We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant for miles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Othello's Restaurant

Othello's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Othello's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 75 Restaurants in Darwen
Price range: $38 - $63
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant for miles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I love Astley Bank! Being ranked #6 restaurant in Darwen (at the time I wrote this) is not a reflection on Othellos restaurant but on the people of Darwen who value a cheap meal rather than a meal of quality! I have visited Astley Bank on numerous occasions and I have to say that it is the most consistent restaurant that never fails to deliver fine food of exceptional quality. In terms of pricing, this is also reasonable in terms of value for money, a 3 course meal with coffee averages at £22pp which is very good considering the quality of the food. You are always welcomed at Astley Bank by friendly staff that deliver excellent service, which begins with a tasty canapé (a complimentary treat). We always have a fantastic meal at Astley Bank and would recommend it to anyone.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charms25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    4
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Othello's Restaurant is located inside Astley Bank Hotel. I have stayed at Astley Bank on 5 different month-long business trips and find the food simply superb. The entire staff is warm, attentive and accommodating. The chefs prepare fresh, high quality, sumptuous fare served on warm plates with an appealing presentation. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planet Earth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by 5 star ratings - we were!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

£120 for 4 people, 2 courses each and a bottle of wine. Given the reviews we were expecting quite good food, but every meal disappointed. First of all, square plates; a ridiculous idea which wastes table space and makes the small portions look even smaller. Secondly, large but thin steaks don't cook well. The steaks were both tough and tasteless. We could see that the Chef, (who wasn't in the kitchen) had tried to create something different on his menus, but the food was badly cooked, badly presented and final bill only served to increase the bitter after-taste. We are not interested in gardens, decor or even the service for that matter, it's the food that counts -and this is where Othello's lets you down.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank anton b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hidden jewel for dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I am finding it difficult to find fault with our dining experience for the table of 9 when we dined here.
The service certainly measured up to the high standard of food. The staff were professional & attentive without being pushy.
Every single person at our table not only admired the faultless presentation of the food but the balance of flavours was Devine.
I can't wait to go again, we have dined before on the Sunday lunch menu and that was spectacular.
If I was MADE to find fault - then perhaps gentle music in the lounge bar? But our conversation flowed and it wasn't missed.
I really hope this gorgeous setting, professional staff and amazing food get recognised with a STAR one day soon, because they deserve it.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Othello's never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have been to Othello's several times over the past few years. This time we made a late call and were kindly squeezed in at the last gasp for Sunday lunch at 6pm. The service was excellent and the menu has one spoiled for choice, with some inventive combinations on all the courses. Whatever is chosen is always top quality and well presented. The staff do service with a big smile, and theres always a gorgeous rich chocolate to go with the coffee at the end of the meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond4341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Othello's Restaurant also viewed

Blackburn, Lancashire
Darwen, Lancashire
 

Been to Othello's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing