We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous wedding venue”
Review of Mitton Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mitton Hall
Ranked #2 of 23 Clitheroe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fabulous wedding venue”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had the good fortune to be invited to my niece's wedding recently. They couldn't have chosen a more atmospheric venue. It was, quite simply, stunning. It is a beautifully preserved Country House set in perfectly manicured gardens and grounds....idyllic! The staff were great and the proceedings ran seamlessly from Midday to Midnight and beyond.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HardyMarsh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    99
    49
    21
    18
See reviews for
131
167
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Really disappointed to be writing a negative review about this place; but feedback required. Me and my husband came along on a recent Friday evening to have a meal in the bar. The bar area was very very quiet, perhaps 2 other couples having drinks. Our gripe was the appalling service throughout our visit. We got a drink and were advised to take a seat at a bar table and someone would be over to bring us menus. From this moment on we were practically ignored. Menus took 15 minutes to come; waitress never bothered to return with soup of day choices; waiter had to be reminded on three occasions to please take our food order...some may wonder why we were still here at this point! Had it not been for the fact we had paid for a nice bottle of wine at the bar, then we would have already just got up and left. From arriving at 8pm, out starters (which was 2 French onion soups) finally arrived at 9:45pm! No warning that there was a huge delay on food which would have dictated whether we ordered in the first place had we have known. By the time out fillet steaks arrived, it was 10:30pm and we were completely past it. Really poor and unprofessional service throughout the whole evening and it has massively put us off. This is even more frustrating given that the place was practically empty in the bar and there was no shortage of young staff members all wandering about doing what looked like not a lot. Given that our bill easily topped up to £95, we felt robbed as we had a stressful evening rather than a dining experience. This is a shame because every other aspect of this establishment is lovely, but once the service becomes this poor it will take something really special for me to ever come back! I am a really fair person and have written a review on Mitton hall in the past which was very complimentary. I was that exasperated by my last visit I didn't have the energy to complain on the night. Trip advisor review was my way of voicing how the experience made us feel.
Not good enough when there is so much other local business to try out.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The wedding was amazing - cant fault that..and there's a beautiful main entrance in the old part of the house.

However, we found the rooms ridiculously small - luckily we didn't have a cat to swing! The bathroom was small again but practical.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamstersndwally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Enjoyed a fabulous Lunch at Mitton Hall recently , it truly was superb . The building itself is set in fabulous grounds and it's interior is mainly period and well maintained . All four in our party chose from the Table D'Hote and were not disappointed . There is a good selection for starter , main and sweet and we enjoyed a starter and a main course with a free glass of bubbly included in the price of £17.95 , which is more than reasonable . The staff were attentive but not overly so and we all felt relaxed and unhurried . Mitton Hall is well worth a visit .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place, great location rooms decent size and very comfy bed. Really friendly helpful staff, nice bar and sun terrace overlooking the green fields and river. Very good price and the breakfast was top notch. Highly recommended

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jimmypeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My family stayed for 2 nights for a friends wedding. Although the wedding was lovely, the hotel experience was extremely disappointing, I'm sad to say. For the price of the rooms we expected a little more. The whole hotel needs a lot of maintenance. Windows were missing hinges, carpet grips not fixed down properly, blinds in the bathroom had to be rolled up manually, doors could do with a lick of paint and the windows need a good clean, which shows especially on a bright sunny day. We stayed in the Princess Suite which is located over the kitchen area. Unfortunately I don't think the extractor has been cleaned and the corridor and room smells of old cooking oil which turned my stomach. Also, as it's an old building there are lots of odd steps every where which made it difficult for some of the older guests. The food from the bar was very nice and we had a mixture of nibbles in the evening. The service from most of the staff was warm and friendly. Unfortunately the waitress at breakfast really needs to get her act together, regarding welcoming people into the dining area and manners. I would have made a complaint if it hadn't been my best friends wedding. There are plenty of seating areas outside but the grounds are not suitable for anyone who struggles walking as they are very steep. All in all, we would never stay here again which is a shame as there are some beautiful parts of the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't pay for an expensive suite and they're not worth the money. Just a basic room would do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSchumacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Mitton Hall's bar menu was suggested to us as the perfect option for a laid-back meal on a Sunday evening. At first I was slightly concerned it might be a very posh, very intimidating sort of place but once inside the gorgeous grounds give way to a comfortable, luxurious interior.

The huge fireplace in the main entrance hall fitted will with the "Scottish castle" feel of the décor and the bar, which is off to the left, was fitted out with all sorts of interesting furniture. Our table in the bay window was a huge goatskin drum!

The food was delicious and really very moderately priced. We were told about any changes to our order (the chef "was not happy" with the Thai crabcakes and so we were asked to choose something else) in good time and this added to my experience of exceptional, friendly service from everybody we met.

The bar was well-stocked (however as rum fans we felt there could have been more of a selection!) and again, moderately priced. It was a thoroughly enjoyable place to sit, eat and chat without feeling overly pressed to be on "best behaviour". Next time I'm sitting by the fire with a brandy and not moving!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clitheroe
2.3 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,061 reviews
2.2 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
229 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
4.1 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitton Hall

Property: Mitton Hall
Address: Near Whalley | Mitton Road, Clitheroe BB7 9PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Clitheroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mitton Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star country house hotel providing luxury accommodation at the heart of the fabulous Ribble Valley. Our big idea for bringing this magnificent 15th Century manor house back to life was to take it back to its roots and make it feel like a home again. Somewhere that looks and feels like it belongs to somebody. Stunning interior design and decoration perfectly complement the ancient architectural features to create a contemporary country house hotel. Both effortlessly beautiful and unashamedly romantic. The ambience is quite unique. It is certainly luxurious and feels exclusive but the luxury and exclusivity are open to all. From a relaxing morning coffee or afternoon tea, to lunch or dinner and for everything in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Mitton Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitton Hall Hotel Clitheroe
Mitton Hall Clitheroe, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing