We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding stay”
Review of Mitton Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mitton Hall
Ranked #2 of 24 Clitheroe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wedding stay”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Dissapointing!
Wedding stay
Firstly, Lovely building, plenty parking, huge potential, rooms relativley nice with good shower facility, nice rear views, Food nice enough with the exception of starter which was laced in excessive garlic dressing
On arrival, Barely greeted, No early check in available for wedding Guests Needing to change at 11am for 12pm service. Earliest check in 3pm
Wedding co-ordinator too loud and better suited to a working mans club. not suited to this Establishment.
Small farm type yard? within grounds, Noisy Dogs at times both there and across the road, allthough the ones across the road are a fair distance away from the Hotel
Some Inexperienced Bar staff, some cocktails unavailable
Worst of all, Woken up at exactly 4am by tables and chairs being moved in the function room beneath the majority of Guest rooms, highly inconsiderate, this lasted for over 30 minutes. Needless and ameautrish.
Oh and if someone could clean the stains on the coveing above and to the right of where Couples get married that would be great!
At £95 for two people bed and breakfast had it not been for the dissapointments, I could otherwise recommend it.
Felt an inpersonal affair for such a special day. Unfortunate for such a nice place with huge potential.
Bad management?

Room Tip: Avoid being above rear function room if thats possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    98
    49
    21
    18
See reviews for
130
165
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Mitton Hall is brilliant, great food, lovely rooms and helpful staff and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noodle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Fabulous venue with 1st class service from all the staff especially the manager Olivier. Excellent food. Can highly recommend this beautiful country hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyceBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed overnight as guests at a family clebebration.The whole experience was excellent;delicious food efficiently served in splendid surroundings.The service at the hotel was welcoming and relaxed and the rooms were comfortable and well appointed. All this in a fabulous country manor house set in the beautiful Ribble valley.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Went here for afternoon tea for my birthday,was very nice good sandwiches and scones with homemade jam and clotted cream,was a little disappointed with cake selection,which wasnt very varied and consisted mostly of sponge cake and biscuits.

Great champagne,strawberrys and tea, gorgeous place and lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauren j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We chose Mitton Hall for our daughter's wedding reception last May and it was SUPERB!!! I can honestly say that there wasn't anything that was too much trouble for them. Vicky the wedding planner is an absolute treasure who kept everyone calm and on track. I am a very organised person and she pointed me in the right direction and did everything and more that we wanted. We had several meetings with her and she e-mailed me the room plan so that I could organise seating etc and lots of other info too.
The food was magnificent, we chose the duck starter and a lamb main and it really was the very best wedding food I have ever had. All of our guests, and they were many and from all over the country and beyond, raved about how lovely it was. The general comment from our daughter's friends many of whom were getting married themselves either later on in the year or this year was "We can't compete with this!!"
The grounds are beautiful... unfortunately it rained on our day but the photos are still fantastic as the inside reception area around the fire and grand piano were perfect for them.
We booked all of the rooms in the hotel for our guests to stay the night. Some of the suites are pricey but gorgeous, and for a special occasion worth it! The ordinary rooms are a fair price I think.
I have since recommended the place to several friends and aquaintances and indeed one of my younger daughters friends is having her wedding here in August on our recommendation!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Called in here for a light lunch recently, the second time I've been.
This time I had a bite from the tapas menu which included small locally produced sausages, home made hummus, bruschetta, etc etc
All delicious and excellent value for money
Would love to see the rooms but everytime I go they are booked so I can never see them which I suppose is a good thing in itself

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meddlingmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clitheroe
2.0 mi away
The Shireburn Arms
The Shireburn Arms
#2 of 4 in Clitheroe
290 reviews
2.3 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,048 reviews
2.2 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
1.6 mi away
The Avenue Hotel at Brockhall
6.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitton Hall

Property: Mitton Hall
Address: Near Whalley | Mitton Road, Clitheroe BB7 9PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clitheroe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Clitheroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mitton Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star country house hotel providing luxury accommodation at the heart of the fabulous Ribble Valley. Our big idea for bringing this magnificent 15th Century manor house back to life was to take it back to its roots and make it feel like a home again. Somewhere that looks and feels like it belongs to somebody. Stunning interior design and decoration perfectly complement the ancient architectural features to create a contemporary country house hotel. Both effortlessly beautiful and unashamedly romantic. The ambience is quite unique. It is certainly luxurious and feels exclusive but the luxury and exclusivity are open to all. From a relaxing morning coffee or afternoon tea, to lunch or dinner and for everything in between. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Mitton Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitton Hall Hotel Clitheroe
Mitton Hall Clitheroe, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing