We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nearly there!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shireburn Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shireburn Arms
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Clitheroe
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nearly there!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed for one night taking advantage of the wonderful £113 per night inc evening meal B&B offer. We've visited / stayed at several of the groups other venues - Mitton Hall, Waddington Arms, Emporium & The Royal, and had idea what to expect. As ever staff were polite, aware and informative. I believe the group acquired Shireburn Arms in Oct 2011. Since then huge strides have been made. The bar / restaurant area is excellent - finished to a very high standard but in keeping with the age / structure of the building. Food is very good - possibly a shade under what we've eaten at the groups other bar / restaurants but nevertheless a good standard.

The area that has yet to be refubished are the rooms. We stayed in The Tolkien Room which I suspect in its day was one of the Shireburns grandest (stunning views to the rear). The rooms are tired - but to be fair the staff make no bones about this - it is a work in progress.

The current offer (Mon - Thu) represents fantastic value - we will certainly return when the rooms have been refurbed, probably before.

Thank you very much for a great night

- Visited Shireburn Arms the weekend of the 'Middle Earth Beer Festival' at the Parish Hall (bit of a bonus). Band playing on the Thursday night were called 'The Ragamuffins' watch out for them - they were a superb Indie band.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear will give you a superb view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alicejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    72
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
78
101
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We arrived in Clitheroe not knowing where to stay and came across this inn. The staff were very welcoming and helpful carrying our luggage to our room (no16) which has the most amazing views over the Ribble Valley. Excellent friendly service and great food at a very competitive price. I would recommend this inn.

Room Tip: room 16 has the most amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribble Valley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We have visited The Shireburn on numerous occasions after the recent change of ownership and refurb. Food has always been excellent. Decor very nice. Staff very polite. Andrew the Manager always has a word to say and very friendly and professional.....for those of you who know the local pubs/restaurants he use to manage The Waddington Arms - also part of 'The James' group and an excellent place to visit for an extensive menu and 'pub' atmosphere.

The Shireburn Arms reputation is spreading and on a couple of occasions we have turned up to find the place fully booked - on one occasion we asked Andrew to phone The Waddington Arms to see if they had a table and they did so we went onto there.

Will definitely be visiting again and again but will be phoning to book first!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelLover18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

A group of us spent a four night break here and thouroughly enjoyed it. It has a wonderful old world charm with lovely open fires. Andrew, the manager, is a laugh a minute whilst being very proffesional in his running of the hotel, the staff are all extremely helpful. This showed especially in their care when one our party became unwell. The chef, the trained first aider, was soon out of the kitchen and cushions and blankets provided to keep her warm till the ambulance arrived and everyone was so welcoming when she returned next day. The bedrooms are in need of the planned update but were clean as were the bathrooms and the beds were comfy and this was more then made up for by the quality of the food we all ate far too much, it was so good!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Having visited on Sunday (Mothering Sunday) we had found this whilst reading Lancashire Life Magazine we were very surprised by the excellent service, ambience and food that we had whilst we spent a lazy sunday afternoon in the bar.

The food was excellent and soon arrived after our order, my wife enjoy a lovely chicken and mushroom pasta dish (lighter bite option - not as you would think by the portion size she got) and I opted for a roast beef sunday lunch.

Both were excellent and our daughter thought the childrens menu was fab as well, nothing appeared to much trouble and our lemon pudding just finished the meal off.

This is well worth a visit when out in the Ribble Valley and I am sure we will visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jid563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

As someone who travels on business and stays in hotels all around the UK on a weekly basis it is very easy to become tired of staying away from home.

The Shireburn has however become home from home and I now make a point of driving 30 mins out of my way every other week to stay here. This is despite there been numerous other 'more convienient' options open to me.

The place is a real find. The manager (Andrew) really knows how to make people feel welcome, and this is now also reflected in the team that he has around him. Most of the rooms have been recently overhauled and are decorated to a high standard. The restaurant and bar area are beautiful with open fires and candle lit tables and a definate local charm. If I had to pick a highlight it would probably however be the food. I have never experienced that quality of food anywhere else in the UK within the price bracket the shireburn operates in.

The biggest compliment I can pay this place is my recent choice to bring my family to stay just to get away for a night together. This is despite a 250 mile round trip! My extended family are now planning stays as a result of the feedback from my wife and parents.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

It was our intention to spend a few days at a sister hotel to the Shireburn but when we realised who had taken charge of this new addition to the group we decided to "follow the money" as they say. It was, as we thought, a clever move. Andrew as brought the skills he used at the Waddington to the Shireburn (excellent food, right price, friendly accommodating staff) - not rocket science but often proves to be difficult to find. We will be back (sooner rather than later, its bound to get filled up). Lucky people of Clitheroe (we wished we lived in striking distance instead of 250 miles away).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albion51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clitheroe
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
4.4 mi away
The Old Posthouse Hotel
The Old Posthouse Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clitheroe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.3 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
10.1 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shireburn Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shireburn Arms

Property: The Shireburn Arms
Address: Whalley Road, Hurst Green, Clitheroe BB7 9QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Clitheroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Shireburn Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shireburn Arms Hotel Clitheroe
Shireburn Arms Clitheroe
The Shireburn Arms Clitheroe, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing