We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Food Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have stayed a this hotel on numerous occasions and have always enjoyed ourselves The food in the restaurant is excellent and the service is 1st class
We always stay in an upgraded room, these are larger and have more facilities eg separate shower, free internet and the room is larger. The only two faults in the room being the lighting in the bedroom is not great and the room would benefit from a fridge.
Spa facilities excellent, and spa treatments very relaxing and professional
Staff always friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble
Hope to stay again soon

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westietravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that we are able to look after you in the correct fashion and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,215 - 1,221 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were were allegedly "up-graded" from The Last Drop Bolton when they had a power failure which spoiled our mini break for six. The attraction of the Last Drop is its spar , geographical position, history and intimate setting.We arrived at 2.pm hoping to make the best of the spar and lounge facilities .

We accepted the Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa "swap" on the basis that it was a castle in the country with a spa. Actually its an old castellated former manor house in a semi rural setting that tends to rely on the business and wedding trade .

The hotel certainly looks imposing with its Gothic Revival exterior and the reception retains the Gothic feel. Indeed there is a Portrait room and other early Puginese features that should delight the visitor but bizarrely our overall impression of our stay was a bland affair lacking in character . It is puzzling , this should be a "country house hotel" but it simply isn't. This is probably due to the sprawling warren of 175 rooms which are designed to meet the basic needs of the modern business traveller or overnight guests. The hotel is geared to the short term business traveller and overnight wedding guest .It would be interesting to know if the hotel does retain a number of "period " bedrooms. If they do , they don't advertise the fact


There was a cheery and professional welcome at reception as we were placed in the executive wing The wing comprises of 50 rather bland but spacious rooms offering unlimited broadband access and many have views over the surrounding countryside. Three rooms have been adapted for use by those with mobility problems however it is quite a trek from reception the restaurant and crucially the spa

The room was spotlessly clean,with a large bath and power shower, lashings of hot water and a rural view was pleasing . One of our party had brought their laptop but there was a charge of £40 for Wifi for three days use (!) ..which was declined. Business customers should be aware that there seems to be patchy broadband coverage in the hotel though. We heard one business traveller who was not in the executive wing being advised to sit in the bar to access the broadband. Perhaps this is something that needs to be addressed. Two of us are smokers and this hotel is not smoker friendly .As far as we could see there was no where to go for a puff except outside the main entrance and that was a very long way from our room..our nerves were frayed !

By now it was late afternoon and much of our spa time had been curtailed by the trip from Bolton to Blackburn.You need to leave the hotel and cross a courtyard to access the spa and the younger members of the party took advantage of the pool.Its quite small and the hot tub is tiny but its all in the price as is the thermal suite so its worth a visit. For the older members of the party it wasn't worth the hike from the room and we worried about getting cold as there was frost on the ground that night hence we hung about in the rooms until dinner as the hotel lacks a lounge.There are many other interesting rooms that could be explored but these seem only to be utilised during business or wedding functions and hence were out of bounds. We had booked the meal for 7.45 but dinner was a muddled affair , with a mix up of menus and confusing supplements that had to be sorted out later. The restaurant also lacks character which is a shame as the meals were however well prepared and there was a good choice with local ingredients

.After dinner we sat for a short time in the bar and observed fellow guests all of whom seemed to be business people . The bar area is adequate but it lacks any ambience for the tourist guest so we wended our way back to our rooms and lay in our very comfortable beds to watch television.

The hotel did not totally meet our needs as "tourists" wanting to relax but nevertheless it was an acceptable alternative to The Last Drop and upon checking their web prices and" deals" it really represents value for money. If I had turned up on business I would have been pleasantly surprised as this is far superior to any of the standard business hotel chains and overnight stop hotels and is certainly competitive price wise if one has the luxury of booking in advance .

In the morning breakfast was adequate and we had time to spare .It was frustrating that we could not access other area's of the house and grounds as the architecture and history is something to be savoured .

Clearly Mercure/ Accor have a range of hotels to suit every traveller and if they invested in a lounge area and revamped the restaurant in some way they would surely meets the needs of all guests in this establishment .

Would we stay again? Yes if we were on business and no if we wanted the country house hotel feel as tourists

Room Tip: Executive wing essential for business guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for providing us with feedback. I am pleased that on the whole you were satisfied with your stay. We hotel is very different to a traditional country house hotel. We do retain some features rooms that are suited to that style, but the majority of the hotel is alot more modern and tailored towards a more mixed clientele.
Your comments are appreciated
Yours sincereley
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivaValencia_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick_542013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I got an executive room, which was lovely for the price. Staff all very freindly and helpful, and the breakfast was great, although wasn't told on check in that I would get for £10 if booked in advance.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAXYScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Guest
Thanks for the feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

When I started to write this review, it was 12.30am and I couldn't sleep due to the thump, thump, thump of the disco from one of the weddings taking place! Due to problems with my ears, I am unable to wear earplugs, which presented me with the issue of a severe lack of sleep!!
I came here for my sister-in-law's wedding celebrations - this is a lovely venue for this!!
We had a couple of drinks in the bar on arrival, very nice, but you had to chase the barman all the time, he appeared to be very harassed!! Whether this was due to short-staffing or not, I don't know! The drinks and food, as most hotels, is extortionately priced!!
Breakfast is lovely, plenty of selection, but a bit chaotic on the first day with the waiting on staff taking forever to ask if you required tea/coffee and toast!!
The WiFi is great in the main area of the hotel, but cannot be picked up in your room at all - come on guys, it's 2012!!!
Our room was nice, I managed to trip all the lights, but it was sorted immediately once they had been informed!!
As I said earlier, the only thing to spoil it for me was the noise, inconsiderate guests making a racket on the way back to their rooms (obviously not the hotel's fault)!! On checking out, the receptionist asked how I'd enjoyed my stay and I mentioned I was tired due to the noise and he promptly took a deduction from our bill as a goodwill gesture - so fair play for him doing that, it was much appreciated.
All things considered, a nice stay and I'd come back!!!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank GailNeil11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I will share your comments with the team and hope to improve wherever we can.
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We got married at this butifull hotel the whole expireance from arriving to departing was fantastic they could not do enough for us I'd recomend it to everyone the staff were all a credit to the company if your looking for a great place to get married look no further

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foggy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for the review of the hotel. I'm really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the day and I wish you every happiness in your new life together.
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton le Moors
1 mi away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Clayton le Moors
275 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf Club
4.1 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
3.4 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
260 reviews
5.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton le Moors BB5 5JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton le Moors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Clayton le Moors
Price Range: $78 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa Clayton Le Moors, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing