We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect...again.”
Review of The Plate - CLOSED

The Plate
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect...again.”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Since our last visit, we've been back to 'The Plate' twice. We aim to try each menu, but have only succeeded in trying breakfast (we will be going back for dinner at some point, but never manage to stay away until the right time).

First, we tried 'The Plate's Full Breakfast' - everything was lovely. The bacon is thickly cut; the sausage is thick, juicy and is very tasty; the chestnut mushrooms are nice, well cooked (not slimy) and quartered rather than sliced, allowing you to taste them; the bread was cooked nicely - the toast not burnt and the freid bread not greasy and doesn't shatter when you cut into it. The food is so tasty and really well cooked that you don't need any sauces or extra seasoning.

The second time we went, my girlfriend had the beans on toast and I had the Welsh Rarebit. Again, no condiments are needed as the cheese and the tomatoes have so much flavour and taste that they are all the seasoning you need. This is what good, quality ingredients is all about.

The taste, the quality of the products and the way they're cooked is a testament to the chef and his team.

Last, but not least, is another mention to the manager, Dinnoo. He's very attentive, extremely professional and always offers a warm and friendly greeting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank oMapko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deoraj D, Manager at The Plate, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Hello and can I say a huge thank you for your lovely comments. I hope you will keep coming back sampling your way through our menu! And how about joining us for a party night on New Years Eve?! Do give me a call anytime for details of our party nights, and Christmas menus. Best wishes for a very Happy Christmas. Dinnoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    23
    4
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All round a really lovely place- food, service and ambience”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have been twice now- this second time trying to remember how to find it again!! Not v well signposted but we persisted... The staff are really friendly and helpful and we had 2 different pasta dishes for our lunch- the crayfish and lobster linguine was stunning!! The decor is artistic but for a big barn, it still feels cosy. The art by michael bentley on the walls is sold next door and is not only complementary to the setting, but well worth a visit on its own.
We looked atvthecreviewsvfor bash all barn and we are really glad we found this again first!!! Fab! You must go...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“£12.95 for three excellent lunchtime courses”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Having read several reviews of The Plate and no longer wishing to endure a power cut at home my wife and I decided to go for lunch.
Both of us had the 3 course special for £12.95. We both had the goats cheese starter which was delicious, then followed by crayfish pasta and pork loin steak. After a short break we decided to complete our meal with desserts of an Eton mess and wam lemon drizzle cake.
I have to say that we could not find fault with the friendly efficient service and the top quality, well priced food.
We will most certainly return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJG1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deoraj D, Manager at The Plate, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hi - thanks for your comment. So glad you enjoyed our lunchtime special menu and have taken the time to write about your experience. Do call again and say hello! Dinnoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best Sunday Roast in miles”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a superb place! wow! I love the welcoming & warm atmosphere this restaurant has created.The staff make you feel special and the food! well it beats the Angel at Hetton! well done to the chef who has created the best sunday roast in miles! and puds to die for! We will most definately be visiting more often.
The prices are very reasonable and that makes this place even more special as they have not outpriced themselves and the menu has some good choices. Well done Dinnoo and staff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deoraj D, Manager at The Plate, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hi Angela - thank you so much for your review - our chef is especially delighted at your comments! We look forward to you visiting us again soon - please make sure you let me know in advance if you would like to reserve a table. Kind regards. Dinnoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Exceeds expectations!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a place where the food and service go hand in hand ......excellent! I hope the owners truly appreciate the chef and their Head Waiter.......one without the other would not work they compliment each other......the ambience is lovely the chairs so comfortable, attention to detail and cleanliness exceptional............it is obvious the food is created with tlc it both looks and tastes fabulous and the courteous and warm welcome from Dinnoo make this a lovely dining experience...thank you we look forward to visiting the Plate many more times and wish you continued success

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HERBY55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deoraj D, Manager at The Plate, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hello and thank you for your kind comments. We are working so hard to provide customers with quality food and service in a most beautiful, rural barn conversion here in the Ribble VAlley. Do come again - we'll soon be decorating up for Christmas and the place always looks even more stunning! Best wishes. Dinnoo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plate also viewed

 
Bolton by Bowland, Clitheroe
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing