We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food not impressed with the maitre d came across as arrogant”

The Red Cat Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 206 Restaurants in Chorley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Whittle-le-Woods has been placed firmly on every food lover's map since the opening of The Red Cat on Blackburn Road. With more countryside charm than you could shake a muddy Wellie at, The Red Cat is renowned for its peaceful location and classic modern Mediterranean menu. With its whitewashed exterior, original stonework and exposed wooden beams, you'll feel right at home in this cosy venue.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food not impressed with the maitre d came across as arrogant”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Food was great was a pity about the un welcoming French waiter who came across as very arrogant like we shouldn't be there

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Skr1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    76
    37
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baabdat, Lebanon
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Burns Night”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Never thought i could find such fine dining around Chorley, was a 5 course set menu, tasteful, lovely presentation, helpful staff

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boutrosaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Too bright”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Went here for my husbands birthday. The food was wonderful and the service was excellent but the atmosphere was none existent, the dining area is entirely too bright and the music was very faint, it felt like a hospital ward or a church we didn't speak above a whisper all night!
We will go again but really hope they do something about the mood, it's just not right.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ninjamumx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Saturday night meal out for 4. Lovely food which reflected the 2 AA star rosettes. Staff were attentive but unobtrusive. Definitely recommended. I agree with other comments about minor points such as the bar area (we sat by the fire rather than the colder conservatory area), orange juice served in a half pint glass and the waiters having to ask who ordered what all of which would just raise this to 5 star fine dining but really I'm being picky. We went for excellent food and this didn't disappoint. Will be going back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 691 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

As last time, we had the tasting menu with matched wines. The food was absolutely superb and the wines complemented the courses.

One disappointment was a very long gap between the beef course and the cheese. I didn't actually time it but must have been about 45 minutes and, even though they were busy, this is too long to wait for a course that requires little preparation.

In fairness, the long wait was acknowledged when I settled the bill but food of this quality doesn't need to be let down by something as simple as this.

We'll be back though.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Cat Restaurant also viewed

 
Chorley, Lancashire
Preston, Lancashire
 
Charnock Richard, Chorley
 

Been to The Red Cat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing