We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Darwen
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Premier Inns are very similar all over the country, you know exactly what you are going to get, a nice room, big bed and very clean bathroom - this hotel provides that completely, plus the staff are very friendly and welcoming. Stayed here for one night on business (24th May) and can happily recommend it, also can heartily recommend the Premier breakfast, it will really fill you up.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Phelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise D, Team Leader at Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments on the Premier Inn Brand. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    89
    39
    7
    3
See reviews for
109
83
19
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for two nights to attend a local wedding.

We booked via the website, at £29/night.

We arrived at 11pm after a long drive and were greeted by a warm & friendly reception manager. We were directed to our rooms (2nd floor) and our only complaint is that we weren't told the bar in the adjoining Brewers Fayre was open until midnight.

The room was very hot, with no aircon, but we opened the windows and as we weren't on the motorway side of the hotel, it was very quiet.

We ate in the Brewers Fayre for breakfast - a bit steep at £8.25 each we felt, but it was tasty, freshly cooked and fairly speedy.

Overall I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Probably best to get a room that is NOT on the motorway side - it might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise D, Team Leader at Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank your for posting your thoughts on here, We really value your feedback. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan,UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We booked here as we were attending a wedding at nearby Ewood Park football ground. If i'd have booked when I first found the hotel it would've cost £34, I didn't and we eventually paid £48. The hotel is easily missed and we went round a couple of roundabouts a few times, but when we got there we found a car parking space straight away quite close to the front door.

We were greeted by a lovely lady on reception who booked us in and took payment then directed us to our room. The hotel seems pretty new and is immaculately clean. Our room was a lovely size, with a large double bed and a chaise longue under the window which I assume would convert into a single bed. There was also a pull-out bed situated under the double. There was a large dressing table with tv, mirror and a lovely big clean bathroom with a bath. Which is a novelty to me as I don't have a bath at home.

We borrowed an iron and board from reception and were told that housekeeping would clear it away in the morning. The lovely lady on reception booked us a taxi and wished us a good night.

On returning to the hotel at about 2am the night receptionist supplied us with extra teabags, milk & coffee ect for the morning. The 12pm checkout is FABULOUS! Especially the morning after a very good wedding reception. We were able to rise when we wanted, (I had a lovely bath!), we went for breakfast which was conveniently located at the end of our corridor and then back to the room to pack and check out for 12.

The breakfast was a little dear at £8.95 per person but as it was classed as 'all you can eat' it sounded ok. There was a large selection of cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, coissants, white and brown bread and crumpets! But the hot breakfast had to be ordered. I personally prefer a buffet style breakfast as I like to choose my food and there's the choice of getting more but with this there wasn't so the price did seem quite steep. And it wasn't very hot on arrival. But the food was cooked and was tasty and definately needed for our hangovers!

My first experience of Premier Inn was a good one and I'd definately look out for Premier Inn's for future trips and this one in particular if i'm ever in the area again.

The only negative I feel that I should mention is that there was a constant quiet droning noise over night, which I wasn't used to and it did affect my sleep. It turned out to be the noise from the motorway so if you're a light sleeper this is something to bear in mind.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clur82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise D, Team Leader at Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. We do appreciate it when a guest takes time to write a review. We hope you use Premier Inn again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Booked a family room for £61 a nite as we had to attend a wedding on 1 Sept. 2012 at Accrington. The hotel called up a couple of days to check and confirm on our requirements - a baby cot in the room which I thought was excellent of them to do so.
The hotel is convieniently located off the M65 Motorway and on arrival our, we were welcomed by a helpful and polite receptionist who promptly checked us into a clean and pleasent smelling room which had plenty of clean towels and extra piillows. The bathroom was clean with complimentary shower gel provided as well. All other amenities are as described here on other reviews so no need to repeat them.
I would definetly book this hotel again as it felt safe and we had a comfortable one night stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank careca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise D, Team Leader at Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Your feedback and compliments are very much appreciated. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Another business trip and another Premier Inn stop over.

Nice location, good food and service, decent room - clean and comfortable.
Good WiFi connections in room & restaurant / bar areas although still not free WiFi.
Staff very friendly and efficient.
Will use again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoaminRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise D, Team Leader at Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thanks for your review and your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Two night stay Friday 9th Saturday 10th August 2012. Staff were really friendly and professional. Food is served at attached Brewer's Fayre. They do a really good value buffet each night for £5.99 with a different theme each night (Chinese, indian, fish etc). Just a couple of comments really, when we returned to our room (215) on Saturday night the smell of drains/sewerage in our room was overwhelming....not pleasant! The rooms get rather hot and unfortunately the air con doesn't lower the temperature, although there was a fan in the room. The second comment is with regards to breakfast, be warned that they start serving carvery at midday so there is a rush to finish if you come down just before 11 (breakfast served until 11 at weekends) with the staff warning you that they had to clear down to get ready for lunch. They ran out of a few items as well such as croissants, fruit etc. Good location for the centre as a taxi was only a fiver.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Raela1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise D, Team Leader at Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind comments. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordhsire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

My son (15 years old) and I stayed here on Friday 10th August for one night. We had booked the room well in advance so it was only £29. We chose this hotel for the location - we were attending an event in Blackburn the next day. Room 120 was spacious comfortable and clean. The Reception staff were friendly and helpful as was also the Waitress at breakfast. We had the Continental breakfast which was good value for £5.25. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seamesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise D, team leader at Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Blackburn Central Premier Inn. Kind regards to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darwen
2.2 mi away
Astley Bank Hotel
Astley Bank Hotel
#1 of 4 in Darwen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fernhurst Lodge
Fernhurst Lodge
#4 of 4 in Blackburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Whitehall Hotel
Whitehall Hotel
#3 of 4 in Darwen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
5.9 mi away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
4.5 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel
Address: Riversway Drive | Eccles Hall Road, Darwen BB3 0SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Darwen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Darwen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A handy hub for all your travels in Lancashire, the Premier Inn Hotel Blackburn Central puts you in a cracking spot for Blackburn, Preston, Blackpool and everything in between. You'll be perfectly placed for all the sights of the cities - including the big events at Ewood Park and the Ice Arena. Plus you'll have easy access to the key edge-of-town business locations - including Vital Energy, Crown Paints and the Royal Blackburn Hospital. And whenever you're ready, we'll be waiting with a warm welcome, a hearty meal and extra comfy rooms. Directions: Situated directly off M65(J4). Take the 1st exit down Eccleshill Road, the hotel is on the left. Next to the Oakenhurst Farm Brewers Fayre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Blackburn South Hotel Darwen
Premier Inn Darwen
Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel Darwen, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing