We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”
Review of Astley Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Astley Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Darwen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I booked this hotel whilst on a business trip with a colleague and was not expecting much as the village is not very impressive.
What a surprise when we arrived. It is a stately building that is very well presented with manicured gardens. The reception was friendly and efficient and the room was well appointed, warm, fresh and well decorated and immaculately clean.
A bigger surprise was dinner in the restaurant. The food was fantastic and equivalent to meals that I have had in the top restaurants in London.
A great place which are very few and far betwee.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building and have no idea of the annexes but presume it to be of the same qual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Logie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 336 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend stay at Astley Bank and my only complaint is that it wasn't long enough! Our room was beautiful with a stunning bathroom, food was excellent and staff and management were so friendly and helpful. It was our first visit but it certainly won't be our last. In fact we have already booked our next one!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlouanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Just arrived home from Astley Bank Hotel after a lovely three night stay, the service is second to none, professional, friendly and polite. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and is very comfortable, relaxing and warm, bedrooms are very light and airy with lovely decor and huge en suite bathrooms. The meals are excellent and very reasonably priced.
We cannot wait to return to Astley Bank and have booked to go again later in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

A great place to stay. Stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the personal service. Had both a large and small meal, food was excellent. Staff very friendly

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trispener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Having been a frequent guest here a few years ago, it was great to go back to see that the only change was the extension of the free wifi throughout the hotel. This is a lovely country house hotel, with freindly service and an excellent chef.

The hotel is a little way out of Darwen, (which for those unfamiliar with the town is a good thing), it is reached by a fairly steep drive and is set in very quiet and pleasant gardens.

Wifi service appears to be quite good and the download speed measures 5.03 Mbps (www.speedtest.net )

To see this ranking below the Premier Inn in Darwen is frankly ridiculous. The Astley is far Far superior, and at not much more in terms of price when you take free WiFi into account!

Room Tip: The Astley Bank dies offer a variety of rooms including several very nice 'feature' rooms si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerfrom203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Booked this hotel for a night based on TA reviews and recommendations from family. We weren't disappointed. The room was was a decent size with quirky/chintzy decor (think orange carpets, green tiles and floral fabrics), comfy armchairs, tea making facilities, black out curtains and a large tv. The bathroom was great, with a huge bath, separate shower, skylight and even a bidet! The hotel is a couple of minutes outside Darwen, just a short drive into town or a cheap taxi ride, but would also be possible to walk if you had the inclination! It was January when we stayed so we didn't spend much time outside, but the grounds looked lovely and the setting is very peaceful. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly throughout our stay. A definite highlight of our stay was being served breakfast in our own private dining room over looking the gardens! We usually stay with family in Darwen but the Astley Bank has become my new accommodation choice when in town! Overall a relaxing, pleasant stay. We would have liked to have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissR23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

the room was lovely, spacious and comfortable, it was cold on arrival but a quick blast with the extra heater helped. I was pleased to have the extra blanket at night and i didnt ever manage to get a warm shower! Evening meals were beautifully served, colleagues who ate meat were happy with the range of options, the vegetarian menu was distinctly unimaginative and a bit limited in its range. ( they did respond to a request for more choice)
For those visiting on business, breakfast doesnt start till 7, a bit late for me but lots of choices were offered and the eggs were lovely!

Room Tip: ask for 1st floor if you want a hot shower as hot water struggles to reach floor 2 early in the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jax099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darwen
0.3 mi away
Whitehall Hotel
Whitehall Hotel
#4 of 4 in Darwen
314 reviews
18.3 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
805 reviews
10.4 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
10.9 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Burnley
367 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Blackburn South (M65, J4) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astley Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astley Bank Hotel

Address: Astley Bank, Darwen BB3 2QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Darwen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Darwen
Price Range: $94 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astley Bank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Astley Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astley Bank Hotel Darwen, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing