We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Some of the staff here are excellent and some need some customer service training. Our room was located in the modern part of the hotel which was very very noisy, with room doors banging and lift doors closing, other guests making noise as the hotel is used for many work conference courses etc. The car park has many pot holes and not enough parking spots for the amount of cars. The spa and pool facilities are open to non guests so they also use the parking and use of the pool is not enjoyable due to too many using the facilities. We ordered a meal in the bar restaurant, to be told after fifteen minutes after ordering, that they had run out of steak and ale pies. This is early dining with hardly anybody in the restaurant. We then placed another order and this was mixed up eventuating in three us us getting our meal and one didn't, three of us had finished our meals before the fourth finally turned up, after asking twice, this was delivered with a very casual. "sorry about that" . The burgers where not good quality and very very peppery a few chips and a few lettuce leaves very basic. Breakfast was greasy in all the hotels we stayed in this was the worst breakfast and the only one that served margarine with the toast and not butter, all the others had a choice of both.I ordered a newspaper for one day only, got the wrong paper and got two and charged for two. The housekeeping left a trolley outside our door in corridor permanently, and laundry bags on the floor all the time in the same corridor. We had a large group of family come to see us and have a drink in open public bar but was moved from room to room as there was large group of us, eventually we where given a private room as a favour and bar opened for us. This was good but the attitude of the duty manager was not very professional or friendly.We could have left and given our business to a local pub, I stress this was a family get together not loud rowdy or noisy, and the bar is an open bar not closed to non residents. We also made reception aware that we would be expecting family to visit us earlier that day and was told that this was great and we could use a private bar room.
To sum up would I stay there again a definite NO.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your feedback. As discussed with you in correspondance direct with the hotel, I am sorry that you were not fully satisfied. I take on board many of your comments and will be addressing issues with personnel over the coming days,
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,487)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,074 - 1,080 of 1,487 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

First we arrived they did not have our booking sorted. Then we were put in a room with no electric due to blowen fuse. Kettle kept in cubord bit strange so went to make a cup of tea to find we had 1 sachea of hot choc between 2 of us? Not 4* standard other then that was ok very dated rooms old fashioned quite tatty in places, and 2 steam rooms not working in spa

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for providing feedback. I was disappointed to hear there was an issue with the booking. The hotel has a variety of rooms with modern decor and more classic styles. I am sorry that you felt the room not up to standard. We have an ongoing refurbishment schedule for 2013, so hopefully we will be able to improve in the future. The steam rooms were off for one day in February to enable some essential maintenance to be undertaken. I am sorry that you did not get the benefit of them during your stay.
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed in the Dunkanhaigh whilst working in Blackburn for a total of 4 weeks between October 2012 and January 2013 and found the hotel and staff very pleasant. The rooms I stayed in were all in the new part of the hotel away from the main building accessed by walking outside the back of the hotel and back into an annex. The rooms were all a standard layout and of a good size, but in some the fittings were a little shabby. The food was very good with excellent choices for breakfast and dinner. Overall the hotel was very good and most staff very helpful.

Room Tip: If you need access to wifi in your room when staying in the hotel, ask for a code from reception and...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henllys_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you may use us again should you be returning to the area in the future.
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Breakfast was fine and service at the restaurant. The young man a the the reception great.
Nice views from the windows. But, the rooms not exactly appealing. Very average. Double bed not comfortable, carpets old looking, could hear someone...vomiting in a bathroom next door. The swimming pool not in the same building...Maybe for British standards not too bad but certainly overpriced for the international expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apolnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dea Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I will share your comments with the team and try to ensure that the areas of concern are addressed.
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Cockroaches in all the rooms above the kitchen, god knows what the actual kitchen is like. I've stayed in around 15 different rooms here through work. Hot water works 50% of the time. Only 1/2 plugs in the rooms, rarely any at bedside table. Rooms above kitchen and leisure centre are uncomfortably hot. Staff are helpful and friendly but hotel standard is nowhere near the claimed 4 stars.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tamalamadingdong89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. If you would like to introduce yourself to me on your next visit, I will happily spend some time running through the problems outlined. I would certainly like to speak with you about your comments and address areas concerned.
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Easy to find location. Friendly staff, impressive building with comtemporary decor and furiniture. Fab room, very clean and tidy, plenty of robes and bath towels in room. Superb choice of food, wide variety of wines, prices same as normal restaurants, not inflated. Breakfast plentiful from hot food to yoghurts and fruit. Spa pool clean and temprature just right, relaxing chairs availble around pool and inside sauna area, variety of sauna and steam rooms, ice and water readily available.

Only one drawback and that was we had to walk outide from the main hotel into the spa , only 20 yards, but the wind was icey cold.

Very impressed will definitely go again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am pleased that you were impressed with the facilities and service. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I spent a full day here at my sisters wedding. I was very excited about going as iv drove many times wondering what it like inside as it looks out standing from the road. But it boiled down to this opinion.
Very expensive!
Rude staff!
Filthy
Dated!
But the breakfast was very good!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry that this is your opinion of the hotel and the services provided. It is certainly not the over-riding feeling that we get from many differing forms of feedback. I am sorry if the experience was a poor one. I would welcome the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton le Moors
3.4 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
239 reviews
5.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Clayton le Moors
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
7.4 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
3.4 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton le Moors BB5 5JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton le Moors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Clayton le Moors
Price Range: $72 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa Clayton Le Moors, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing