We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astley Bank Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Astley Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Darwen
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

went to Astley Bank hotel for a Valentines Night meal. have heard good comments and wow, they do not do the place justice. On entering Astley Bank, the reception area is very welcoming and warm, staff are very attentive but not in your face, and the decor is elegant. the layout in the restaurant is not too "crammed" and every attention to detail was noted. the meal was served quickly and politely. the food was absolutely winderful, I had the Venison which was the best yet. the creme Brulee was delicious (heard some people complian they could not taste the orange in it, but who wants the vanilla essence of the pudding overwhelmed???) everything was perfect and very relaxed. Had coffee and drinks in the bar area before and after and thoroughly enjoyed the evening. all the staff were wonderful. will definately go again!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    68
    11
    11
    4
See reviews for
75
75
5
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
227 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Birthday meal with friends, what a fabulous evening. Staff are always professional and nothing is too much trouble. I've been visiting for over 10 years and NEVER experienced anything other than excellent food, drink and ambience. Thank you Astley Bank. I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Baohx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Visited the restaurant with my husband & parents. The food, atmosphere, staff and surroundings were excellent ! I can recommend the taster of winter puddings, a little bit of everything ! Fab ! See you again very soon !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jat3709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had another amazing Sunday Lunch at Astley Bank. The menu choice is always a challenge, I changed my mind four times before ordering (my wife called it dithering - I called it making the right choice!). We were warmly welcomed and took a seat in the new lounge area whilst browsing the menu. The meal was served in the marevellous new dining room, when I say marvellous it is stunning. It is such a wonderful blending of new with the old. The character of the place could have been shot to peices but it works really well. The food was wonderful, the service wonderful. the experiance was wonderful. Thanks to everyone at Astley Bank for another wonderful experiance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hovis1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Went last night with friends, it was the Valentine set menu, not our reason for going but we were aware when we booked, there were still half a dozen choice for each course, staff were excellent..... food terrific... we will go again !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boltonfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Just enjoyed another lovely Sunday lunch with my fiancé & parents. Wonderful hot tasty food, great service, lovely staff, lovely setting.

The Sunday lunch menu is great value, canapés, starter, main meal, dessert, coffee & chocolates, all home made for £22.00 per person.

We love Astley Bank so much we have booked for our wedding next year.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Callie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked a night at Astley Bank as part of a package of visiting friends and relatives and a late celebration of my husband's birthday the day before. We'd arranged for friends to join us for pre-dinner drinks at 6.30pm and planned to have a meal later in the hotel - we'd read such good reviews about the food. However, when we arrived at the hotel we were told we'd have to eat at seven, which was changed to 7.30 when I registered my disappointment. Later we noticed in our room that the final time for serving should have been 8.30, though it says 8pm on the net. We opted to eat out and we can thoroughly recommend Mangiamo's, an Italian restaurant 10 minutes drive from the hotel - though this was hardly ideal on a rainy Sunday night.

Our room - an executive bedroom - was beautiful and the bed was extremely comfortable. However, I didn't feel the towels and toiletries came up to scratch for an executive bedroom. I'm aware we could have asked for better or more, but when you pay for an upgrade you shouldn't need to ask. A word of warning - if you're on the top floor, you will need to run the shower or bath for more than five minutes if you want hot water - but the views from the bedroom made up for this inconvenience.
The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed an excellent breakfast (all the more disappointing that we couldn't sample the evening meal).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Violet006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darwen
0.4 mi away
Whitehall Hotel
Whitehall Hotel
#3 of 4 in Darwen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
6.3 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
6.4 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
8.5 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astley Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astley Bank Hotel

Property: Astley Bank Hotel
Address: Astley Bank, Darwen BB3 2QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Darwen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Darwen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Astley Bank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Astley Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astley Bank Hotel Darwen, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing