We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay but the hotel rooms are still in a number of key ways very much "last century"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shireburn Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shireburn Arms
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Clitheroe
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good stay but the hotel rooms are still in a number of key ways very much "last century"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Spent a pleasant night at the Shireburn. Though, as others, have said it is great location with some wonderful views, the amenities hotel rooms (or the room I stay in - Number 21) are in a number of ways "out of the arc" - it felt more like staying in a hotel in the 1990s and the 2010s. Here is a checklist of what you don't get.

* Though the Trip Advisor link to "hotel amenities lists "free high-speed internet", this was only available if you were near to the bar/reception area. It was not available in the rooms.

* The room did not have a radio/alarm clock, there was no phone/intercom in the room so to obtain any additional needs (e.g. no iron was provided) entailed walking all the way down to reception (in my case going outside) to request things.

* The only tv channels available were only BBC1, and 2 ITV Channel 4 and (I think) Channel 5. so no other freeview channels and no radio channels.

Another annoyance was that breakfast is only served from 7.30 onwards - ridiculous when I and others in the dinning room with me) were clearly business guests who wanted/needed an earlier start.

These are clearly management problems and in my view need to be addressed. Other management problems (don't fire the person who cleaned the room this was not a criticism of her/him) I encountered were the following:

* mold around the bathtub near the taps;
* two glossy magazines provided in the room but with many of the pages torn out;
* holes in the wall where attachments (mirrors probably) had been moved;
* skirting boards needed a new coat of paint etc. .

I should add that the staff I met were delightful, friendly and helpful - all one would expect from Lancastrians and hard-working recent immigrants. Indeed the person who served me at breakfast was able to bring me a "bacon sandwich" prior to the 7.30 start time and coffee was also available. But this because they were clearly trying to help guests and trying to get round the rules imposed "from above".

I would recommend the hotel - but I would urge the owners and managers to address the sorts of problems raised here. Get your hotel into the present century guys"!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoniRubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    72
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
78
101
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

After a shaky start to our visit when we almost left and went up the road to the Waddington Arms for lunch, we were persuaded by John. the new front of house assistant manager to stay.
He explained the changes that were going to be made and was concerned to hear of some issues we had which he took on board, some of which were already actioned.
He took the time to go through the items on the specials board and told us about the expertise they had recently acquired in the kitchens..... the new chef!
The description of the items on the specials board, did not do justice to the dishes served both in quality and presentation.
I would not normally have opted for a 'Shireburn Burger' but it certainly lived up to the tasty offering described with its cajun spices and seasoning.
We would go back, if just to see if changes had been put in place.
Good luck John!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prisoner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ainsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Came here for Sunday lunch in the middle of a treasure trail we were doing in the Ribble Valley. As we were a group of 9 (5 adults and 4 kids) we thought we'd better book somewhere. Our usual choice was full when we rang the day before and a quick internet search through up The Shireburn Arms. They were very accommodating, offered us 12.30 or 1.30 so we plumped for 1.30. On arrival we were greeted warmly. Our large round table was in a lovely dining room with fantastic views even on a drizzly autumn day! There was a good choice of food with a number of specials. 3 of us had roast beef - delicious. The beef and ale pie was v tasty and when my mother-in-law enquired about the fish and chips she was advised the portions were huge and was offered a child's portion, ideal as she has quite a small appetite. The children's menu was also good, much better than the standard fish fingers, chicken nuggets etc. All 4 went for roast chicken which they enjoyed. The service was good and the whole experience was fantastic and one we will definitely be repeating!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Wow! This was the first time we have stayed over at the shireburn arms. We have often come for lunches and meals but never stayed, but we are glad we did. We had the valley suite and it was perfect. The views were amazing, even from the bath. As usual Molly, our dog, got the first drink in the bar. The food was superb and my husband enjoyed the variety of beers. The general manager there always shows us the upmost hospitality and couldn't be anymore welcoming. She really does go above and beyond. It won't be long before we are back. If you're in the area a visit or stay is a must. The terrace at the back is beautiful with cracking views from both the inside and outside.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

An excellent small hotel with superb service. We B & B'd here for two nights for a family wedding nearby. Superb breakfast with wonderful views of the dales. Room comfy and quiet, although being at the rear, had no view. Only drawback was lack of hot water on the second morning, but the hotel responded well.

Room Tip: Get a view on the South side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

A very comfortable and good value country inn type hotel. I was particularly impressed with the food at both dinner and breakfast (choice, quality and value for money). There was also a good range of beers. The rooms were fine although were let down by a lack of attention to detail - a couple of light bulbs not working for instance. The TV in the room also didn't seem to have too many channels. However, I would not let these put me off from staying again and I am sure if I was staying any longer the helpful staff would have sorted things out. One or two colleagues did comment that some noise from the bar area did impact their rooms but it was not a late night noisy bar so did not impact then too much.

Room Tip: If you want an early night look for rooms not above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulRTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

After a days walking out in the rain, it was great to sit in a lovely wingback chair next to a real fire and enjoy a good pint with my partner.

The food and service was spot on and as far as country pubs go, they dont get any better than the Shireburn Arms.

We were given a little tour and were so impressed we have now booked to stayover a weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Insight_Hospitality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clitheroe
4.4 mi away
The Old Posthouse Hotel
The Old Posthouse Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clitheroe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
2.3 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
10.1 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shireburn Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shireburn Arms

Property: The Shireburn Arms
Address: Whalley Road, Hurst Green, Clitheroe BB7 9QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Clitheroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Shireburn Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shireburn Arms Hotel Clitheroe
Shireburn Arms Clitheroe
The Shireburn Arms Clitheroe, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing