We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meals at the Rose and Crown.”

Rose and Crown Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clitheroe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose and Crown Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Clitheroe B&B and Inns
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Meals at the Rose and Crown.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife, Daughter and I visited the "Rose and Crown Hotel on Castle Street, Clitheroe for lunch on the May Day Bank Holiday whilst on a day visit to Clitheroe and the area.
We each had different meals, Roast Beef Dinner, home made Cheese and Onion Pie with chips and beans (a special request) and Beef Chilli with rice. Then a nice cup of tea to follow.
The service was excellent as was the food and the price (less than £20 for the three of us)
I would highly recommend the "Rose and Crown Hotel if visiting the area.
The hotel also do half-size portions for meals and desserts, very useful after a hearty meal.
The Hotel also had live music available after lunch at 2pm.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Venture65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
17
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Rose and Crown on March 2nd,the room was freezing when we arrived as the window was wide open and the radiator turned down.The furniture in the room was rather old and worn but the bathroom was good.Some of the people in the Bar looked a bit rough early on, but it was O.K.later.
We went to a wedding reception across the road that evening and on our return found our beds quite comfortable.Next morning I went for a walk to the Castle just down the road,but had to go gown the fire escape as the door to the bar and Hotel were locked.However on my return we met up with other members of our family and had a lovely full English breakfast ,the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked for a weekend and were given room No 4, and what a disappointment this room was.Twin beds pushed into a recess with about 12 inches between the beds, no bedside light or table, every coil spring could be felt through the mattress, wardrobe door hanging off, broken lid on the kettle and a chest of drawes more suited to a shed.
Bathroom, there were no towl rails or shelfs so we only had the edge of the bath to place things!
To be fair to the landlord, he fixed the wardrobe door and provided a table between the beds with a light.The bed linen, Towels, breakfast and bar were all good.
One other comment, on Fridays and Saturdays there is a Disco to the early hours, playing the usual thumping music.

Room Tip: Dont bother, especially at the weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rileyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Pleasant rooms, if a little plain. However it was in the evening that the problems really began. There seemed to be a large number of underage people in the pub who seemed to have had rather too much to drink and were making a nuisance of themselves.
The barstaff were helpful and drinks were reasonably priced.......probably why there were so many youngsters! This would have been ok were it not for the fight that broke out later in the evening resulting in the police being brought in. Certainly an eventful evening!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Popped in for lunch on a saturday afternoon, was uiet when we went in but got busier, range on the menu was good, especially as they did full and smaller portions on almost all the menu, specials were on the board beside the bar

Only wee issue was a wee wait for the food as they needed more potatoes, not a major issue as i was in no rush, may have been nice for people to have been informed of a delay, but TBH i wouldnt make it a major grumble

Food was great, started of breaded mushrooms were made from scratch and the 3 sausage mash was great, the mash was real mash and creamy, veg were fresh too...very tasty, and well worth the money and wait

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here for one night recently,pleasantly surprised,clean rooms,pleasant and very helpful staff,good breakfast,a little noisy in the evening as there was a disco on but it was a Saturday night but this didnt spoil the say at all,tea and coffee making facillities,cheap beer as well!!
Room was booked at very short notice,no problems at all,would definateley stay here again.

Neil&Joanne

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clitheroe
0.1 mi away
The Old Posthouse Hotel
The Old Posthouse Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clitheroe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
4.5 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
4.9 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn at the Station
Inn at the Station
#8 of 23 in Clitheroe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fifty One and a Half Boutique B&B
3.1 mi away
The Red Pump Inn
The Red Pump Inn
#1 of 1 in Bashall Eaves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose and Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose and Crown Hotel

Property: Rose and Crown Hotel
Address: 1 Castle Street, Clitheroe BB7 2BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Clitheroe
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Hotel Clitheroe, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing