We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Astley Bank Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernhurst Lodge(Blackburn)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
228
81
16
14
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
81
16
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday lunchold housegrounds are beautifullovely hotelexcellent foodrooms are comfortablehidden gemwhole experiencewedding venuemain buildingbooked this hotelpuddingseparate showerthree coursesmaster of ceremoniesper headovernight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 345 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2010

My son and now daughter in law chose Astley Bank for their wedding reception. We had the hotel including all the bedrooms for 24 hours. The grounds are beautiful, as is the hotel itself. We could not fault the service , the food, the rooms, the friendliness of the staff. The whole experience was excellent, it gave the newly weds a day to remember.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAZZA56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We booked the hotel as a suprise venue for a Wedding breakfast for my brother-in-laws wedding. I cannot fault the venue or the friendliness of the staff but the actual meal was not up to scratch. Those that had the soup of the day (tomato & basil) found it pleasant but the terrine was very fatty and exceptionally cold. The smoked haddock fish cakes were dep fried and tasted so. The main meal was patchy. The chicken was ok. The pheasant was tough and over cooked and the salmon arrived after everyone else had finished!!. The dishes presented did not satisfy their description on the menu and there were elements missing all over the menu (bacon with the cabbage etc.). The dessert ice cream was a very big redeeming factor as again the desrt description and presentation were in a different book. Why oh why if something is eloquently described in apprpriate flowery language does it appear on the plate just a little bit short?? It's a little bit like advertising a Ferrari and delivering a Ford. With a little bit more effort this could become a very fine diner but currently falls very short of its target.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank papavEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

I have been visiting this hotel regularly over the last 2 years and never fail to be impressed with the efforts that all the staff and management go to to ensure that my stay is perfect.
The hotel is a beautiful country home with lots of history and is kept in tip top condition. Its decor is traditional and in keeping with the building, not "boutique" but in no way stuffy or formal. The staff are always warm with their greetings and efficient and charming in dealing with my frequent requests for, taxis, train times, room service, late arrivals, wifi access etc,. The gardens are beautifully kept and the rooms have been recently refurbished and are tasteful, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The food is exceptional and great value - including the room service menu.
The restaurant is in the lovely bright conservatory and there are other lovely rooms for private dining or parties.I cannot fault this hotel and write this as they deserve to be recognised for their efforts and hotel users deserve to know of this alternative to the larger hotel chains. Situated in Darwen it is only a few extra minutes drive from the motorway and handily accessible for both Blackburn and Bolton. Look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tullochgrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We stayed overnight and were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Our room was very clean and bright and the king sized bed was extremely comfortable. Bathroom not huge but perfectly ok - our only gripe was that the whirlpool bath didn't work!

Breakfast was good - cooked for you rather than hot buffet and that's a nice thing to have. Very nice gardens and it was lovely and quiet. The only thing to watch is the very loud air conditioning plant which was under our window. However as it was freezing cold outside we kept the window closed and so were not bothered at all.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Alscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

I've stayed at the Astley bank twice now - both times on business and it's a favourite location for people visiting my company's Blackburn office.

Rooms are fairly small, but big enough certainly for a business traveller and there's wireless internet in the parts of the hotel I have been in. A few colleagues did report some problems at one end of the conference centre.

The conference centre itself has good facilities and we got a great deal including a fantastic lunch.

The restaurant in the hotel has very good food that's not too expensive and their wine list is good too. Darwen is around a 10 minute walk if you fancy a curry and there's a Thai pub/restaurant at the entrance to the hotel too. The bar in the hotel has some pretty basic options, but it's not a bad place to sit for a late-night chat.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank masaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews