We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Little Piece of Paradise on Earth”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Midsummer Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The rear of Midsummer Barn The lounge, with feature full-height window giving rise to stunning long-distance views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
The rear of Midsummer Barn
The lounge, with feature full-height window giving rise to stunning long-distance views
The lounge, with feature staircase
The feature staircase
The kitchen, featuring a large dual-fuel range cooker
The farmhouse kitchen, with large dual-fuel range cooker
The master bedroom
The family bedroom: double bunk on the bottom, single bunk on the top, plus a cot
The twin-bedded room
The bathroom with shower, bath, basin and toilet
The front access to Midsummer Barn
The view from the back windows, over the garden to the fields beyond
Stunning views from Midsummer Barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Darwen, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fr A
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Paradise on Earth”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed at Midsummer Barn for 4 nights It was lovely or should I say beautiful in every way. Mixture of the Old and new blended so well. The inside doors are a joy to see and open. Very roomy accommodation that is spotless lots of products to keep it clean too. Pet friendly and Snoopy our Springer Spaniel did make to most of the Lovely Garden. It would be nice if guests brought a cover for the lovely leather settees and wash them on leaving as dogs can leave an odor. Views of the Hills and Dales were Panoramic and the only sounds in the distance was the motorway. Its a Heaven on Earth clean ,warm ,central heating ,lots of hot water and not a fly in sight. At the bottom of the Garden was a lovely Robin. There is a lovely lady called Wissels and this greyhound is a joy to watch and will not refuse any dog biscuits or chicken you may have and believe me she has such a beautiful nature. Perfect helpful Host and lovely decor. Great Neighbors too . It is wonderful value for money and no niggling extras or pound meters. Even the little starters were there i.e. little bar of soap and a lovely bottle of wine home made but do remember to leave the empty bottle for re-cycling/reuse. Thank you for a wonderful break Fr Anthony and Sister Helen Senior Carer

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views are a dream
Liked least: So nice and clean in Historic Setting
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobeTrot...
2 reviews
“Ms”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A beautiful cottage in a fabulous location. Ideal for families, spacious rooms and a kitchen with everything you need in the way of crockery and cookware. Close to motorway and supermarket. A great place to stay with family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspelley
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Well equipped and comfortable accomodation”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Midsummer Barn must be the best equipped holiday rental I have ever stayed in with everything you could think of and more besides, we stayed for 2 weeks in May 2015 and was comfortable with 5 adults and 3 children under 5 was ideal for what we wanted, position close to motorway, views to die for and clean. There were 2 safety gates provided one for the top of the stairs and one for the bottom making it very safe, videos for children & movies for adults and free WiFi, I would recommend Midsummer Barn for couples and families and was good value for money

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and ease of access to the motorway
Liked least: the garden at the end dipped quite sharpely
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2015
Hi Susan, many thanks for your lovely review of Midsummer Barn. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope to be able to welcome you to Midsummer Barn again in the future.
Regards,

Yvonne Brown
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding value with great access to Greater Manchester”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A hidden gem in the Lancashire countryside, that catered perfectly for our needs. The owners were quick and flexible to respond to our needs. My only struggle was my car (used to driving around Cambridgeshire) suddenly having to contend with proper Northern hills.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_mc27
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great weekend away”
Reviewed March 22, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I recently stayed here with my wife and our dog Rufus. We booked this cottage very last minute and Yvonne was very helpful and e mailed us everything we needed.

The cottage itself is very homely. It is not the most modern in decor, but it makes up for it in charm and not to forget the amazing views from the garden. The cottage itself comes with everything you could think of and has a lovely big kitchen/diner with a big range cooker. If you wanted to stay longer there a full washing and ironing facilities if you wanted to travel light.

Another nice touch was the bottle of rosé wine left by the owners, which certainly complemented our evening meal.

The beds are comfy and the bedrooms are very spacious.

The best part of this cottage though is its location. It has lovely views of the countryside and is accessed down a narrow country lane allowing a well deserved break from all the hustle and bustle.

We would love to go back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Certain things could be modernised
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachB123
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely home from home”
Reviewed March 19, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at midsummer barn with my husband and 2 sons aged 5 and 6 as well as my mum and dad and brother as we were visiting for a family christening for the weekend. There was plenty of room for all of us the rooms are spacious and so is the kitchen. The cottage was clean and inviting with all home comforts as well as a lovely touch of eggs and home made wine left in the fridge! There was plenty of space for us all to sit around the kitchen table for breakfast and relax in the lounge. Kitchen is also well stocked with plates cutlery and pans etc The view over the hills from the lounge and bedroom is lovely! Just be careful with young children in the garden as it backs onto the farm although it is well fenced off. The road/track down to the cottage is not for the faint hearted but all adds to the charming country experience of the cottage. Overall a lovely homely place to stay with the family we would defiantly stay here again,

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing