We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good sized family room. Rambling property so distances between rooms, dining and leisure but good (if smallish) pool facility. Dinner service in bar OK though quite expensive - bar prices seem excessive though a reasonable medium sized glass of wine on offer / special at £5, so look out for 'bargains'. Good breakfast in the morning though lags behind the best Hilton, Hol Inn or Macdonald offerings. Friendly staff, ok/good service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,487)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,487 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Mercure Dunkenhalgh for our friend’s wedding reception. On arrival we were impressed by the grounds and the building itself. Check in was swift and our family room was modern and large with a huge king size bed and a single bed for our daughter.

The food at the wedding breakfast was out of this world, the ice cream that came with my daughters jelly was possibly the best I’ve ever tasted. The staff were very efficient, they arranged alternative dishes for me as I’m pregnant and were quick to clear away plates and empty drinks.

Breakfast was served in a separate room for the wedding party, again the surroundings were beautiful and breakfast itself was served in a wooden panelled room which was truly unique. We didn’t use the leisure facilities as my husband had come down with flu but we would love to stay here again. The only problem we had was with the shower in room 90 as the pressure was terrible but that was my only fault with the hotel.

Would highly recommend this place to friends – stunning (and didn’t cost the earth)!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for providing feedback. I was pleased to hear that you had a really positive experience. I hope to welcome you back in the future. I will get our maintenance team to look at the shower pressure. Thanks again for comments
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

the room was gorgeous the staff were friendly and very attentive the food was amazing especially breakfast. we also had treatments at the spa included in the price of our stay which was very relaxing and exactly what i needed. i did not want to go home and cant wait to book again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Foods amazing. Luxurious room with all the extras you would wish for. Add in swim spa + steam for perfect weekend.
Can't wait to return.
Perfect for relaxing girly weekend, anniversary treats or just because u want to

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandiford101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your feedback. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Booked this Hotel as part of our 40th Wedding Anniversary trip from our house in France to see friends in South Lakeland. The room was dirty with food on the floor, bed torn,bathroom covered in mold, extractor not working, holes in walls, curtains falling down, no chair for the dressing table, dirty cutlery at evening dinner and that's just the main problems. Despite a 50% room reduction would have preferred a cleaner etc. or a change of room. Wrote to the General Manager and recieved a photo copied letter in reply! Disgusting advert for the UK Hotel industry!

Room Tip: Do not even consider this one!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robbobjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. I accept that you had a poor experience on this occasion. I am sorry that your stay was not to your expectations. We did try to compensate you at the time and did try to move rooms, but as the hotel was busy were unable to do so.
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Bigger than average rooms for the UK -at least in the "new" wing. Three levels of rooms: standard, executive and premier. The executive and premier are in the "new" wing -elevator to all floors. The older, historic house requires walking the stairs and difficult for someone with a disability.

Contrary to previous reviewers, the staff were very(!) friendly and helpful with one exception --but there always is one, isn't there.

My obsession for internet in my room required an upgrade to an executive room in the new wing at an additional 15 GBP/night. A further upgrade at 25GBP/night brings more free water and a mini-bar and possibly bigger room(?). Free Internet throughout but only guaranteed wireless for lounge and common areas unless upgraded.

Note that all the upgraded rooms are in the "new" wing which means a long walk with a stroll outside to reach the main house and dinning area -in March it was brisk but bearable. The upgraded rooms are furthest from the Spa and another excursion to the outside from the main building.

The spa is fantastic. Pool is warm and big. Saunas hot and comfy. Weight room and exercise area above average. Nice cafe and variety of beverages.

Bar is comfortable. Drinks are pricey -glass of Guiness for £4.50 ($7) -hey, this ain't America, tone it down. A bottle of okay French red wine £20 ($30), clearly a recession-proof bar.

If you need to be in this area this is a good choice. The small villages nearby are very charming and worth visiting. Manchester is 45mins away --get a GPS (SatNav) or you'll never get there!

Room Tip: Upgrade the room for the Internet!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were so lucky to have experienced the best service and quality when we stayed and shared our wedding at the Dunkenhalgh last weekend. Simon, Kelly and the team made sure that our day was true perfection and that it was enjoyed by all. Food was excellent, even when catering for large numbers, breakfast was equally brilliant the next day. The day of the wedding the room was just beautiful. We would recommend using the hotel for your wedding!

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms are really special! We stayed in the Thomas rishon bridal suite!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive comments. I will share your feedback with the team and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future,
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton le Moors
3.4 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
239 reviews
5.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Clayton le Moors
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
7.4 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
3.4 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton le Moors BB5 5JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton le Moors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Clayton le Moors
Price Range: $72 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa Clayton Le Moors, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing