We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE PLACE”
Review of Waddington Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waddington Arms
Ranked #4 of 21 Clitheroe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed for two nights in April the rooms are lovely and spacious very clean, ours faced the street which was very picturesque, (the church bells didn't bother us at all!) however we ahd noisy neighbours the nights we stayed, not the fault of the Waddington though, at one point it sounded like they were bathing a dog!! and when we went down to breakfast, they were sat there...with a dog :)
We aite there the first night it was very nice and the breakfast was substantial and pelntiful with ceral toast etc as well as a full English. Very enjoyable in a lovely part of Lancashire.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravenchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 271 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at Waddington Arms 07.07.12, night before our wedding. We have visited the pub regularly for meals as the food is superb and the village of Waddington is beautiful. We booked a room big enough to sleep our two four year old on the floor in our own blow up beds. The room was very nice and clean. We were at the back of the pub. Noise from below was not enough to keep our children awake. Also, our windows overlooked the terrace which was ideal as it meant we could sit outside and have a drink with friends and still keep a close eye on the children.
We had an excellent evening meal at a table reserved for 14, locally sourced food very well presented and cooked to perfection. Although it rained and so the pub was full of people sheltering they managed to keep our table for us which was good. Everyone said how nice their meal was and the staff were very good at accomodating a childs request for a sandwich even though they are not on the evening menu.
In the morning we went down to a really nice home cooked breakfast. Eggs cooked exactly as we asked and very good sausage and bacon. The children enjoyed a good play out on the slide in the garden at the rear of the Waddington Arms whilst we loaded up the car.
I have marked this "Excellent" as when I compare it to rooms in other pubs it is far superior.

Room Tip: There is no phone in the room to contact staff. We used our mobile and called the usual contact numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great pub in a beautiful village. We stayed in Room 1 which was beautifully and tastefully decorated, lovely linen and great villeroy and boch bathroom. Only niggle was door caught on carpet and needed shaving! Food in pub great and real ales superbly kept. We did Bed and Breakfast for £65 which we thought great value. Breakfast was good too and all staff very pleasant. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Get one at front overlooking the church but be aware clock chimes every 15 minutes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Food was really good and service was fast and friendly! If I were to be picky the only thing that could be ammended was the food all coming together as there was four of us we had to wait for two meals each time for what felt like quite a gap. other than this minor detail it was really really lovely and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Had a great meal and service fantastic. One client who was food throwing left a little to be desired but she was not "like these country bumpkins" and as she left to go back to her home in Hapton, we all breathed a sigh of relief! Great ambience, definitely come back again when the out of towners stay in town!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed for just one night on business and thought it was lovely. Sat outside in comfy chairs with good wine and peaceful country village feel in the evening and forgot I was working. Excellent evening meal and breakfast and really comfortable room. Creaky floorboards add to the charm. Could have done with a bit more power behind the shower but liked everything about this place. Free wi fi compensates for poor mobile phone reception. It cost me £5 by taxi from Clitheroe station. What an unexpected treat this stay turned out to be and great value for money at £75 for DB&B. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were greeted by a helpful barman and then sat down after being given a lovely wine and a pint of Waddy for me. Our waitress pounced within seconds and we had to point out to her we had only just sat down (she appeared to pounce on everyone who had just sat down). Our order was taken and then the starter arrived.

My wifes scallops with crispy pork belly lacked the crispy part of the pork and my fish cake had a bone which I didn't mind initially.

The main course then arrived. My wife had ordered grilled sea bass, seafood rissotto and battered squid. What arrived looked awful. The sea bass was plonked onto a large bowl of what looked like ambrosia creamed rice. Rissotto should be thick and silky. This was over laced with cream to so much extent the (unseasoned) sea bass was sinking and overwhelmed. The battered squid was overcooked in oil that was not hot enough and hence was greasy and tasteless.

I had ordered pork loin, black pudding with crushed potatoes and mushroom sauce. The pork loin was very tough and appeared to have been shown the heat on one side and not the other. The potatoes were pleasant as was the mushroom sauce.

My wife ordered the treacle tart with ice cream for dessert. This was awful. Bland tasteless, dry, overcooked filling on top of soggy undercooked pastry. The ice cream was okay.

I will not be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clitheroe
4.6 mi away
The Shireburn Arms
The Shireburn Arms
#2 of 4 in Clitheroe
316 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf Club
4.9 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Rosehill House Hotel
Rosehill House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Burnley
367 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Old Posthouse Hotel
The Old Posthouse Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clitheroe
224 reviews
5.8 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waddington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waddington Arms

Address: Waddington, Clitheroe BB7 3HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Clitheroe
Price Range: $70 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waddington Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Waddington Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waddington Arms Hotel Clitheroe
Waddington Arms Clitheroe, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing