We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and restaurant”
Review of Whitehall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whitehall Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Darwen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel that I would highly recommend to anyone. I was lucky enough to have had my wedding at this venue (please see separate review) and so my partner and I returned for another stay at this hotel. The hotel was just as great as I remembered it. Plus they are currently in the process of renovating some of their rooms which can only make them better. Our spacious room had a four poster bed and a lovely big bath which really enhanced our stay. When you are not in the room the communal areas are just as nice. There is a nice lounge area where we were able to relax before heading out to the wintery weather outside.
Also there is a really nice bar area where we were able to have some drinks before our evening meal in the hotel's restaurant, MJ’s.
The restaurant itself is worthy of a review all on its own. The food in this restaurant is the nicest I have ever tasted anywhere. Everything is cooked to perfection (as has been the case every time we have eaten at MJ’s) and a nice touch is that the restaurant is designed in such a way that you can watch the chefs cook your food. Even if you never stay at the hotel I would suggest you give the restaurant a try if you are in the area, as if you don’t you are truly missing out.
Amazingly even though I have praised the hotel very highly already I have saved my highest praise for perhaps the most important aspect of any hotel and that is the staff. Every member of staff I have ever come into contact with at this hotel has been exceptional. You can tell that they take such pride in their reputation as a high quality family run hotel. From the warm welcome at reception from Louise to the chat I had at the bar with the staff, whilst waiting for my wife, everything was great.
Looking forward to staying at the hotel again and will certainly head back to MJs again soon.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank regiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 312 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night to attend a wedding. Hotel was charming and well presented. The room we had was large and well equipped. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Both the room and bathroom were clean. The only minor negatives were that a few things looked a bit out dated and could do with a lick of paint. Breakfast was lovely. All staff were very pleassant and helpful. Very good value for money, would recommend for others looking for a hotel in the Darwen area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah_A_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

A fantastic hotel with good rooms. The modern restaurant is a contrast to the old hotel building and serves wonderful food. The staff were very helpful and welcoming throughout my stay.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorset-harvest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed at the Whtehall hotel for the Valentines weekend and we were amazed by the standard of accommodation, service and quality of the food. Our room was light, airy and spacious and not only did we have a a large bathroom but there was a very powerful separate shower too! We dined in MJ's restaurant and the standard of food was that of any Michelin star rated restaurant anywere! We were also very impressed by the friendly, approachable and attentive staff. This is a family run business that shines through with a hotel that ticks all the boxes. I would not hesitate in reccommending this hotel to anyone and although slightly set back in the Whitehall area of Darwen it is a little "gem" that is hidden away and a must that you seek it out and enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointement as they do seem to get busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Went for a valentines celebration: meal entertainment and overnight stay. We got married here in 2006 and return at every opportunity. The food was fabulous - great taste, beautifully presented - I've not been anywhere in the area where food looks and tastes this good! The entertainment was great and we stayed in the bridal suite which was a lovely end to the evening. Newly decorated and refurbished it was perfect - we really could not fault it. If you've never been you should go its really lovely and the staff are so friendly!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richardjones255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed fot just one night on a Living Social Deal and was very pleasantly surprised. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff (they had already agreed to accomodate us after the deal had expired ). Hotel is a beautiful find hidden away in a lovely location, a nice mix of old and modrn styles, our room had a 4 poster bed and jacuzzi and was spacious and spotless, bed very comfy. The food was excellent both at dinner and breakfast but it was the service of the restaurant staff that topped it all, never before have I been asked if I wanted my butter melted a bit so it was easier to spread on my pastries--Fantastic !!! Will def be returning .

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbs1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed for one night on a Living Social deal, and were surprised to be given a big room with a four poster bed and jacuzzi bath. We were only there for one night, but there was a lot of storage space for clothes, toiletries etc.and the room was spotless. We had a few drinks in the bar in the early evening, served by friendly staff. We had a special offer of 2 courses and a glass of wine - food was amazing and so nice we paid for a pudding - all served by very friendly and helpful staff. They gave advice on local places to visit and would recommend this hotel to friends and family. We would love to return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 653ChrisPeter653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darwen
0.3 mi away
Astley Bank Hotel
Astley Bank Hotel
#1 of 4 in Darwen
334 reviews
10.7 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
6.5 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Clayton le Moors
267 reviews
4.5 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,704 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Blackburn M65 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitehall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehall Hotel

Address: Ross Street | Park Road, Blackburn, BB3, Darwen BB3 2JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Darwen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Darwen
Price Range: $86 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitehall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whitehall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitehall Hotel Darwen, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing