We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Whitehall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whitehall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Darwen
Certificate of Excellence
darwen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

stayed at this hotel for 6-8 week whilst our house was being done. Fantastic food, very clean. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Manager could not do enough for us. MJ,S restraunt was brill. Chocolate torte not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    48
    21
    13
    10
See reviews for
71
108
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We dined on Easter Sunday as a family in the evening. The menu £14.95 per person absolutely surpassed any expectation and was beyond value for money.
The food was faultless and the combinations, textures and flavours devine. The portion sizes were more than adequate ( and Im 6ft tall!).
The waiting staff were polite, couteous and not in your face at all. Our wine was delivered chilled in an icebucket (with out asking). The decor was simple and complements the older style of the hotel - the huge fish tank kept my three year old entertained as well.
I would sincerely recommend this to anyone visiting the area and to all locals. More than value for money with no pretentious airs and graces - relaxing, chic and I will be returning again and again.
One word - PERFECT.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkk
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Rooms spotless food great staff excellent and owners superb !! Just one thing wrong , when Ive had a hard day I just want to relax in room and use WIFI! I don't want to go to public areas !

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spacemanBkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We have just enjoyed a lovely relaxing break at this friendly hotel and although I have never commented on trip advisor before,I felt the hotel deserved a mention.From our arrival we were made very welcome and in all our hotel visits (quite a few--we are ''seniors'') we have never before been escourted to our room personally and pleasantly.From then on it just got better !The restaurant is amazing (try the pork tenderlion it's delicious) and a freshly cooked breakfast is a treat as so many buffet breakfasts are awful!!! We are just about to re book as another visit to The Whitehall is already anticipated with pleasure.Thanks to a geat team.( from Sue at 15)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed here on business this week. Rooms are excellent, modern, clean and well sized. It is impressively quiet and tranquil at the hotel despite it being in Darwen itself.
There was a good sized lounge which was nice and the food in the restaurant was very high standard although the menu was a little dated and predictable.
Staff service was excellent, friendly and professional although reception was unmanned in morning causing a ten minute delay in getting on the road to the office.
My only suggestions for improvement are as follows;

Lose the giant keyfobs as they are a pain
Doors to room corridors had locks but these werent in operation and so security was compromised given that access was via the bar and restaurant (ie non guests wondering around room corridors potentially)
Sky tv in rooms please

Will definitely stay again though and I've not said that often on tripadvisor!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fozzibeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

It is four years since my last review of the Whitehall Hotel and our group of about forty people have had dinner there many times since. We have consistantly had good food, good service and it is an ideal venue for us. The staff cater for all our requirements including special diets for some of our members. We are booked in for further dinners later this year and we are looking forward to them.
As a number of our members say 'you always get a good meal at the Whitehall'.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red-Rose-Lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Wonderful hotel combining traditional and modern decor beautifully.
Attentive staff who couldn't do enough for us, and our compliments to the chef...the food is an experience I'm glad we will be repeating again very soon.
Clean well presented bedrooms, the one and only grumble....no hairdryer.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfie23317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darwen
0.3 mi away
Astley Bank Hotel
Astley Bank Hotel
#1 of 4 in Darwen
310 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Blackburn M65 Hotel
6.5 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,583 reviews
18.6 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
755 reviews
6.5 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitehall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehall Hotel

Property: Whitehall Hotel
Address: Ross Street | Park Road, Blackburn, BB3, Darwen BB3 2JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Darwen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Darwen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitehall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, LateRooms, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whitehall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehall Hotel Darwen, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing