We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honest friendly pub :-)”
Review of Swan & Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swan & Royal
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Clitheroe
burnley
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good honest friendly pub :-)”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We were also their that Thursday. The staff were helpful and friendly. A good pub atmosphere with a mixture of visitors and locals.
The food was good honest pub grub...my sizzling steak was tasty and cooked just how I like it and my husband was more than happy with his water buffalo.
Would we recommend....of course abd we already have.
We also had a groupon voucher and we're pleased that there wasn't any restrictions as to what you could choose like some places we have been.
All I will say to our fellow unhappy diner, tell somebody you are not happy whilst you are there give them a chance to rectify what you are not happy with don't slate people in the comfort of your own home... As for stating sickness...that's liable tut

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    31
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
35
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

we visited here last thursday evening on the group on voucher which stated the value of the 3 course meal would be just under £60 if i remember correctly.
we had duck spring rolls - were okay, not much filling but tasted alright.
garlic bread with cheese and chill - this was described on the menu as on french bread, i expected a couple of slices of french stick with garlic cheese and chilli on. we got the full baguette! suppose that is value for money but cant say ive seen this done before. but that was ok, abit bland but edible.
on to the mains, we both had the mixed grill. this was not good. half a black pudding, small piece of chicken, gammon, steak, onion rings, tomato, peas, chips (which were good home made chips, the best part of the meal probably), egg and two sausages. the meats werent very good but were edible, the sausages looked aneamic and you could tell they had just been dropped in the fryer, could have done with abit of colour on though. you did get plenty of food but i would never have paid the £14+ which they charge on the menu for this low quality meal.
After we had finished with our mains, it took about 20-25 minutes for the staff to come and clear our plates which was quite awhile.
we ordered desserts next, we ordered something called chocolate puddle pudding, and the tirimisu. to be hoenst apart from the chocolate pudding the other desserts looked the same on the menu with the faded pictures, all triangle shaped just different flavours..definatley frozen!
they arrived, neither were good. we ate what we could and left almost immediatley.
the lady who seemed to be running the place was lovely, she had two really young girls working with her who really could do with some training, although both were very polite.
i dont think we were the only table who were unimpressed as i saw other tables glances and pulling faces at different things. we left with full tummys but would never return. If this was the end of it, i would have given it a tripadvisor rating of 'not good',
but....
the worst was yet to come, upon arriving home over an hour later, one of us nearly passed out, and was very very ill through the night and some of the next day...we are pretty certain that it was something in this pub/restaurant that caused this as she had only previously eaten toast that day! This is the reason for the 'terrible' rating.
also, the website could do with being updated, as the menu online is not the same as the menu in the pub!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robertop2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joytez, Owner at Swan & Royal, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Re your review of our hotel. To get a review so scathing as this is very upsetting not only for us but for our staff also. We do all try to give a good service and basically look after all our customers whilst providing good home cooked food at a reasonable price. However I will try and address the issues in your review as best as I can.
Having studied the CCTV footage of your visit I cannot agree with with your recollection of the times you were kept waiting, but to refresh your memory and this is from the CCTV footage it went like this.
You booked your table for 5.30 but arrived a bit earlier which was not a problem.
5.40 you finished your starters ( you did eat all your starters even the garlic bread you are commenting about.)
5.44 The plates were cleared
5.53 the mains were served.
6.05 The waitress asked you if everything was OK with your meal to which you replied fine.
6.12 You finished your mains.
6.19 The supervisor asked if everything was OK with your meal to which once more you replied fine.
6.20 The plates were cleared ( this is 8 minutes after you finished your meal not 20-25 as you stated in your review)
6.29 The sweet orders were taken.
6.35 The sweets were served.
If you do not agree with these timings you are more than welcome to come and view the CCTV footage for yourself.
As for the food apart from the odd complaint ( which we always rectify) which everyone in this industry gets from time to time we only get compliments and the reviews we get for the food etc speak for themselves.
Regarding your comment about the other diners puilling their faces at various things, I have corresponded with as many as possible and and everyone seems more than happy with the food and service on the night.
Going on to your alleged illness, you have no proof what so ever that your alleged illness was a result of your visit to our establishment. Did you seel medical attention ? did you contact your local EHO ? somehow I rather doubt it.
As regarsd to our web site needing updating I do not see what this as to do with your review however if you consider the menu on the web site does not correspond with the one in the hotel then I suggest youy go to your local branch of spec savers.
I have also received a phone call from the lady who posted a review in our defence after she saw your review and she tells me that she received a private message of you through trip advisor in which you called her nasty names and informed her that she did not know what she was talking about. So shall we take it that you are to be the only person entitled to an opinion ?
Bur at the end of the day you were asked not once but twice if everyhing was Ok and twice you replied fine. If you was not satisfied instead of being a Key Board Warrior you should of informed us when asked and we would of endevoured to settle the matter to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is excellently placed in middle of the town with easy access to shops and castle.
There are plenty of interesting shops to visit.
Rooms are very nice and the food we had was extremely good, we started with prawn cocktail and then we had the steak and sizzling pork. Well cooked and good portion size.
Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Egypt1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslingden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I was not to sure when I booked this place for a meal but OMG it was lovely the staff were lovely and the food was perfect more than enough would go back tomorrow WELL DONE !!!!!! We was not rushed meal was lovely proper chips GREAT!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbarnes0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

the manager's and staff cannot do enough for you. we go there as often as we can it is first class all prices as cheape. so you cannot fault it. the place is clean and tidy you are not rushed at any time the food is home cooked not an oven and served on warm plates.

Room Tip: room 5 sir frank whittle room you get a good view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgevokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Had a very nice goats cheese tart for lunch - to be fair wasn't really expecting too much. A few pointers though the tables looked like they needed a good wipe over but at least the food was good. Service was efficient and as stated previously really enjoyed the tart! As I did not stay at the hotel cannot say anything about the rooms!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanner_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We came here for Christmas Day lunch and it was very good, the function room where everybody dined on the day was really very nicely decorated. We was greeted with a glass of champagne and had a great choice of food, there was 5 choices to choose from on all 3 courses and mince pie and coffee to finish off the lovely meal. Well done to the hosts Terry & Carol and all the staff, once again thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dewhurst121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clitheroe
0.1 mi away
The Old Posthouse Hotel
The Old Posthouse Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clitheroe
213 reviews
4.6 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
229 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
4.8 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
4.9 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan & Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan & Royal

Property: Swan & Royal
Address: 26 Castle Street, Clitheroe BB7 2BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Clitheroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel reopened in September after a serious fire. The hotel is set in the centre of the historic market town of Clitheroe. The Swan & Royal a former coaching Inn dating back to the 1830's. In its early years as a hostelry, it boast guests both famous and some say infamous, in the local area and throughout the country. You can stay in rooms named after a selection of the most interesting of these people. During the day it is the ideal place to rest tired legs after walking round the market or the wide range of individual shops Clitheroe has to offer. At night it is a little more lively being in the centre of the town and it is also the centre of socialising. Weekends do get particularly lively with a disco till 1am of a Friday and Saturday evening. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swan & Royal Clitheroe, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing