We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds”
Review of Whalley Abbey

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clitheroe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whalley Abbey
Ranked #9 of 22 Clitheroe B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent three nights in The Abbey and enjoyed the experience very much. The room and bath were large and well appointed. It was extremely quiet and the grounds were superb. We spent one morning exploring and taking photos of extraordinary ruins and gardens.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pibrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 88 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

Although I only live 25 miles away I paid my first visit to the Abbey ruins a couple of weeks ago. Why did I wait so long? The site has a beautiful location by the river and the gardens were full of colour as it was summer. We wandered through the ruins following the map and guide and were impressed that there were so many benches to allow us to stop and contemplate the scenery. Unfortunately we didn't have time to see the museum or visit the cafe but I will certainly be returning. Close by is the church of St. Mary and All Saints which is also worth a visit. There has been a church on the site since Anglo Saxon times and the present church dates from early 13th century. Most days from 2 pm the church is open and there is someone there to give you all the information you need. It is a very tranquil and welcoming church with some interesting features.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
2  Thank Supergran44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have lunched at the Whalley Abbey coffee shop a few times with a friend who is quite keen on the location - I haven't always been totally satisfied with my food but haven't liked to complain. However, having found soil in my salad yet again today I felt obliged to say something - unfortunately our waitress wasn't that concerned, said she'd speak to the chef who said it had been washed: and that was the end of it. We won't be going back in a hurry.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank whalleykay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Visited the old Abbey ruins with friends. What beautiful gardens! Nice small museum area with a bit of history of the Abbey. Wonderful place to take photographs! Toured the church and churchyard. Friendly staff.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here on retreat and much appreciate the opportunity to soak up the atmosphere. If feels like a sacred place. The food is always good and home cooked and the staff helpful. Ideally placed for walking and shopping and good pubs in the town

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

As the bride and groom, we naturally had the best room in the Abbey. The bridal suite was light and spacious and has lovely views of the gardens. It has a beautiful old country charm. This is a magical place to have a wedding set in the ruins of the Tudor monastry. The bedrooms are geared towards those on a spiritual retreat; they are comfortable, clean and modest, if a little basic. However, those expecting 4* hotel standard would be a bit disappointed if you didn't have the bridal room. The breakfast was tasty and the staff excellent. This is one of Lancashires best kept secret as a wedding venue. The Great Hall where we had our wedding reception certainly had the wow factor and the grounds are certainly worth exploring and has plenty of carparking space.

Room Tip: The bridal suite is the best room in the place and only this and one other room (which is equally ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We used Whalley Abbey for our wedding reception venue on April 9th 2012. I wanted to say what a wonderful day we had, we couldn't have picked a better venue!!

The staff were amazing, everything was taken care of down to the last detail, and no job was too small for them to sort out for you. The great hall looked beautiful with all the table decorations and flowers, and the history of the venue is awe inspiring! Our wedding day was a cold wet day, but we were able to have an open fire in the front room for the guests to relax and chat, and we had our pictures taken on the front steps under the porch.

The food was delicious, with big helpings (unusual for wedding food) and the bacon baps went down well later at the disco!

All the guests who came to the wedding said what a special place Whalley Abbey was, and I couldn't agree more!! Thank you to everyone who made our day so special!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz_rtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clitheroe
1.8 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
1.5 mi away
Best Western Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf Club
1.1 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mitton Hall
Mitton Hall
#2 of 22 in Clitheroe
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel Whalley
The Swan Hotel Whalley
#1 of 1 in Whalley
101 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fifty One and a Half Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalley Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalley Abbey

Address: Whalley Abbey | just off the A59, Clitheroe BB7 9SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Clitheroe
Hotel Class:4 star — Whalley Abbey 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Whalley Abbey Hotel Clitheroe
Whalley Abbey Clitheroe, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing