladies of this and that it would be advisable to check out if they did not wish to stay in the said room. They did state they would look for somewhere else.
The comment with regard to the room being freezing, we are quite bemused by this as we did in fact have comments saying it was too hot in the rooms due to the weather as it was in fact one of the hottest days of the year so far.
After we gave them the option to check out with a full refund, they then informed us that they was happy to stay and that there was no problem which makes this review even more bizarre.
As the bride had in fact booked and paid for the room herself and whom was also staying at the hotel we advised her what had happened the following morning and as a gesture of goodwill we refunded the breakfast cost to her. She was very happy about this and informed us there was no problem and not to worry about it.
What we will say to our future customers is that our rooms are not dirty at all they are cleaned on a daily basis, even if they are used or not and we always do our best to accommodate our guests and make them feel welcome and as comfortable as we can.
We are a family run unit and do not offer star rated facilities, the hotel is due to undergo a 3 phase re furbishment later this year and as you will see on our website a lot of re furbishment has already been carried out. What we will guarantee is that we offer a friendly family run hotel that is value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

nice comfy and clean rooms.polite welcome on arriving and easy to park the car.value for money. would reccomend.

Room Tip: ask for the ground floor. the stairs are verry narrow. not suitable for overwieght people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My family and I recently stayed the weekend at the New Boston and we had a wonderful time. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was delicious! My husband and I had the full english while the kids had cereals and toast - there was plenty of choice. We also had dinner in the evening and that was very nice too! Good wine and good food - a great combination. Very reasonably priced too! The staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome too. If you are looking for a reasonably priced, clean, friendly hotel with an excellent restaurant I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Good points: Carpet, sheets and towels clean. I have heard from locals that the food is good.

Bad points: Room in very bad state of repair. Old fashioned wall paper. Holes in skirting. The shower was one of those rubber things you push on to the taps! Beds very uncomfortable, you can feel the springs, we had to put the spare duvet under the sheet! Electrical points taped up.

For £70 a night it's disgusting!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ricky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

We are very sorry to hear your comments and can only apologise, but as we was not made aware of these problems we was unable to deal with any alternative arrangements.
We are aware that some of the rooms are still in need of modernisation, this being one of them but can assure our customers that the hotel is currently undergoing a complete re furbishment and as you can see from our website www.newbostonhotel.com and looking at the pictures that rooms have in fact been done aswel as our residents bar and restaurant.
We are quite a large hotel and these things do take time and can not be done all at once but if we was made aware of this problem we would quite happily have made arrangements to be moved to another room if available as we want our customers to be as comfortable as they can be and will do our upmost to achieve that.
What we can say is that the hotel is very clean and provides the service it is supposed to do i.e. hot water,clean towels and beds etc.
With regards to the mattress then we thank you for informing us of this and this will be rectified straight away.
Again i re-iterate we want our customers to be as comfortable as possible and we will endeavour to achieve that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great place to stay while doing a maritime course. I had room 22 with great view over the sea, shower could do with an upgrade. Very clean, food excellent especially breakfast and good price on evening meals. Take jogging shoes for a run along the coast. Value for money it was just what I needed.

Room Tip: Go for room 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtmc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleetwood
0.4 mi away
North Euston Hotel
North Euston Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fleetwood
572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
150 reviews
3.7 mi away
Briardene Hotel
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wavecrest Lodge
Wavecrest Lodge
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
30 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The New Boston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Boston Hotel

Address: 41-43 The Esplanade, Fleetwood FY7 6QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Wyre District > Fleetwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fleetwood
Price Range: $49 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is set on the seafront at Fleetwood overlooking the Wyre Estuary with panaromic views across Morecambe Bay to the hills of the Lake District.The Hotel has undergone a major refurbishment project in 2013. It is open all year round and has 24 tastefully decorated bedrooms which includes a brand new Bridal Suite all of which have en suite facilities.All rooms include tea/coffee making facilities, courtesy trays, flatscreen tv's, freeview channels, direct dial telephones and complimentary Wifi access.There is a very modern and comfortable bar and lounge area for all residents and a large restaurant which also opens to the public with a wide variety of meals cooked by our full time chef.A swimming pool, gym and leisure centre is opposite the hotel aswel as a lynx 18 hole golf course.Tram and bus stops going into Blackpool are within 5 minutes walking distance are very frequent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The New Boston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Boston Hotel Fleetwood, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing