We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cala Gran Holiday Park - Haven
Nearby Hotels
$66
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wavecrest Lodge(Fleetwood)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,489)
Filter reviews
1,489 results
Traveler rating
625
396
248
110
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
625
396
248
110
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmash and barrelswimming poolprestige caravanon sitepapa johnschanging roomsgreat holidaycentral heatingevening entertainmentpleasure beachsun holidaycala gran holiday parksplash zonesoft play areafarmer parrslive loungeentertainment complex
Filter
Updating list...
1,427 - 1,432 of 1,489 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We have just returned from Cala Gran and we were very disappointed with the resort - when we arrived at our caravan, we were dismayed to find the carpet in the main seating area dirty and not hoovered. Thankfully, after numerous apologies from Reception and the Accommodations Manager, it was rectified. The resort in general was very small including the swimming pool and there weren't that many things to do so we travelled outside the resort to fill our time. The only thing we did like was the Mash & Barrel, the resort's pub - it looked modern and the food was very nice. The caravans in general need sprucing up, i.e. could do with laminate flooring for customers bringing in the rain and, therefore, dirty feet (even a small mat by the door would help matters), the caravans should be split into their preferences (i.e. prestige, superior, standard etc) instead of them all being placed together and a rule should be included in their paperwork about noisy neighbours - we fell asleep each night to people who had screaming kids and loud individuals who had obviously had lots to drink. Come on Haven, you can do better than this.

Room Tip: Go for the top caravan possible - the higher the preference, the cleaner the caravan is!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kachgogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I thought Cala Gran was great value for money, we stayed in a superior caravan and it was spotless inside (could have been doing with a clean outside as previous occupiers had thrown their cigarette ends outside even though there was a bin provided!!) The staff on the park were friendly and great with the kids which was the most important thing for us. We had a lovely breakfast and lunch in the restaurant and I thought prices were similar to other places we have eaten in, it wasn't too expensive. I think the swimming pool and park are a bit small compared to other Haven parks I have visited but everything was enclosed and it was really safe for our little girl. The amusements were good and overall we had a great stay, we will definitely be back as it is a great place to explore Blackpool and beyond.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrieJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

we stayed at cala gran for a week with the kids and inlaws there was 7 of us in total they gave us a 4 bedroomed spacious caravan the park was very clean and tidy there was always someone cleaning up the food was expensive but was better then the last place we stayed the showbar was good the entertainment was ok .... it was not as good as the previous yr but i think they have had a change around .... the staff could not of been more then helpfull always asking if things were ok .... the caravan was also clean and tidy and didnt smell at all was ready when we asked for it kids enjoyed this so much they didnt want to come home weather was amazing to good week and good park will visit again

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanga28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Everything is designed to get lots of your money into their tills. Tots and toddlers are conned/encouraged by the camp entertainment team to buy badges that are very expensive. A very small bowl of chips is £3 a burger is an incredible £7.95. A salad in the opinion of the Haven chef is lots and lots soggy lettuce and half a tomato. The swimming pool is very very small however the amusement arcade is on a grand scale it has over 250 electric guzzling machines spread over the entire ground floor. Not very envoiromently friendly It must have a carbon footprint the size of Wales, Whilst every household in the world is encouraged to save electricity Haven go all out to put profit before any thought of the damage they are causing. Caravan was dirty and had a terrible smell to it I will never go on another Bourne holiday again

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haven-sucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed here for a week with our 2 kids, 6 & 4. After reading the reviews was dreading going, but was very pleasantly surprised when we got there. We had booked a Deluxe caravan and it was lovely, very clean and tidy with TV DVD and freeview which I wasnt expecting. We also had heating in the bathroom and bedrooms. Yes, some of the seats had the odd stain but you're staying in a caravan and I expected that to be the case.

We had a bad experience in the Mash & Barrel. The food we ordered was wrong when it came ,and was unedible, we didnt eat there the rest of the stay. The girl was very nice when I complained about it, offered to get us free drinks and deserts.The pizza place is good and they deliver to your caravan - was very tasty....:)

On the day we went to the pool someone had been sick in it and they where cleaning it out. They let us in later on. The changing area left a lot to be desired, it was filfty had hairs and even a full nappy bag lying on the floor. When I complained they shrugged their shoulders as if to say "so what" that put me of going back and we didnt use it for the rest of the hols. No excuse for dirty areas, especially when there's loads of staff hanging around txting on their phones!!

The outside water play area needed a good clean and brush, dirty hankies and bits of rubbish lying in the area! The kids have to go through the restaurant in their swimsuits to get outside which is a bit daft. Surely they could open different doors from the swimming pool area and sort this out.

Blackpool is great, lots to do. Look up some of the websites (visit lancshire) and you'll get kids in free vouchers and other reduced things etc.

Ate in a nice fish and chip shop down the road in Thornton called Seniors was very nice.
Asda and Morrisons very close by, Freeport shopping outlet good too.

We didnt really go to the evening entertainment but what we saw of the early evening kids stuff the Staff had put in a lot of hard work.

This was our first experience of a Haven park and to be honest after reading some of the reviews I was really dreading going here. It was ok but I dont think I would come back again. Kids had a great time but I think next year might holiday at home in Northern Ireland or try Centre Parcs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews