We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star?????!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Stayed on 19/03/11 for my wife's birthday, on a bed, breakfast and evening meal basis. We stayed in room 40 which had dirty net curtains, smelt of damp, and had dirty marks on the walls. The restaurant and bar area are clean and modern with helpful staff. Beware though, even on the evening meal where there is a limit of £22 per person, there is still a surcharge of £3.90 if you want steak, even if you do spend below the £22 limit. The spa/ pool area are tatty with the ceiling needing painting and tiles missing in some of the saunas. When we got home and unpacked our cases, our clothing smelt of the damp room. All in all, won't go back. The hotel looks impressive from the outside, but I don't think it is worthy of 4 stars. Wished we had stayed at The Last Drop Village instead, which is 3 star. We have stayed there a few times and the staff really do try to make the stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmorrisluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6617_FB, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2011

Please accept our apologies & be assured we are looking into the matter. Feel free to give me a call to discuss things at your convenience. Kind regards, Ivan Lynch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,489)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,338 - 1,344 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2011

On arrival to the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff. The room we stayed in was situated on the first floor nearby the grand staircase. The room was modern, clean and spacious. Our daughter slept on a comfortable sofa bed. The spa facilities were good, clean and family friendly.

We've given it an average rating as this hotel has the potential to be very good. It was the attention to detail that has let this hotel down. (We had to ask for bed linen for the sofa bed, towels and toilet roll. In the spa we had to ask for bathrobes and footwear.)

When we arrived promptly for dinner at the Cameo restaurant the staff were unfriendly and ignored us. Eventually, after a long period of waiting a rude senior member of staff showed us to a table by the kitchen doors. When we asked to be moved we were told the restaurant was fully booked. (It was half empty for the entire time we were there.) Another waitress (with a smile) did move us to a more comfortable area of the restaurant. The food was nicely presented but was served on cold plates.

The breakfast was very good and the staff were more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6617_FB, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2011

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I'll look into the points you raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa in Blackburn very soon. Kind regards, Ivan Lynch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

My daughter, grandaughter (11 weeks old) and myself have just spent 2 nights at the Dunkenhalgh, the purpose of our stay was to visit relatives. I have stayed at the Dunkenhalgh quite a few times over the years and know very well of the good reputation it had, having been brought up in Gt Harwood, but now live in Scotland. We checked in on Tuesday 15th and having been told our room was in the courtyard we thought great.........BUT WHAT A SHOCK, the room was grubby, black mold growing around the windows, no wastepaper bin and the curtains were shredded. I went and complained at the front desk and then shown another room above the one we were in, this was even WORSE!!!!!!! my daughter and I decided to stay in the room we had, BUT I was very unhappy about the mold and a 11 week old baby. We went and visited our relatives and I told them about the state of the room they were shocked, when we went back later that evening I again complained, this time they managed to find a executive room for us. Thankfully no mold on the windows, BUT would have been very disappointed if i had to pay the money to stay in THIS room, broken lampshades and big dents in the walls. I afraid the reputation of the Dunkenhagh in my opinion has gone sadly downhill and very tired looking, would not stay again

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lancashirelassie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6617_FB, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2011

Thank you for your comments. I can assure you the matter is being looked into. Feel free to call me to discuss this further. Kind regards, Ivan Lynch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I stayed with 2 friends for a spa weekend. From arrival to departure every member of staff we came across were friendly, polite and most helpful. The rooms were lovely and comfortable. The food was amazing and the cleanliness throughout was fantastic. I would recommend to anyone to stay here and we will definately be coming back for another relaxing weekend.

Victoria Byrne

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vic1517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Have just spent the weekend here with 2 friends. ALL the staff were extremely friendly and happy to help. The food was supberb and the spa gorgeous. I have had a thoroughly lovely weekend and can't wait to go again! Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa210569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Stayed here many times over last 3 years and it is so much in demand and is full on a regular basis that I feel that sometimes the staff don't think they need to try.

Rooms can be very mixed from Exec rooms out the back being more or less OK to some grotty little box rooms in the older main building above reception, with noisy extractor fans going all night. As for rooms above the swimming pool, well they are sweltering and too hot for anyone to sleep in. Many areas lack a bit of TLC from broken shaving mirrors to there being no rubber seal between the shower screen and the bath so that all the water from the shower bounces on to the bath rim and soaks the floor.

The car park seriously needs some attention - if it is raining (which it does regularly in this part of the world) then bring your wellies to get from the car-park to the hotel as the pot holes are enormous. The parking spaces are the narrowest ever and so your car is very much in danger of being knocked by other drivers doors and many prestige cars park in the disabled bays or bridge two bays.

Restaurant staff are always willing and helpful and food there is generally good. The reception staff like many reception staff at hotels seem to change on a regular basis and you don't get much consistency.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Stayed to celebrate our cousins birthday and all was perfect apart from a booking mix up for the ladies in our party for the spa. This was quickly rectified by the spa manager who showed exemplary customer service in a highly professional manner. Everything else was just perfect and we all had a great stay. We also recommend balti stan nearby for a fab curry.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonbantam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton le Moors
3.4 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
239 reviews
5.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sparth House Hotel
Sparth House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Clayton le Moors
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Best Western Higher Trapp Country House Hotel
7.4 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
3.4 mi away
Best Western Ribble Valley Langho Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa

Address: Blackburn Road, Clayton le Moors BB5 5JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton le Moors
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Clayton le Moors
Price Range: $72 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is situated in 17 acres of parkland. Combining a traditional setting with modern technology, our hotel offers both an enjoyable weekend getaway, or facilities for business meetings & conferences. Also featuring a luxury spa, with 8 beauty suites, & Cameo Restaurant & Bar, a relaxed dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel Clayton Le Moors
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel And Spa
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa Clayton Le Moors, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing