We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find - excellent fish and chips!”
Review of Granada Fish Bar

Granada Fish Bar
Ranked #1 of 78 Restaurants in Fleetwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: National Multi - Award Winning Fish & Chip Restaurant and Takeaway. 5* Quality Award holders and 5* food hygiene rated . Disabled Toilet Facility and Wheelchair Ramp on request . Baby changing facility . Cash or Credit Card
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A real find - excellent fish and chips!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Granada was highly recommended by my friend when we visited after a trip to the Sandcastle Water Park in Blackpool (two families 6 children!). I'm originally from the North East and so am used to the chippies of Whitby, such as The Magpie. Delighted that the quality was comparable. The fish was perfectly cooked to order. If like me you're not keen on normal batter you can request batter free but their light version was lovely. Chips were perfect too.

We were lucky that the restaurant was not full though on market days they open the stylish restaurant area next door. The cafe area is perfectly pleasant though.

Great value for both adults and kids menus.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrNotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevemartell, Owner at Granada Fish Bar, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for the superb review and we hope you visit us again in the near future . Best Regards Steve Bobby and the Granada team .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    52
    23
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“my 70th birthday party”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

on sunday 3rd of feb 2013 we had my 70th ,i was not looking forward to a party, so my wife jackie said why dont we hire the room at the granada chippy and invite all our family and friends ,i thought she had gone crackers so did everyone else because we live in manchester, but what a brilliant time we had the food was really top class the staff were so good nothing was to much trouble .we cant tell you how yummy the food was .the place was so clean and bright . DO TRY IT ! 24 of our party had never been before but cant waite to go back thanks to everyone x

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neilandjackie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevemartell, Owner at Granada Fish Bar, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Superb review , and thank you so much ! . My wife and i were away on holiday when you visited the Granada , and even though we were aware of your booking it was great to hear our team were a credit to our business. We are so pleased you loved the food and our premises , and we look forward to seeing you all again . PS Happy Birthday ! x . Best regards Steve , Bobby and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
719 reviews
430 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
“Outstanding food....but Stale Bread !!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

It is not difficult to see why this Fish Bar has won so many awards. The food served is delicious and of the highest quality. On our visit to Fleetwood my wife and I ate there as I was aware of it's reputation having originally hailed from Fleetwood myself.
The Fish Bar is very clean with good decor.
We opted for the traditional Fish, Chips and Mushy Peas with Bread and Butter set meal. The Hake was fresh and melted in the mouth and the batter light and delicious. The chips were wonderful...... BUT........unfortunately this lovely meal was let down by stale bread with butter. Diners on the next table spoke to us and also commented on their bread being stale.
When paying for our meals, which I must point out were very reasonably priced and excellent value, I mentioned the stale bread to the waitress in the politest possible terms. Unfortunately, it did not even evoke a comment from her but a facial expression that said "Am I Bovvered !!". Despite this "Sans Faire Rien" attitude, I still left a good tip as the dining experience is well worth it.
Such a shame that delicious meals ( both ours and those of other diners) had the shine taken off them to a degree by the one simple element which the restaurant did not even have to prepare...i.e. bought Bread !!
The stale bread coupled with the attitude to the feedback I gave has resulted in my assessment of this venue as being Very Good as opposed to Excellent.
Despite this, I would thoroughly recommend The Granada and would certainly return there...I would just avoid the bread and butter !!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevemartell, Owner at Granada Fish Bar, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Noel thank you for the honest review . I am very pleased you enjoyed the fish & chips and feel they were value for money . I have just returned from holiday and can only assume you visited while i was away . I apologise for the bread & butter as this should have been replaced imeadietly , and i will be having strong words with the person you have mentioned as that is unacceptable in our business . I thank you for bringing this to my attention , and i hope your next visit brings us a 5* rating from your good self . Best regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Top class”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A visit to Fleetwood with my old mum today....she recommended The Granada so I went along with that.
Glad I did....what a gem.
Pleasant, simple style decor...nothing over fancy.
Pleasant staff and owners.
And mum's fish and chips and my fishcakes and chips were among the best I have ever tasted.
Will definitely be going back here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevemartell, Owner at Granada Fish Bar, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for the super review . We are pleased your mother loves our food and establishment , and are grateful to you for your recommendation to other Tripadvisor members . We hope you visit again soon . Best Regards Steve Bobby and the Granada team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best fish and chips for miles around!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We first visited your restaurant during a school holiday, after building sandcastles on the beach. To say it was a cold day is an understatement so finding your chippy was heaven! We have been coming back every school holiday since and have always left empty plates! The fish and chips are always fresh, beautifully cooked and presented. The portions are fantastic, especially the childrens meals. On our last visit we brought 4 children and were made to feel so welcome. Spotlessly clean, excellent food, a great find!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsC1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevemartell, Owner at Granada Fish Bar, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review . We strive to make all our customers feel at home and present our town in a good light , and we are so pleased you loved our food . Best Regards Steve Bobby & the Granada team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granada Fish Bar also viewed

Fleetwood, Lancashire
Fleetwood, Lancashire
 
Fleetwood, Lancashire
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
 
Fleetwood, Lancashire
Fleetwood, Lancashire
 

Been to Granada Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing