We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Whitehall - a view from a long term resident”
Review of Whitehall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whitehall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Darwen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2008

I thought it was about time I posted a review as I have been staying here regularly for 12 months now. The staff and atmosphere make this small hotel really special. The care and attention guests recieve is second to none. The food is always good and if you want something different this is always accomodated. Overall I would recommend the WhiteHall as a super place to stay, where you will always be looked after.
Thanks to you all.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank awlorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Whitehall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 303 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2008

Stayed on a business trip and would stay again. Lovely old manor house with 16 bedrooms. Its been updated over the years so rather eclectic decor. The old part of the hotel is the reception area, lounge and bedrooms with a lovely feel. The lounge had a lovely fire with big leather couches which made for a not chill before dinner (or you can go into the funky bar area if so inclined) There is a brand new restaurant that is the complete opposite (called MJs) with blond wood, cafe style setting and paintings of bubbles and gold fish tanks. Hip! I had a very spacious bedroom with a view over the valley. Some parts of the room decor are old. The door handles and locks are basic and you get given an enormous key, so its a bit quirky. I liked the four poster bed. Good work desk. TV (with DVD player) only has 5 channels however I think you can pay for SKY.. For £65 - £80 b&b and £15 set dinner menu or al a carte choice I was surprised how good everything was. £80 is for the bridal suite if you are so inclined. The staff really care about guests and go out of their way to assist. I ate in restaurant both nights and enjoyed my meal immensely. The breakfast is in the rose room (old part of the hotel) in the mornings and had a fairly usual hot selection which you ordered. Nice fruit salad. There is wireless internet in the lounge. I was able to use it in my room but apparently not all rooms are covered. There are no leisure facilities and the venue is used for weddings on weekends. I would definitely recommend it for the business traveler during the week, home away from home. Darwen is a teeny village near Blackburn and Bury / Boltonis about 20 minutes drive away. There is a Thai restaurant in Darwen called the Little Elephant and also an Italian restaurant. Great value and lovely staff.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 40degreesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

I have just had the most wondeful customer care experience in this fantastic hotel .
Well done all the staff ,with special mention of Janet who deserves top marks for her attention to detail .Celebrations of a birthday party were made very special .
This is how hotels should be run .Congratulations to one and all , and thank you so much .

Stayed: January 2008
Thank maggieroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2007

Our group of 40 friends have been visiting the Whitehall for many years, using it as a venue for our 'Dinner/Lectures'. We have always been very satisfied with the food and service, but our latest visit there surpassed the previous visits with the food, presentation and service.
We had a set meal chosen by me from their table d'hote menu and every one of the four courses was perfectly cooked, served and presented.
I would recomend the Whitehall to anyone wanting good food, good value and good service.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank Red-Rose-Lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2007

After many a visit to various locations to choose our venue for our wedding reception, we finally chose Whitehall. What a great decision! We both couldn't have asked for anything more. Fantastic food, great service and stunning surroundings.
We also had a lot of family traveling a long way who wanted to stay at the venue too. Everyone loved it and will be going back! All the rooms where perfect and even the breakfast the morning after was superb.
So a big thankyou to All the staff at Whitehall for making it such a memorable day.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone thinking of just stopping over or even having a wedding there!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cahibbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

We booked a room at the hotel in order to attend a family wedding. We were staying in an executive room at a rate of £95 per night and were very dissapointed with our room. The bedspread was very old and stained and also had blood stains on it. The sheets looked like they were from the market and very old, and the room smelled stale. On top of this we were right over the kitchens and were woken up at 6.30am by very noisy kitchen staff, banging and crashing around. Overall, a bad experience and we have stayed in much better hotels for less money.
The staff are VERY strict, we had friends with us who had spent alot of money during the daytime at the wedding and, once the function had ended we, as residents, could not buy our friends drinks and they were told that they must leave the premises before they would open the bar to residents. Needless to say, we won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seasoned1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

fantastic stay, enjoyed new restaurant,.cheers for the company

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank brfcgde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darwen
0.3 mi away
Astley Bank Hotel
Astley Bank Hotel
#1 of 4 in Darwen
324 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Blackburn M65 Hotel
4.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Ferrari's Country House Hotel
6.5 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitehall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehall Hotel

Address: Ross Street | Park Road, Blackburn, BB3, Darwen BB3 2JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Darwen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Darwen
Price Range: $90 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitehall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Whitehall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehall Hotel Darwen, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing