We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to the stand you would expect from a hotel of this caliber.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not up to the stand you would expect from a hotel of this caliber.”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I spent a full day here at my sisters wedding. I was very excited about going as iv drove many times wondering what it like inside as it looks out standing from the road. But it boiled down to this opinion.
Very expensive!
Rude staff!
Filthy
Dated!
But the breakfast was very good!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry that this is your opinion of the hotel and the services provided. It is certainly not the over-riding feeling that we get from many differing forms of feedback. I am sorry if the experience was a poor one. I would welcome the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    452
    287
    145
    113
See reviews for
282
451
50
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We enjoyed a relaxing spa break for 2 nights recently, food was excellent, all staff were very polite and helpful,massage and facial we had in the spa were lovely,will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ness21866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest
It's nice to hear such positive feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Excellent warm welcome on a chilly night. Good service throughout, comfy bed, easily adjustable heating controls; couldn't fault it. Value for money & ideal for business users, definitely would use again if up that way.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I hope to welcome you back in the future
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was charged £98 for a single room or should I say "A box room" my view from the window was a portacabin! I was then upgraded to a double room as I wasn't happy! The upgraded room wasn't any better there was no handle on the window to lock it.......so I didn't feel secure, thing is you can purchase a handle out of B&Q for around £5 so i really don't understand why a 4 star hotel would present themselves in this manner. There was cobwebs on the ceiling, there was also cracks and water marks on the walls which indicated there was dampness in the walls. The hygiene bag holder in the toilet was dirty and the case/bag stand had some sort of white sticky substance all over it....not sure what is was! The room only prices are a lot higher than most popular hotels out there....I think this hotel have a god dam cheek to charge the prices they do when their standards are well below par. Oh and one more thing I had one Normal t- bag the rest were earl grey or flavoured. Rant Over!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that your experience was not a positive one. Please allow me to express my sincere apologies. I will have a look at your comments individually and address the areas of concern with our maintenance team.
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clayton le Moors hotels

Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here at probably the hotels busiest time of year; on a Saturday night in the height of summer and they were hosting three weddings that day. As such it was ridiculously busy and the big free carpark was almost full. After walking for what seemed like ages, climbing lots of stairs we arrived in our little room set away from the main entrance. It was above a courtyeard and away from the noise of the weddings so we had a great nights sleep. The room was comfortable and we were felt we got good value for money. This is a huge hotel which has a lot of character and history (and ghosts supposedly!) Well worth going for a dip in the lovely pool and relaxing in one of the bars. Breakfast was good but can only be described as absolute chaos. There werent enough staff on to cope with the demands and had to wait awhile for food. The sheer volume of guests was perhaps too much. There was also a long wait to check out as one of the wedding party was in front of us. We didnt mind, to the hotels credit, it was a lovely atmosphere and apart from breakfast we didn't feel overcrowded. I'd love to stay again when it is a lot less busy.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if staying when there is a wedding on so you are away from the noise of the dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments. I'm sure others will find them helpful.
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Dunkenhalgh Hotel is the perfect mix of facilities service quality and location. The restaurant is of a very high standard, and the bar has the ideal atmosphere for less formal dining. The spa facilities are equal to anything available in establishments three times the price. I scored the spa at 4/5 , but when the ceiling over the pool gets a refurb it will get a 5. Great choice, great range of facilities in the spa, a real chill out area.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms , I prefer one in the main building Room 92 is my current favourite and not i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stopped here for business for 1 night. This is the second time in a month i have stopped here. The first time was good but this time the hotel let it self down in terms of room.

Check in was smooth and the lady very well organised and was booking our whole group of 7 in all in one go. This time i was given a courtyard room (40). No problem there until I opened the door.

Once opened you got the distinct smell of damp. I'm not fussy so i thought for 1 night i can live with that. The heating was on full blast, didn't mind as i was walking in from the freezing cold outside. I imagined it was on to help sort the damp issue. The room disappointed me. It had 2 single beds squashed together with no attempt to make it into a double by zip linking it and putting a double mattress topper on it. The whole room could do with painting, with paint flaking off around plug sockets and fittings. Tv took an age to decide to work. the iron in the room had seen better days with the steam option having a mind of its own. In room tea and coffee had not been replenished properly, no biscuits which all my colleagues had in there rooms..

Minor things I know so I decided to have a shower before going for a meal in the restaurant. turned the shower on, no hot water considering the radiator in the bed room is too hot to touch so i ran the bath taps and sink taps for a good few minutes still no hot water.

I contacted reception, again the lady was great said the duty manager would be straight there, 2 minutes later he was there, sorry can't remember the guys name but his service was excellent. He proceeded to run the shower again, bath taps and sink taps at full blast while telling me sometimes these rooms need to let the water run before the hot appears. few minutes later bingo we have hot water, having wasted enough to water half the southern sub Sahara region.

Washed and out for dinner . Both times i have found the bar area and restaurant to be good. Previously, my friends ordered the lamb dish which was inedible but again i went for steak which was again excellent, cooked to my liking. Only issue i had was with the starter, Ordered garlic bread with oils and balasmic dip. Took a piece of bread dipped it in the oil and vinegar took a bite and was taken a back at the mustard taste i got. Finished the bread , left the dip, after speaking to waitress, she informed my of what the chef had done. He had replaced the balsamic with honey & mustard dressing....fail.
Thankfully this time everyone had a lovely meal, with some lovely wine. On that note, the wine list is in my opinion well over priced. The hotel would probably sell more if they had some cheaper priced bottles on there.

Meal finished back to room at 11pm. Return to the room, i'm met by full on heat so i have a look around for a way to adjust the heating. No thermostat so i look at the radiator no thermostatic control on there either. so i turn the knob at one end of radiator, no change in heat. No knob at all the other end. Now the radiator is about a foot from the bed, and i like heat but there was no way that was going to make for a comfortable nights sleep.

Contact reception again, very good service yet again, duty manager (same guy) comes with in minutes. Messes with knob, decides he will get a tool to turn the other end without the knob. He comes back with said item messes with other end to no effect. Fair play to the guy he has tried so in the end they move me to room 62 in the courtyard, which is altogether a much better room with a lovely double bed and single in it with a electric heater i can turn off once the room is to a nice temperature.

Breakfast here is excellent, a good choice of hot full English buffet and continental to help yourself to.

On check out one computer wasn't working. Thankfully i had no bill to pay so just handed my key in but it would have been fairly annoying if i had a bill to pay as the queue was a good size.

Must say the staff service over my issues was excellent and i couldn't fault them, just a shame the room let them down.

Room Tip: Don't book courtyard room 40
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Your comments are appreciated. We will use them constructively to address any areas of concern. I hope that we may better look after your needs in the future
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton le Moors
5.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Clayton le Moors
234 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
224 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Property: Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton le Moors BB5 5JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton le Moors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Clayton le Moors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa Clayton Le Moors, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing