We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
1 review
“Fantastic hotel and wedding venue”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We got married at this butifull hotel the whole expireance from arriving to departing was fantastic they could not do enough for us I'd recomend it to everyone the staff were all a credit to the company if your looking for a great place to get married look no further

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foggy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for the review of the hotel. I'm really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the day and I wish you every happiness in your new life together.
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    451
    285
    145
    110
See reviews for
280
450
50
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I don't know where to begin! Staff couldn't do enough and management and although this is not a hotel I would usually take my 3 young sons butvi did as it was axwedding our 4 days were a dream and we never felt our children weren't welcome. Food was amazing especially the breakfast just got back from a five star hotel in Dublin and the breakfast was no where as good as yours. Also very late one night asked management if they could make a hot bottle for my son and again that wasn't axproblem even though I could see how busy he was looking after 2 weddings. The girls on reception an absolute delight! Again although they were checking in several football teams they smiled all the way and couldn't help enough! Hotel was magical so beautifully done my boys felt like we were staying in a palace! And the maids again a delight would recommend this hotel to anyone in a heartbeat will definitely return !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxuryfivestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. It's really nice to be appreciated. I hope to welcome you and the boys back in the future.
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

went on a girls spa night on saturday 27th October, 6 of us altogether, but only 3 stayed over. we all had treatments which were amazing, very professional and friendly staff. we had lunch in the spa cafe which was lovely, the spa facilities are excellent just dont understand why there are children allowed on a saturday afternoon. The 3 that stayed over had a meal in the restaurant in the evening which was absolutely beautiful - my only critisism was the service which was shocking had to ask to order as we were left sat there for 45 minutes with no drinks! we then had to ask for the plates to be cleared away, the meal took 3 hours - its a good job we were having a girlie catch up!!!!! the room was adequate, not brilliant not bad. buffet breakfast in the morning was brilliant, one of the best ive had. I would definately recommend the hotel and i will be planning a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani080580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your weekend, I am pleased that the Spa lived up to expectations. I will share the feedback with the staff in the Spa and also with the restaurant team. It is really disappointing to hear that the service was not as you would have liked. Please accept my apologies and be assured that we will use your feedback in the spirit in which it is meant
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We held our daughter's wedding reception at the hotel on Friday 26th October. I cannot fault the staff at the hotel they were magnificent. There were two weddings on the same day and two football teams staying prior to their weekend games. All our guests were booked in with the utmost efficiency. As far as I could tell ALL the guests were very satisfied with their rooms. Ours was superb. We asked for ajoining rooms so that an elderly relative could be close and looked after. This was organised as was an extra bed for our grand daughter to sleep on the night of the wedding. On arrival after travelling from Yorkshire we were advised that if we required Dinner we should book early as the hotel was busy but we could obtain food and drinks from the bar. This we did and I must say the service and quality of the food was excellent. The Wedding breakfast was superb, beautiful food, as was the organisation. A special mention for the wedding organiser on the day, Anita, who was unflappable. A wonderful day that was enhanced by a wonderful venue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for the feedback. The hotel was exremely busy over that particular weekend and I am delighted to hear that you were looked after in the manner in which you would have expected. We do try to offer all our guests a fantastic experience, so to hear that we got it right is a real pleasure.
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you are planning a celebration and looking for a venue, and you’re happy to be “ripped off” then this is the place for you.
My son and his new wife arranged an evening party here on their return from their wedding in Italy so they could celebrate with all the friends who had not been at the Italian Wedding. They wanted a Hog Roast and The Dunkenhalgh advised they could provide this.
The place itself is nice, the room is a good size and there is a separate bar for people who want to get away from the music for a while, no complaints there. The bedrooms are also nice.
However they were charged £13 a head for the pork roast which consisted of, wait for it, ONE PORK ROLL per person. In fact they actually ran out of rolls and had to go searching for a loaf of bread. There were no salads, no potatoes, just a single roll. We had previously been to another wedding where this was the chosen food and my son was hoping the people who catered for that could be brought in for this event, as the buffet provided, along with the roast and bread was lovely. But, not surprisingly The Dunkenhalgh insisted on doing the catering themselves. Who can blame them when they are making about £12 profit on a sandwich.
The drink prices are extortionate, but that was to be expected, but considering a lot of people attending were coming some distance and therefore booked rooms at the hotel, their profit for the night must have been very pleasing for the management to see.
Would not recommend them to anyone. We were embarrassed that our friends and family came along to something which was incredibly poor.
The reception at the Italian Wedding was less per head than this place and for that we got a superbly cooked and beautifully present 6 course meal.
So if you are looking for value for money then my recommendation is look elsewhere. You certainly won’t get it here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sadeyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for providing feedback in regards to the recent event that was held at the hotel. The menu was agreed with the bride and groom prior to the event. On speaking with the caterers, they suggest that they provided what was asked for. The hog roast company were contracted by the hotel to do the catering.

The hotel charge for the event included the hire of the room and the hog roast company coming in. If you would like to discuss this matter at any further length, please contact me personally at the hotel.

Yours sincerely

Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clayton le Moors hotels

Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

arrived at hotel and was greeted by manager.
found room excellent except it was lacking drawer and cupboard space.
this maybe ok for a business stop of one night but five days you have to live out of your case.
there was a wardrobe to take hanging clothes. Food was excellent and the staff were very good. compliments to the chef. One drawback however was the lights being dimmed in the restaurant whilst you were eating.....as there were elderly people in thee coach party they were a bit peeved about this however our lovely waitress Edwina joined in the groups friendly chat about the lights and the next evening we had candles. this caused great amusement amongst our group. Would return here again.

Room Tip: we were on 1st floor room 616 very quiet although it was a trek to get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilacjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience of the hotel. I am glad that you were looked after and take your point about the lack of drawer space. The rooms could do with some more storage solutions. I will look in to this for future reference.
Kind regards
Ivan Lynch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a let down! We decided to stay at the Dunkenhalgh on a visit to our relatives as it was convenient for the Ribble Valley and the motorway. We arrived on Saturday evening after a 5 hour journey to be told that there was no space in the restaurant, however knowing the local restaurants we were happy to go out for a meal, a couple on their first visit would not be so lucky.
On finding our room we looked forward to a nice cup of tea, to find two packets of Earl Grey, and two of Breakfast Tea. Not everyone likes Earl Grey, we also found one bag of broken biscuits - oh crumbs! A bit mean.....

On going into the bathroom we found an empty tube of shower gel and a miniscule amount of shampoo left i.e. we had been given previously used toiletries, luckily we had some shampoo and shower gel in our bag.

After a nice meal outside, we retired but were kept awake someone cleaning, plugging equipment in and dragging furniture around until after 2:00 am - not quite a restful night's sleep.

The following morning, after a nice breakfast we went off to visit our relative for the day.

On arrival back at 18:30 we found that the room had not been serviced, our rinsed out cups were still on the side, and the tea, coffee etc. had not been replenished, the bins had not been emptied and still no shower or shampoo.

After complaining we did receive the 'statutory' amount of beverages, a single normal tea bag, two more Earl Grey packets, and one packet of biscuits between two of us, but we did get the soaps.

This was a missed opportunity to impress. As someone who worked in the hospitality business for over 25 years, I would have done that little extra to attempt to recover the situation, the cost of doubling up the refreshments items would have been minimal, and the impact immense, as it was we were left fighting over the one descent cup of tea.

I was always told that it was important that guests left with a smile on their faces, we did not feel much like smiling.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Pritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6617_dm, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for providing feedback in regards to your recent stay. I am sorry that you did not get the service that you should have. Please allow me to express my sincere apologies. I am sorry that there were issues with your stay. If you would like to discuss the matter further, please contact me directly.
Yours sincerely
Ivan Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton le Moors
5.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Clayton le Moors
233 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
221 reviews
3.6 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
1,030 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Property: Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton le Moors BB5 5JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton le Moors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Clayton le Moors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa Clayton Le Moors, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing