We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“30th Wedding Anniversary Dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“30th Wedding Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on Saturday26th April for the above mentioned function. The view on arrival was stunning and booking in was fast and pleasant. Room was ok but looking a little tired.
Bar Service was excellent and the service during and after the meal was top notch. The Meal was quite superb and enjoyed the whole evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Your comments are appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel if you are returning to the area
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    447
    282
    142
    109
See reviews for
277
445
50
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights for business. Food was expensive £38 for room service steak chips and an ice cream with £5 tray charge. Room spacious bath and deprecate shower. Sky sports in room. Spa is excellent numerous saunas and steam room I would recommend using the big sauna. Staff were really friendly even though the cleaning staff broke my iphone charger the hotel replaced. Free wifi available as well. I don't really have any faults with the hotel think it is good but not very good. Would return privately with the family.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Deanjohnson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to point out however that the prices stated are inaccurate. Our most expensive steak, is priced at £22.95, which includes your choice of sauce and chunky chips. A selcetion of ice creams or sorbets is priced at £3.95. I do not think these prices are overly excessive. A room charge is standard practice across the industry. If you believe you have been over-charged, please contact me directly and I will look in to it.

I am pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay.

Yours sincerely

Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Dunkenhalgh for work and stay was very relaxing, hotel is massive but clean and comfortable but best aspect were the staff who were top notch only gripe was menu was uninspiring but food was fine.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for providing feedback. I will make sure that we share your comments with the team. The new menu has just been put in to the restaurant. Hopefully once the team get comfortable with it, we can expand and offer some more imaginative specials, to offer a little more choice
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

A super old building that has had "additions" over the years (mainly 70s and 80s I think). Bedroom a very long way from reception, and very cold. Ok otherwise, and clean and tidy. Staff very friendly and a dinner for 80+ was very good. Breakfast was excellent. It needs tidying up in places but the overall welcome is very good.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for providing feedback. Your comments are appreciated. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Just back from our third stay. We were up for a family party. As ever we cannot fault the wonderful welcome and service we received. lovely quickly served dinner despite the hotel being busy. The rooms were great value and I love the health spa. The breakfast was good, hot varied and plentiful and served with a smile. The function was wonderful and everything went smoothly. Would recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are appreciated and I shall share them with the team. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

A FOUR star hotel with apparently no tea or coffee making facilities. What's that about? I've stayed in hotels all over the world and never had that. Although we did find them, not on the dresser, but in a wardrobe......as we left in the morning. Why hide them? Is it co-incidence they are hidden but room service can be ordered (at extra cost) for a cup of tea?

The hotel looks nice but to be woken up by housekeepers knocking on, and slamming, every door and shouting "HOUSEKEEPING" when you're trying to sleep is NOT appreciated. It's only my wife restraining me that stopped me opening the door and exchanging opinions that prevented a riot! Not everyone wants to be up early on their day off!!

If you want breakfast delivered to your room (so you don't shout at staff for waking you up early!), it's nearly £44 a couple! For that, I'd expect Jamie Oliver cooking it fresh in my room! How can that ever be justified??

Not a great selection of breakfasts for vegetarians.

A king sized bed is great, except that it appeared to be two pushed together, with a gap I fell down when I rolled over to snuggle the wife. We either slept two feet apart or shared one matress. What's that about?

And before the usual PR spinning, it's just a Hypnos bed......exactly the same as used in Premier Travel Inns all over the UK. I should know, I used to deliver and install them for Travel Inns!

If you want bragging rights that you've stayed in a 4* hotel and Spa, feel free to do so. If you want to sleep in the same sort of bed, cheaper and not get woken up by inconsiderate staff......use a Travel Inn!

Over-rated, over-priced, uncomfortable and inconsiderate staff. Need I go on??

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dangerousdavecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your opinions. I will take your feedback constructively and make changes where they are required
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clayton le Moors hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed here Easter weekend 2014 with my husband and 4 month baby daughter. We were part of 90th birthday celebrations for a family member.
The hotel was good in lots of ways, including
* Friendly and helpful staff . A waitress called Alice who was present at all of the meals and drinks was particularly friendly.
* Spa facilities were good.
* Breakfast had a good variety of different dishes.
* dinner on Saturday evening was good.
* meal as part of 90th celebrations was of a good standard.

However,
there are a few things the hotel need to do to improve:
* The room we were allocated in the courtyard area (room 47) was very small, particularly as we also had a cot in there.
* Corridor smelt of smoke even though it was non-smoking rooms.
* Bathroom very small, particularly for two adults and a baby.
* paintwork on wood in bathroom chipping off.
* Water not very hot, had to run only hot tap and it was still just luke warm.
* Curtains frayed and part falling off the bottom.

* We were woken up at 3am by a drunken guest (night of Easter Sunday) trying to get into their room, after half an hour of drunken banging and shouting we called reception to ask them to sort out. Credit to the hotel the young night porter came up very quickly and sorted out the problem immediately.

We did enjoy our stay at Dunkenhalgh but just feel we paid a lot for a small room which needed a lot of work doing to it.

Thank you to the friendly staff at the weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a spacious room in the main hotel. The court yard rooms seem to be very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlysN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I have responded to your email to our in house guest satisfaction survey. As I said there, I am sorry that you were not allocated a larger room, but I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton le Moors
5.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Clayton le Moors
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.6 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
3.4 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Property: Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton le Moors BB5 5JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton le Moors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Clayton le Moors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa Clayton Le Moors, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing