We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A Proper Village Pub, The Hub of the Community” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buck Country Pub

Buck Country Pub
Ranked #18 of 133 Restaurants in Clitheroe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A Great British Country Pub nestled in the Ribble Valley overlooked by Pendle Hill in the most Idylic Hamlet called Paythorne. A real Country Pub owned by the same family for nearly twenty years and one of Ribble Valley's longest serving landlady's. We welcome everyone from walkers, cyclist, dog owners and especially familes. So whenever you are in the area do make sure to call in and say hello. Situated off the A682 between Gisburn and Long Preston. The Buck Country Pub. The Perfect Pint, Remarkable Food and Always a Warm Welcome.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“"A Proper Village Pub, The Hub of the Community”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a proper village pub serving good quality home-cooked food and real ales, I had four pints of Copper Dragon and it was the best beer I have had for a long time. We all got a friendly welcome when we arrived and the staff were very chatty all night. There is a games area with pool table, darts and domino's, plenty of comfy seats in the lounge area and the dining room was bright and clean. There is a good variety on the menu, I can recommend the Black pudding with mustard sauce and the 16 oz Gammon with 3 eggs, my son had the same starter and then the whale with chips and mushy peas and my wife had the baked haddock with a prawn and lobster sauce, all the food was very well presented and all very tasty. They also have quiz nights every Friday and entertainment once a month on Saturday nights.
You can always check whats on by facebook (Buck inn Paythorne) or Website (www.paythrone.com)
As they say Visit as a stranger, leave as a friend !!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dewhurst121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    19
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Settle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The difference isn't clear”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Although the pub was quite nice and most of the people pleasant...
A pint of Copper Dragon, IPA I think it was, cloudy and undrinkable. This was replaced by another pint of the same, cloudy and undrinkable, without even tasting it. Yet another pint of same still cloudy and undrinkable. All three served in glasses with a logo "Clear Beer".
Eventually, was served a pint of John Smiths from a new barrel, have you ever had a pint that tastes like gone off fish. I didn't bother to complain after that.
Well we won the domino match but having had to spend the night without a drink, return, I shall not.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buck9601, Owner at Buck Country Pub, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Firstly we are simply devastated about the review as we go above and beyond to make sure customers leave happy, however in this case we got it completely wrong. We have tried desperately to try and make amends with the gentlemen and have fallen on deaf ears, we would be more than happy to have him come back and try us again. What really hurts is he has never returned our message and I notice this is the one and only review he has written. What a shame because we generally have such a great relationship with customers and this one got away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic quality Food & service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Buck Inn offers its guests glorious home cooked food, in a tranquil, country environment, with welcoming service. They offer an extensive menu which has a selection of locally sourced meats and meals that are all home cooked. The wine and ales are also brilliant and there is always something to cater to every body. The restaurant is constantly busy, which is a sign of excellence, i'd advise you to book prior to going to avoid any dissapointment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank victoria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food with attitude”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Vatiety of food,good quality and value, comfortable casual dining areas,helpful friendly staff, dogs welcome,well stocked bar

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank june s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“freindly staff excellent foo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a lovley traditional pub, The food was excellent,huge potions at a price that suites most pockets. Highly recommended/

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbm077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buck Country Pub also viewed

Newton-in-Bowland, Clitheroe
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Waddington, Clitheroe
 

Been to Buck Country Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing