We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Pub in Clitheroe”
Review of Inn at the Station

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at the Station
Ranked #10 of 22 Clitheroe B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a stylish, comfortable, friendly and warm place to visit if you are in Clitheroe. Positioned directly across from the iconic 'Dawson's', this is a must-visit eatery for the hungry or thirsty visitor. I have never stayed in the hotel, but there are many good reviews. The food is great quality and very reasonably prices. With a variety of seating from chairs and tables to sofas this is the sort of place you could while away hours with friends!
Must mention the staff, they are brilliant at making you comfortable and looked after!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maw747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 170 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed for one night and was very impressed with the room.
Very quiet even though I had a road side room.
Bedrooms are large with ample storage, room was actually very plush. The only thing that let it down was the cleanliness of the bathroom, the shower needed a good bleach as it was black along the edges, pity as the room itself was hotel standard.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaSmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

During our recent day out in Clitheroe, we decided to have our lunch out. As we were coming out of Dawsons store, we saw the Inn at the Station public house across the road, and after looking at the outside menu decided to give it a try.
The interior public area décor whilst in a modern style was somewhat dark and dismal and did not reflect a Christmassy feel.
We both chose the 10oz gammon which also included chunky chips, mushy peas, tomato and a choice of either fried egg or pineapple.
After quite a long wait, the meals eventually arrived but we were not impressed by the presentation as the chunky chips were in fact pieces of potato fried and we were surprised that the meals were served with mushy peas.
Whilst the staff were friendly, they were not engaging and just appeared to be doing their job.
We will not be returning nor recommending this establishment in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kake134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for a wedding in October with three other couples. The others had lovely, newly decorated rooms in duck egg or the superior black in one case.

My husband and I had a poky twin room, with very drab decorations and outer walls which were beginning to show signs of damp. There was a heck of a climb up three staircases to reach it. The saving grace was that the beds were very comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent, too.

The irony is that I was the one who'd made the initial booking, saying I didn't mind twin or double as long as it was a nice room.

Room Tip: You need to be fit for the top floor, but avoid the room called Bristol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noredpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Cannot rate highly enough. I certainly liked Clitheroe but the accommodation at the Inn at the Station made it outstanding. From a very warm welcome on a cold day to being shown a superb and spotlessly clean and well furnished room all set this place up excellently. Breakfast from 8:30 to 9:30 was a bit early but certainly worth while - I love my cooked breakfast and the Inn's was a great addition to the higher charts of cooked breakies around the UK (abroad doesn't count - they never do Black Pudding ;-)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank John_Whelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Nice location Pleasant staff and looked like ideal place for weekend break. . lovely room but now I have to lie awake listening to music banging away in the bar . !
Ok so kids don't go to sleep till afterid midnight but some people do .

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The best thing about the Inn is the staff...very friendly and helpful.
We were three couples, the two rooms at the front were large and airy, the third, at the side, much smaller but charged at the same rate. All the rooms were nicely refurbished and the beds comfortable, but the lighting was very gloomy, not just because various bulbs were missing!
Our room was freezing on arrival as the heating was off, and it took a long time to warm up.
During the night it was wet and windy, and the window frame rattled loudly so our sleep was disturbed.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and enjoyable.
I felt the hotel was overpriced compared with other local options.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clitheroe
0 mi away
The Old Posthouse Hotel
The Old Posthouse Hotel
#3 of 4 in Clitheroe
221 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
4.3 mi away
The Shireburn Arms
The Shireburn Arms
#2 of 4 in Clitheroe
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Waddington Arms
Waddington Arms
#4 of 22 in Clitheroe
265 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Swan Hotel Whalley
The Swan Hotel Whalley
#1 of 1 in Whalley
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fifty One and a Half Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Station

Address: King Street, Clitheroe BB7 2EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Clitheroe
Price Range: $67 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Station 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Victorian building located in the centre of the lovely market town of Clitheroe. Now restored into a smart and stylish modern British Inn. We have seven lovely en-suite guest rooms located on our first and second floors. Individually furnished – we can accommodate families, couples and single guests – catering for business clients and tourists. We serve simple, fresh food in our bar/restaurant – all our meals are homemade, cooked fresh to order and many of our ingredients are sourced from local suppliers. We offer a Children’s menu with healthy, freshly made choices. Our bar is vibrant and well-stocked with a large choice of cask ales and international beers and lagers – awarded Cask Marque status. Our wines are well chosen and our freshly ground coffee is always available with a piece of cake! We have highchairs, baby change and disabled facilities and a small car park is available for our guests. Eat, Sleep, Drink and Meet – you will always be assured of a real warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Inn at the Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Station Hotel Clitheroe
Inn At The Station Clitheroe, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing