We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab fun filled stay always comfortable always made welcome !”
Review of Swan & Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swan & Royal
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Clitheroe
Reviewed July 22, 2012

me and my partner have stayed here on a few occasions the rooms are big bright and clean with the added bonus of the most comfortable beds ever love the whole atmospher and the dj on a saturday nite is fab and fun we always book hotels but this is the only one we have reviseted three times staff are fantastic and make you feel welcome everytime just book you definatley wont regret it cant wait till next time

mr and mrs chatburn

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chatburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 85 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed the night at the Swan and Royal. Really good service, nice rooms and a cracking bar with some entertaining bar staff. Also good beers and whisky choices. Cracking breakfast as well.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

we didn't stay at the hotel but we ate in the hotel itself, very reasonable food and very enjoyable visit.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Hannikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The wife and I stayed in the rather provocatively named 'Miss Whiplash' room, that caused a giggle. Rooms are comfortable. The decor has been modernised in some places and the bar is great for food and drinks. There is evening entertainment on the weekend. Ok if you are part of it, but perhaps not if you are trying to get some rest! Service fine and breakfast was tasty.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry_Donnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Stayed at this hotel October 14th, super welcome by the locals and staff. Room perfect,had lovely view of the castle and the bed was soooo comfy ! Breakfast was full english and was the perfect end to our stay. We travelled from Blackpool by train and was very hungry when we arrived. Sadly we had missed food being served but was directed to local chippy ! This pub has many hidden treasures including a huge function room, decorated beautifully. ***** HIGHLY RECOMMEND *****

Room Tip: Phone and ask !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emzbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

It is apparent from the time you meet the publican, Terry, that he loves his job. He is very welcoming - the perfect host - a rarity in this day of the multi-national hotel chains.
What more can be said that has not been said in other reviews. "warm, friendly and welcoming " sums it up well. Very comfortable bed with spotless linen, tastefully restored good size rooms , clean and functional. Great bar and staff as was the freshly cooked full Lancashire breakfast. Dinner was tasty and hearty and very reasonably priced. I concur " would not look anywhere else " Easy to find hotel , off street parking and check - in was with a minimum of fuss. We should have stayed another night.
Highly recommended and excellent value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beenaroundthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

From the moment i walked in i was greeted straight away with a warm welcome,after signing in i was shown my room which all rooms are named after famous people who stayed here.There is alot of history here and is worth looking around at the pictures and speaking to the staff behind the bar.
I stayed here for 4 nights but by the time i left it was like i'd been here years the service is fantastic and food is fantastic i would recommend this place to anyone,the rooms are comfortable i had a massive bed big led tv tea,coffee,chocolate and biscuits in a basket which is just a bonus,bathroom with bath with over shower ,toilet and sink.
It is a stone throw form the castle with everyting you need close to hand.
The Sun and Royal was a home from home for me with Terry and Carol making me more than welcome this is the best service i have had from a hotel.Even if you dont stay here just pop in for a drink or a fantastic home cooked meal

Room Tip: a room at the back is better its quieter over looking a little courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clitheroe
0.1 mi away
The Old Posthouse Hotel
The Old Posthouse Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clitheroe
222 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Shireburn Arms
The Shireburn Arms
#2 of 4 in Clitheroe
314 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
4.6 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
259 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan & Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan & Royal

Address: 26 Castle Street, Clitheroe BB7 2BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Clitheroe
Price Range: $44 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel reopened in September after a serious fire. The hotel is set in the centre of the historic market town of Clitheroe. The Swan & Royal a former coaching Inn dating back to the 1830's. In its early years as a hostelry, it boast guests both famous and some say infamous, in the local area and throughout the country. You can stay in rooms named after a selection of the most interesting of these people. During the day it is the ideal place to rest tired legs after walking round the market or the wide range of individual shops Clitheroe has to offer. At night it is a little more lively being in the centre of the town and it is also the centre of socialising. Weekends do get particularly lively with a disco till 1am of a Friday and Saturday evening. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swan & Royal Clitheroe, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing