We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Showers dont work in spa no cold water to drink seen a couple of spiders dirty nothing works properly verry verry dissapointed its a 1 star not 4 star people in pool fully clothed one of steam room smelt it was awful place needs closing and given a good clean and given a 1 star it deserves

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank kselina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for providing feedback. I would like to speak to you personally about your experience. If you would like to do so, please call me at the hotel. I am sorry to hear that your opinion of the Spa is so poor. We have a plenty of guests who provide us with excellent feedback in regards to their experiences with us. I am sorry that you were dissatisfied, but I will take your comments on board and share them with the team, making the improvements required
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,028 - 1,034 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

My friend and I went for Afternoon Tea here last Monday. First it was very quiet and no one else eating(it was 3pm!)Then a coach party arrived but all disappeared to their rooms. Next a wedding party started arriving at 3pm and were still arriving when we left at 5pm.As it was so warm we sat on the lawn at the front of the hotel at a wooden bench set. We had a glass of prosecco to start(with nibbles) then tea and coffee(with biscuits) and finally prawn/lamb sandwiches ,chocolate eclairs, scones and fruit and chocolate cake. There was so much that we had to leave some cake but took the biscuits! More coffee arrived half way through the experience. Everything was very well presented. Loved the strawberries and blackberries as garnish.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mosiebolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for providing feedback. It is a pleasure to hear such positive comments. I hope to welcome you again in the future
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Chinchilla64
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel looks nice but definetly not a 4 star. Having stayed in many 4 stars and budget hotels, I would say that this hotel is overpriced. My two days stay here with extended family in 2 rooms was well below the expectations. Forget Marriot, it won't even compare with premier in for room facilities.

1. No air condition: You had to sleep with the windows open.How can they expect the guests to have a peaceful night with the windows opened towards a garden where they have wedding parties all night? Seriously, what were they thinking?I had to ask my daughter wear ear plugs so that she can sleep with all the party noise.I complained and asked for a room with air condition. The reply I got from the reception staff was that none of their rooms are air conditioned.

2. No wifi in the rooms. Not even an option to buy wifi facilities for additional charge.

3. Mattress was not a double mattress. It was two single mattresses joined up together. I could feel the gap in between. When I asked the staff,if they could change it to a double, they said that all the rooms are this way.Wow!!!!

4. When we checked out, our bill was over charged for nearly £200.good things we checked the it.

Just two good thngs: The housekeeping staff were wonderful and the spa was ok.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeedsTVLGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for providing feedback. I am disappointed to read your comments. I am sorry that the team did not do more to ensure your comfort during your stay. I will follow up your feedback personally. I am sorry that your stay was not as it should have been. If you would like to speak with me further, please contact me directly at the hotel and I shall listen to your feedback
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lych
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A great location, looks great on the website, even looked great arriving, such a shame that so many little things let the hotel down so badly. Only one major issue a lovely cold shower in the morning for my wife and I but added to the raft of little issues left feeling cheated and very disappointed especially since we had an executive room so what where the standard rooms like?

Cold shower! Lovely way to start the day.

Room service - they ran out of an item as part of a dish and didn't let us know to choose an alternative when we pointed out the missing item there was an attitude of 'and what's the problem''

Incorrect directions to breakfast sent us to the wrong room to find a notice sending us to a suite, but no directions on where that suite was not an issue in a small hotel but certainly one in a rambling hotel such as this.

In the shower there was paint peeling from the ceiling in the shower cubicle and the vent next to the paint which I confess I would not normally notice, but the paint made it very noticeable that it had never been cleaned.

The throw pillows (is that the correct word for those annoying little pillows left on beds?) where stained and dirty.

In the bar asked for a large bottle of fizzy water was told non available, after asking if there was any elsewhere was grudgingly provided a large bottle of flat water.

Talked to the duty manager the following morning, ''sorry we will send an engineer to look at the shower but we where busy last night!''.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MarkC57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Guest
I am sorry to hear that your experience did not meet with expectations. It is disappointing to hear that there were problems that were not resolved properly during your stay. I will share your comments with the team and make improvements where required.
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Myself and my wife were very lucky to get married here, and the overall experience was fantastic.

The wedding planner was attentive, the master of ceremonies anticipated all my questions, and already had solutions.

The food was amazing, the rooms were great.

All the guests were impressed, and everyone though it should have cost more than it did.

Check it out, its great :)

Room Tip: Bridal suite is not disturbed ;o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matarget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I will share your comments with the team. I am delighted that you had such a positive experience. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Very pleased overall with my 2 day stay. My room was nice and clean albeit a little dark but quiet with nice view of fields. The maids even neatly placed my Daughters animals on the bed! Thank you :)
The breakfast staff were very helpful and you had a good choice. We stayed for a wedding and it was very nicely done in my opinion. Bar staff very good! The only minor gripe would be the reception staff who although efficient were I felt lacking in intregety and warmth. First impressions count especially after a very long journey. I would stay there again and the spa was good and staff very helpfull. Very good overall.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roomforasmallone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to hear that your experience was a positive one. I hope to welcome you back in the future
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton le Moors
1 mi away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Clayton le Moors
271 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf Club
4.1 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
259 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
5.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton le Moors BB5 5JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton le Moors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Clayton le Moors
Price Range: $73 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa Clayton Le Moors, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing