We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Eve Event”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We really enjoyed our night here for the second time. We had the 4 course meal which for an event of this size was very good. Service quick and young staff clean and efficient. The disco was the best we have been to for some time, the floor was full all night. The party crackers and hats etc very good quality. Very good value for the money. We stayed overnight and thought maybe some updating of main hotel room needed and also mattress in annex room needs changing! However the breakfast room is so nice and breakfast choice excellent. Early morning breakfast staff very cheery.

Room Tip: Annex for us although only one couple slept in main hotel this year
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronica l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 428 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

On Friday 20th Dec, I was taken by my daughter and grand daughter for afternoon tea.
We were the only people in the room, which was just off the reception area. The room was cold, and my feet were freezing the whole time we were there. We were seated at a small table, which had qiute a nice view of the gardens.
There were three of us for afternoon tea, we were given 3 triangle sandwiches each, which were tiny. The selection was, ham. cheese, prawns. That was it. The cakes were of poor quality. Three tiny scones, three sliices of sponge cake, and three tiny meringues. Cream and jam.
Tea selections were excellent.

In the room was a television, this was on all the time we were there. I do not want to listen to music from the television whilst trying to make conversation.

The staff were absolutely excellent.

Only for the fact that I had been taken to Shaw Hill as a Christmas treat with my family, I would have said something at the time, but of course I did not want to embarress my family.
I definately will not recommend this place to anyone .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwintonLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Shaw Hill golf & country club is always worth a visit its nice to meet up with friends for a chat and afternoon tea,its great to have a meal in vardens restarant and even better have a couple of games of golf and stayover !The Sunday drivers are excellent value for money the course is lovely and the staff are always very nice.

Room Tip: Stayed in most of the rooms over the years all have been good
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I took my friend here for afternoon tea for her birthday. We opted for the fireside tea and what a treat it was. The fire was lit and the room lovely and warm on a cold and windy day. Crumpets or toasted teacake, a selection of sandwiches, scones with cream and jam and home made cakes. Copious amounts of a wide selection of teas. Absolutely delicious, not to mention how brilliant the staff were. Definately go again and already considering a family get together to celebrate my daughters recent engagement.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamskys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

An absolutely top condition golf course with fantastic greens and an idyllic setting. I have played all around the UK and I can wholeheartedly recommend this championship grade course. With excellent facilities (spa, restaurant and hotel) it is a weekend away you won't forget.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at this lovely hotel. The spacious rooms are well equipped and are in keeping with an old country house. The friendly, cheerful staff could not be more helpful or welcoming.The cuisine was very good and the service very attentive. The spa facilities offered a wide range of treatments and the health club has a jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms and a decent size swimming pool. With all this and a well maintained golf course to use, what more do you want for a lovely mini break?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two days. It is an old country house that is now a hotel and golf club. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the food was good and the leisure facilities ( pool, sauna, steam room etc ) were in tip top condition. I also took advantage of the masseuse for a really relaxing three quarters of an hour. Best feature though was the staff.They could not have been more friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the golf course.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorley
4.1 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
6.7 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
997 reviews
10.9 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Address: Preston Road | Whittle-Le-Woods, Chorley PR6 7PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Price Range: $99 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 30 individually styled bedrooms which vary in size and positioning gently reflecting the period of the building. All rooms are en-suite and facilities include Telephone, TV, Hospitality Tray and 24 hour room service. Most rooms include trouser press, ironing boards or are available on request. All guests are welcome to use the Leisure club free of charge and if you fancy a round of golf you can enjoy half price green fees - just ask at reception.The accommodation is set over three floors with a spiralling staircase and glittering chandeliers. Due to the nature of the building there is no lift access to the floors so should you have difficulty with stairs please request ground floor rooms when booking. All public areas of the Hotel have wheelchair access.We have a range of packages from Bed & Breakfast, Dinner inclusive, Spa & Golf breaks, Conference/ Delegate and Corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chorley
Shaw Hill Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing