We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genteel and comfortable country hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Farington Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Farington
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Genteel and comfortable country hotel”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We came here for a dinner and auction, with an overnight stay. The organisation and catering for 150 people were excellent, the staff were efficient and very helpful, and a good evening was had by all.The wine was very reasonably priced by restaurant standards. We had an Executive room, which was spacious, with a comfortable sitting area in the window. The bed was comfortably firm and the bathroom contained a large bath and a separate shower cubicle, whose controls I found difficult to fathom, and I ended up scalding myself. The toiletries were pleasant to use. Everything looked clean as it should be until I noticed the filthy shower screen tracks, which one would only see from the loo- a deep clean is needed here. A cleaned toilet brush would also have been more pleasant.
We were the last guests down for breakfast (20 minutes before it closed) but were surprised to see that none of the vacant tables had been cleared and relaid. We found a waitress who asked us to sit in the bar until she made up a fresh table. We were also a bit dismayed that the buffet tables had not been replenished, so that there was little left- no pastries or orange juice. There was a good choice of cooked breakfast dishes. The scrambled eggs came out as hardly mixed, shredded omelettes, which were overly greasy and a disappointment (how could they get this wrong?). However, the large portion of smoked salmon was fine. The fresh cafetiere of coffee was particularly good. Once we were seated, the breakfast room was very airy and light- a pleasant spot to have a leisurely breakfast with the papers (if only the staff had been a bit more on the ball). This is a lovely venue, in its own grounds, and we would consider returning, if the above issues could be made right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringtonlodgehotel, General Manager at Farington Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your helpful comments on Trip Advisor, I apologise if breakfast did not meet our normal high standard of service that morning and our housekeeper and maintenance have already addressed the issue with the shower. I am delighted you enjoyed the dinner and event the evening before and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    93
    38
    29
    13
See reviews for
87
117
3
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as it was per booked by training company we were using. Room was large but cold, heating on all night which, according to heating controls achieved 19c, great in summer but not in February! Thought I'd run a hot bath to warm up before evening meal but could only get lukewarm water so that plan didn't work! Long black hairs on bathroom floor when I got out of bath, definately not mine, as I have a number 2 cut! Shower in morning lukewarm at best again. Evening meal was average, definately not worth the money, felt like a deal had been done for rooms so let's fleece them for food. All I can say is if I had the choice again this wouldn't be my first choice.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolJohnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringtonlodgehotel, General Manager at Farington Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I apologise for any disappointment caused by the temperature of your room and dinner that evening. Please be reassured that our food and drink prices remain constant at all times and the team always aim to deliver the best possible food, service and care. I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farington Lodge in the future, where we will do everything possible to ensure you have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed for a Friday night on the hotels romantic break package. The room, in the new wing, was spacious, comfortable and very clean. A beautiful bouquet of flowers and a bottle of champagne on ice was waiting in the room. Dinner was part of the package and it was excellent, as was breakfast the following morning. Staff friendly and helpful. No complaints at all and hotel exceeded expectations which had been dampened prior to our arrival by some less than positive reviews. We visit the area at least once a year and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 24 (executive room)in the new wing. Spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringtonlodgehotel, General Manager at Farington Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you both back to Farington Lodge hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Thank you very much to all the staff at Farington Lodge Hotel. We've had the most wonderful private dinner in The Royal Room this evening. The food was absolutely outstanding and the service at the table, and from the bar, was first class. From making our booking with Rebecca you made us feel very welcome, and relaxed. Everything was just perfect, you deserve five stars, from everyone at Forget-Me-Not Flowers, Leyland, many thanks again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringtonlodgehotel, General Manager at Farington Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor, I am delighted you all such a wonderful time and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willerby
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We attended a family wedding and stayed overnight. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the food was very nice, was served in a very orderly and prompt manner ensuring everyone received a hot meal, and all our additional requests were accommodated in a very friendly manner. The breakfast was served in a room reserved for the wedding guests and we couldn't fault the food or the service. The children all enjoyed themselves, the majority of the rooms were booked for the wedding party and this probably lent itself to the feeling of being a family friendly and relaxed venue, whilst maintaining a period feel to this lovely old lodge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringtonlodgehotel, General Manager at Farington Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for writing on Trip Advisor with your comments, I am delighted you all had a lovely time and I hope you have many happy memories of the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Had a family party in Private room on 21 December,Food and service excellent we were well looked after and would certainly return.The cost was very reasonable and excellent valuue.Windsor suite very comfortable and good ambience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiverise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringtonlodgehotel, General Manager at Farington Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your event at the Farington Lodge Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you all back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Went here for our works christmas do. There was about 36 in total. What they dont tell you is that you may not be in the jubilee room. We were put in a room at the back which was like being set up in the school hall. The dj equipment was plonked on a table near the dancefloor and basically he played some music with his back turned to us most of the night as he didnt even bother to get behind the desk. Bread roll was already out on our plates and cold. Soup was supposed to be vegetable soup. It was like water, full of barley with a piece of carrot and tasteless. Main course came all plated up and was just warm. Mince pies were obviously not freshly made and had came out of a box and were cold. Worst xmas do I have ever been to and left at 11.00pm

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lenny646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringtonlodgehotel, General Manager at Farington Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments, please accept my apologies for any disappointment caused. I have responded to your complaint and replied to you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farington
0.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
7.2 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Preston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
1.7 mi away
Brook House Hotel
Brook House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clayton le Woods
94 reviews
2.4 mi away
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farington Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farington Lodge Hotel

Property: Farington Lodge Hotel
Address: Farington Lodge Stanifield Lane, Farington PR25 4QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Farington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Farington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Farington Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farington Lodge Hotel is a charming Georgian house with 27 en-suite bedrooms,nine bedrooms in the original house including two four poster suites, and eighteen opulent executive bedrooms. Hosting one wedding a day, up to 150 guests in the exclusive Jubilee Suite, we offer the complete package, licensed for civil ceremonies, including the new garden wedding pavilion, sited in three acres of magnificent landscaped gardens, this unique venue is conveniently located for guests traveling by road, rail or air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Farington Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farington Hotel Farington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing