We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The hotel was clean and comfortable with beautiful decor. The staff were efficient, helpful and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Food of the highest standard was served in the restaurant..Despite a very wet spell of weather before our visit ,the greens staff had worked very hard to make the golf course playable. The golf course is beautifully designed to both challenge and delight golfers of all abilities .

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeedsGolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 455 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2010

This is one of the very best hotels we have stayed at offering a weekend break with two rounds of golf, evening meal on the Saturday and breakfasts on Sunday and Monday mornings.

The golf course after two weeks of heavy rain was in excellent condition for ourselves and our two friends handicaps 8, 14, 19 and 22

The reception was warm and very efficient. The rooms were of a very high standard indeed and the meals were among the best we have had anywhere including our stays in the past at the Nicosia Hilton (Cyprus) and Fiji 5-star hotels. The wines were exceptionally good.

All the staff were supportive and attentive to our every need and clearly staff training has been a very high priority and was very much in evidence.

Quite simply we will return next year and look forward to another EXCDELLENT weekend break.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_makin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Well I must say after reading the reviews we were worried about our stay here, we actually booked our break earlier in the year but after trying to play a round of golf we had to give up as the course was water logged,we went to reception and said there was no way we could stay 2 nights and play the course, now I realise the golf is actually complimentary, but the very nice receptionist offered to rebook our break later in the year which we thought was really good of them as it was not their fault the course was so wet it was just this awful summer we are having, anyway we finally got to play in september and what a perfect break it has been.
The course is in brilliant condition, well maintained and fantastic to play, would definately recommend.
We were booked in room 3 now I know the wallpaper may be a little old fashioned but the room was spotlessly clean, a good size with a very comfortable bed and nice modern bathroom, new television, I believe all the rooms are being fitted out with new tv's, there are quite a few stairs to climb to the room but we were very pleased with it.
The food was excellent ,good choice, good portions and very very tasty, full marks to the chef, the waiting staff are brilliant, very attentive and obliging really cannot fault the restaurant at all.
Overall we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definately be going back, do not go by all the previous reviews this hotel is being gradually revamped, we visit many hotels and consider ourselves to be quite fussy just remember it is a listed building and so some things cannot be changed, We paid £250 for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast with 3 rounds of golf we found it to be excellent value!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I stayed here half a dozen times and the highlights are the excellent leasure facilities including the pool & sauna.

Traditional hotel with loads of history and well worth a look.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sezalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Stayed here for a wedding anniversary treat, wish we had gone somewhere else. It's in serious need of a revamp, the bedroom smelled musty and there was wallpaper peeling off the walls. VERY old fashioned, VERY disappointed!!!! On the up side the restaurant is excellent and we had a spa treatment - very good, so would visit again but NOT to stay over!!!

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Pearl050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

My Brother and I recently took my Dad for a Birthday surprise and we had really enjoyable stay.

The golf course was in great condition and very enjoyable. Lots of reviews complained about the quality of the rooms etc. and whilst I agree they are not 5 star, they were clean and comfortable.

We found the staff very helpful, general service was very good and the food was excellent.

We had excellent value for money and we will be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

A great combination for me, a good golf course-not too difficult, a nice pool hot tub and sauna and a good room.
Just the thing to relax after a days business in the area.
It was obvious there had been renovations recently the evidence was still in the skip nearby.
I had seen some poor reviews but I think the hotel must have improved as I would rate it as a good 4*
My only negative comment would be that the rooms should all have a copy of the restaurant menu and the selection of light bites should be more prominently displayed and extensive.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbrussellgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorley
4.1 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
1.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
9 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Farington Lodge Hotel
Farington Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Farington
327 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chorley South Hotel
6.3 mi away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Address: Preston Road | Whittle-Le-Woods, Chorley PR6 7PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Price Range: $93 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 30 individually styled bedrooms which vary in size and positioning gently reflecting the period of the building. All rooms are en-suite and facilities include Telephone, TV, Hospitality Tray and 24 hour room service. Most rooms include trouser press, ironing boards or are available on request. All guests are welcome to use the Leisure club free of charge and if you fancy a round of golf you can enjoy half price green fees - just ask at reception.The accommodation is set over three floors with a spiralling staircase and glittering chandeliers. Due to the nature of the building there is no lift access to the floors so should you have difficulty with stairs please request ground floor rooms when booking. All public areas of the Hotel have wheelchair access.We have a range of packages from Bed & Breakfast, Dinner inclusive, Spa & Golf breaks, Conference/ Delegate and Corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chorley
Shaw Hill Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing