We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical wedding venue”
Review of Whalley Abbey

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clitheroe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whalley Abbey
Ranked #6 of 23 Clitheroe B&B and Inns
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Magical wedding venue”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

As the bride and groom, we naturally had the best room in the Abbey. The bridal suite was light and spacious and has lovely views of the gardens. It has a beautiful old country charm. This is a magical place to have a wedding set in the ruins of the Tudor monastry. The bedrooms are geared towards those on a spiritual retreat; they are comfortable, clean and modest, if a little basic. However, those expecting 4* hotel standard would be a bit disappointed if you didn't have the bridal room. The breakfast was tasty and the staff excellent. This is one of Lancashires best kept secret as a wedding venue. The Great Hall where we had our wedding reception certainly had the wow factor and the grounds are certainly worth exploring and has plenty of carparking space.

Room Tip: The bridal suite is the best room in the place and only this and one other room (which is equally ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    19
    4
    7
    1
See reviews for
24
18
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We used Whalley Abbey for our wedding reception venue on April 9th 2012. I wanted to say what a wonderful day we had, we couldn't have picked a better venue!!

The staff were amazing, everything was taken care of down to the last detail, and no job was too small for them to sort out for you. The great hall looked beautiful with all the table decorations and flowers, and the history of the venue is awe inspiring! Our wedding day was a cold wet day, but we were able to have an open fire in the front room for the guests to relax and chat, and we had our pictures taken on the front steps under the porch.

The food was delicious, with big helpings (unusual for wedding food) and the bacon baps went down well later at the disco!

All the guests who came to the wedding said what a special place Whalley Abbey was, and I couldn't agree more!! Thank you to everyone who made our day so special!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz_rtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here after my sisters wedding reception. What a beautiful place! And what lovely helpful staff. The staff in charge of the reception catered to our every need, being particularly helpful and organised with the food- which was no small challenge due to many allergies and veggies!
Our room was lovely and spacious, with two windows and stunning views of the abbey. It was set up very nicely for the accommodation of us and my 2 year old nephew who was bunking with us, and who loved all the space he had to get his toys out. They had set up the cot and moved his highchair about-without request- so that it was in the right place for each bit of the wedding. A stroll around the abbey in the morning was extremely refreshing and overall I could not have thought of a better place to be for my sisters special day! Big recommendation to anyone for wedding receptions!

Room Tip: West 5! 2 windows and huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank livvy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked a room here as we were attending a wedding (which was lovely -it couldn't have had a nicer setting). However our room was up in the attic area and resembled a functional hostel room -twin beds, small wardrobe, ensuite bathroom with tiny shower etc. However, it was clean and the beds seemed comfortable. It was very cold so we turned the heating up and went down to the wedding reception. Unfortunately, as the room was up in the attic there was little insukation and despite our efforts to turn up the heating, the room (and us!) remained cold all night. The duvets were thin and there were no extra blankets.
We went down for breakfast -which we had been told would be served at 9 am -hard luck if you overslept after the disco!! There was a choice of fruitjuice, some tinned grapefruit, several cereals and help yourself cooked bacon,scrambled eggs etc. All adequate but exactly like staying in a hostel. The problem is that Whalley Abbey charges £46.50 per person so £93.00 per room in no way represents value for money.
On checking out, we mentioned to reception how cold our room had been -the frosty reply was that we should have come to seek out the night porter who could have checked the heating! Not much help at 3 in the morning -looking for an elusive man in an old abbey!
Our daughter & boyfriend (in a warmer room) could not open their door to get to breakfast and rang reception to no avail so I doubt anything would have been done for us.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazel-paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for one night following a function. It is a very peaceful place the rooms are good although some are a little on the small side. Certainly a very unusual venue. The room folder is quite informative, the beds very comfortable. Breakfast is however rather restrictive 8.30 to 9.15am and check out is at 10am. Fine if you are off to a meeting, not much help for a long weekend etc.

A very attractive location but not particularly cheap (£45.00 PP B/B) for which one would expect greater flexibility. Whalley Abbey needs to realise that there are other hotels close by which offer more for the same or less.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristopherN979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This fascinating venue tends to cater for groups, but it is still a good option for the individual traveller. There was only one room left when I booked, and it was quite small, but still comfortable, quiet and adequate. Wifi connection was pretty good too, which was an unexpected bonus considering the massive stone walls the signal had to go through!

The village is only a few minutes walk away with several pubs and restaurants offering lunch and dinner options.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JafaExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Whalley Abbey was a large and important Cistercian Monastery and moved to its present site in 1296 when Abbot Gregory of Norbury and 20 monks arrived. The ruins of the Abbey are now open to the public and are protected as an important Ancient Monument.

We found details of Whalley Abbey, Whalley near Clitheroe in an ancient guide book and decided to visit on a day trip with our grandson. This review is based only on the Abbey grounds and not on its accommodation, cafe or function facilities. The cafe was closed on the day of our visit.

The Abbey is situated off the main road in Whalley and has its own dedicated car park which is free. Entry to the Abbey ruins is subject to a small fee. The ruins are well worth a visit being very well preserved, atmospheric, really beautiful with good signage to explain different areas. This is expanded on by a small exhibition centre which gives a potted history of the Abbey including a model to illustrate its dimensions.

We very much recommend a visit.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lynmullen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clitheroe
1.1 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
225 reviews
1.7 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,048 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
3.8 mi away
The Old Posthouse Hotel
The Old Posthouse Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clitheroe
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whalley Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalley Abbey

Property: Whalley Abbey
Address: Whalley Abbey | just off the A59, Clitheroe BB7 9SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Clitheroe
Hotel Class:4 star — Whalley Abbey 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Whalley Abbey Hotel Clitheroe
Whalley Abbey Clitheroe, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing