We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose Cottage

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rose Cottage
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Booked room for one night with partner, on suite room at rear if building, smallest on suite I have ever seen and had to use with door open! Several handwritten notices which made the place seem very regimented! Tv needed retuning and everything very outdated. Owners did not possess hostess skills and on some occasions felt she was outright rude. Breakfast was very small and not very nice, would not recommend or stay here again. Only positive I can think was it had parking and bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caruwi000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
6
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a excellent B&B very clean and a nice breakfast. The ensuite is small. One of the most comfortable beds I have had n a B&B. There are only three rooms and I was lucky that mine was at the rear of the property. However the traffic on the A59, at the front, was very apparent. If I had had a room at the front I probably would have been kept awake for most of the night. The hosts were both pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDave933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

This was a lovely B&B very clean and a nice breakfast however ensuite was very small and needed to be used with the door open. The most comfortable bed was looking forward to a good nights sleep. However that did not happen as it is on the A59 and I was kept awake for most of the night by lorries and cars haring down the road.It is a shame i would never stay again or recommend to any of my colleagues who stay in this area a lot.

Room Tip: Take industrial ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylors152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed here on an overnight basis en route to the Lake District. Nice owners, room was great and breakfast excellent. A bit late in writing this, it was about a year or so ago that we stayed.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank puttiputti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

We choose Rose Cottage mainly because it accepted dogs and the purpose of our trip was to attend a near by dog show.
. The cottage is pleasant if a little old fashioned but then it is an old cottage! It looked better in real life than it did in the photos. Our room was on the small side with a small ensuite but it was comfortable, spotlessly clean and had everything you needed including a fan, hairdryer,fridge . We had a room at the back of the property and this had very pleasant views of the countryside. The road at the front was busy so I would imagine if you slept with the window open it would be very noisy
The dining room was clean with a good range of cereals, jams, yogurts to choose from. Toast was plentiful and the breakfast tasted freshly cooked and was ample

. If you are looking for a modern B & B with large rooms and ensuite then Rose Cottage is not for you but if you want a good value, pleasant place to stay then it would be fine. There is an excellent Indian Restaurant just across the road too

We were charged £52 per night for a double room which represented very good value, The hosts were both pleasant and helpful. I would stay there again and finding somewhere that takes dogs is not always easy!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbjoce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoamingBob
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

I don't recognise the B&B from these reviews at all! I regularly stay here on business, as it is convenient for my work in town, but in a pleasant location.

The breakfast is very hearty and I can't manage a full one! And the owners are always very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

We chose this B+B as they accept pets. The owner was welcoming, friendly and chatty. The room was very small and the "en-suite" miniscule, although nicely decorated with pretty soft furnishings. The breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty, although like the room and bathroom it was small and served on a side plate. Rose Cottage is conveniently situated for walking in the surrounding hills and there are many nice restaurants close by. There is an Indian Restaurant which is the exact opposite to Rose Cottage in both size and location; being on the opposite side of the road and serving monster portions and delicious food.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NessaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton le Dale
3.6 mi away
Foxfields Country Hotel
Foxfields Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Billington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.5 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.9 mi away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mytton Fold Hotel & Golf
4.1 mi away
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
2.0 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Cottage

Property: Rose Cottage
Address: Longsight Road (A59), Clayton le Dale BB1 9EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Clayton le Dale
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Clayton le Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rose Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing