We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Shaw Hill golf & country club is always worth a visit its nice to meet up with friends for a chat and afternoon tea,its great to have a meal in vardens restarant and even better have a couple of games of golf and stayover !The Sunday drivers are excellent value for money the course is lovely and the staff are always very nice.

Room Tip: Stayed in most of the rooms over the years all have been good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 441 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

I took my friend here for afternoon tea for her birthday. We opted for the fireside tea and what a treat it was. The fire was lit and the room lovely and warm on a cold and windy day. Crumpets or toasted teacake, a selection of sandwiches, scones with cream and jam and home made cakes. Copious amounts of a wide selection of teas. Absolutely delicious, not to mention how brilliant the staff were. Definately go again and already considering a family get together to celebrate my daughters recent engagement.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamskys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

An absolutely top condition golf course with fantastic greens and an idyllic setting. I have played all around the UK and I can wholeheartedly recommend this championship grade course. With excellent facilities (spa, restaurant and hotel) it is a weekend away you won't forget.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at this lovely hotel. The spacious rooms are well equipped and are in keeping with an old country house. The friendly, cheerful staff could not be more helpful or welcoming.The cuisine was very good and the service very attentive. The spa facilities offered a wide range of treatments and the health club has a jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms and a decent size swimming pool. With all this and a well maintained golf course to use, what more do you want for a lovely mini break?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two days. It is an old country house that is now a hotel and golf club. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the food was good and the leisure facilities ( pool, sauna, steam room etc ) were in tip top condition. I also took advantage of the masseuse for a really relaxing three quarters of an hour. Best feature though was the staff.They could not have been more friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at this former old country house which had a lot of character and history evidenced by the lengthy list of past presidents and captains of the golf club going back to the 1920's. The staff were very helpful and the facilities in the health club were taken full advantage of especially the surprisingly large swimming pool which enabled you to swim without constantly turning corners.
The catering both at dinner and in the morning was of a high standard, which was again enhanced by the friendly and helpful staff.
The grounds and views from the terrace down the 18th were bolstered by the timely arrival of the sun. We will be booking again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Me and three friends booked in advance to play a round at Shaw Hill, we travelled 90 miles to get there, we paid our £100 and set out for the 1st tee. We were amazed to find that every green was closed for maintenance and a temp hole was just put on the fairway, no cup, just a hole in the ground. At no point were we informed that the course was virtually unplayable, not even in the clubhouse when we paid. We complained and were told we'd already received a discount but they give us £2:50 each to compensate !!!!!!!
Things would have been improved if the service in the hotel was any better, it took the poor receptionist 30 minutes to find somebody for us to complain to, the bar was slow and it took them over an hour to serve us a basic meal (burger & chips etc).The Hotel and club look and feel tired. If you're going to go I'd advise asking many questions about the playability on the day you want to go. We thought it very unethical to allow us to book, travel and pay when they must have known the course was not playable.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawHill, General Manager at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Mr Doran's Party,

I am most sorry that you feel we did not do our best in customer care by providing you the information of the intensive ground works that occurred on Monday. However the rates for the green fees were reduced and the offer of the drink was accepted by you/ your party. It is a shame that you feel that this was in insult to you. May I ask again how you booked so that I can prevent mis-communication for future guests. The hotel did contact all it's visiting parties, the Pro Shop was aware on Friday 20th September so I do not understand why they neglected to inform the golfing pay and play parties.

This may be resolved by something that the software for the tee time system can address ie essential data capture by way of email or by text to a mobile phone.

If you do wish to play your round again, please feel free to contact me on
joanne@shaw-hill.co.uk

Another way to keep up to date on course progress is our facebook page and or twitter @shawhill1

Thank you for you honest comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorley
4.1 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
6.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
11.5 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Address: Preston Road | Whittle-Le-Woods, Chorley PR6 7PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Price Range: $101 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 30 individually styled bedrooms which vary in size and positioning gently reflecting the period of the building. All rooms are en-suite and facilities include Telephone, TV, Hospitality Tray and 24 hour room service. Most rooms include trouser press, ironing boards or are available on request. All guests are welcome to use the Leisure club free of charge and if you fancy a round of golf you can enjoy half price green fees - just ask at reception.The accommodation is set over three floors with a spiralling staircase and glittering chandeliers. Due to the nature of the building there is no lift access to the floors so should you have difficulty with stairs please request ground floor rooms when booking. All public areas of the Hotel have wheelchair access.We have a range of packages from Bed & Breakfast, Dinner inclusive, Spa & Golf breaks, Conference/ Delegate and Corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chorley
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Shaw Hill Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing