We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,713)
Filter reviews
1,713 results
Traveler rating
522
534
338
175
144
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
534
338
175
144
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room the main hotel leisure facilities privilege room following morning evening meal courtyard room wedding venue my partner bar prices enjoyable stay couldn't fault food was lovely good nights sleep family room full english blackburn
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,713 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

Love this place food and spa plus the staff are jst great. Spas absolutely the best. Love the old building which is kept very clean and tidy. Lovely breakfast be back soon as possible thsnk you so much for ur hospitality.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank willobungu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dearwillobungu01,

You are most welcome, thank you for taking time to post your review,

Kind Regards,

Ivan Lynch,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

We stayed here one night to visit Blackburn Cathedral. It certainly is a magnificent hotel. At check in we were given instructions to our room which did not include telling us that our room was at the very far right end and up two floors. It would have helped to have been advised that there was a lift in the middle that we could have used than going up two floors with suitcases. As a loyalty member I usually am offered welcome drinks which I was not on this occasion until reminded. The hotel is located on the east of Blackburn. There are no restaurants around so the choice is the hotel restaurant or going into town which would take fifteen minutes or so. There were many conferences on that day so we decided to go out. We thought that we had made the right decision because when we came back for a drink at the bar which is adjacent to the restaurant, it was packed with guests trying to find seats. We finally managed to secure seats but then it took a while to be served as the staff were so busy with so many guests. Overall the hotel has everything one would expect from a hotel of this level in the countryside. We were happy to enjoy a good and comfortable night’s stay.

  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomizuta1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Dear Tomizuta1953,

Thank you for taking time to post your review, sorry to see you had to wait for a seat in the bar area, it flows and ebbs with the levels of business especially when there are larger events on and can sometimes be difficult to gauge traffic. Delighted to see you enjoyed a comfortable nights stay, we will hopefully see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ivan Lynch,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Just arrived from the latest HH werkend re: Pendle Hill 5-7oct ...WOW !!!!!! what a marvelous weekend ...steeped in history..intrigue...fear...luxury and hosted by two remarkable guides Sally and Kerry who were awesome ...they made the trip and are assets to HH. A MUST GO for all those interested in ghost hunting ...history....a luxury stay in the Mercure with fab comfort, cleanliness, its own history, fab service with personal thanks to Nicole who organised the groups dining experience and Francesca who looked after us at breakfast meals .... all makes for a fab weekend ...THANK YOU HH AND CO

Stayed: October 2018, traveled with friends
2  Thank ptdiscenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Dear ptdiscenza,

Delight you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the wonderful review.

Kind Regards,

Ivan Lynch,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

One night spa break stay here for my friends 60th. Upon arrival the room wasn’t quite ready so we were given a complementary drink in the bar. Room was perfect for the three of us ladies, very clean and good WiFi. Pool and facilities were well maintained and spotless. Three course meal in the evening was exceptional and the waitress Nicole was very welcoming and courteous. When she knew we were celebrating a 60th she got the kitchen to present a little cake with a candle...lovely touch. Breakfast was delicious with a late check out time. The rest of the staff we encountered were so friendly, obliging and a credit to the business. Overall a fantastic experience and a great birthday present for my friend. A huge thank you from Caron, Rachel and the birthday girl Lesley.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CaronIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Dear Caronlan,

Belated Happy Birthday to Lesley, we are delighted you all enjoyed your pampering and stay, I shall pass on your thanks to Nicole, she will appreciate it, thank you for taking time to post your review.

Kind Regards,

Ivan Lynch,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Great luxurious spa facilities. the large sauna is the hottest. Good gym and extensive equipment.
Lovely friendly, helpful staff, nothing was any trouble for them even when it was obvious how busy they were. Good variety and quality food. Home made cakes! Spacious well equipped room with everything you could possibly need. Pleasant country surroundings, you will need a car.
A very well managed hotel especially for a conference.

Stayed: September 2018
3  Thank Ruthy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Dear Ruthy63,

We really appreciate you feedback, thank you,

Kind Regards,

Ivan Lynch,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews