We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mattresses need an upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mattresses need an upgrade”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I stayed three nights in this hotel for business reasons. The place is ideal for Golfers since the hotel sits on a very beautiful golf course. The hotel offers complimentary access to the gym and spa next door. The sport facilities are good and well maintained. The staff is very friendly. The room is in good condition and spacious. There is free wifi connection from the Stockley room. The sink in the bathroom might need to get a mixer between hot and cold water. The thing that, in my mind, should be taken care of is to change the mattress. The bed is not comfortable at all. The room has two twin beds and each one of them has the same problem. The mattresses are in an urgent need of replacement.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHichem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    113
    59
    41
    21
See reviews for
78
109
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Preston, Lancs
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Friends took us here for a meal on Friday night as a treat and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was really good, especially the hot pudding, a very light sponge with caramel sauce. You can take your own wine and pay corkage which is a great bonus when you have a favourite. Another plus is sitting by the window overlooking the golf course which is very pretty. Will definately return. :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tibby-the-Tabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were a party of 24 lady golfers staying overnight and playing two rounds of golf. It seemed that they had taken us on but could not really cope as we were sharing minimal staff with weddings. One person dealing with two bars so when we arrived had a problem getting served. Dinner was fine. Breakfast next morning was supposed to be from 7.30 but at 8.15 the hot dishes were empty and we had to wait a long time before we could all get tea and coffee and toast just to keep us going until the hot food arrived. Staff were willing and pleasant but woefully in need of extra help. Rooms were fine and beds comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LambertCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Visited recently with a group of lady golfers for an overnight stay. The staff are very friendly considering they were extremely busy. There just wasn't enough staff to cover the bar & function rooms. There was a wedding party on both of The days we were there. The setting is lovely & golf course is in good condition.
The bedrooms were very clean & comfortable. The food was very good in the evening. Breakfast was also good although again, not enough staff serving.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelamereCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Set in beautiful grounds. The food and service was excellent well worth a visit

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

stayed at Shaw Hill overnight for a wedding that was nearby. the room given had no view at all just of another building. The hotel sells itself on the golf course so you would expect some kind of view of that. Changed rooms and got a view but this was a twin room instead of a double. Room needed decorating and window wouldn't open - room was stifling hot! Even though it was 27 degrees outside one of the radiators came on in the morning!!.

The bathroom was really out of date. The room was big though and the beds very comfortable and the cleaning staff do a good job as the room was really clean.

Waitress saw the couple in front of us to their table then went away and left us to it. Breakfast was ok but there was no vegetarian alternative for my husband. The waitress went to ask if they had any veggie sausages and came back and just said no sorry so my husband got 2 fried eggs, mushrooms and two hash browns they didn't even offer to make him an omelette or something - poor service. We have had much better in cheap B & B's. The coffee was the cheap stuff too.

The receptionist did give us £7.00 off because of this which was decent but the experience was already spoilt.

Overpriced for the

Room Tip: when booking ask for a room with a view of the golf course and ask not to be put in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Just come back from weekend overnight stay for friends wedding. Lets start with slight let downs...double bed was in fact 2 singles joined with a dint in the middle! We were sat at a table for breakfast that would have been better suited to one person. There were no eggs and when they did arrive the waitress served everyone except me that despite their coming in after me! (I know a bit whingy!)
Now the positives, our bedroom was a fantastic size with panoramic views facing the 18th hole, I think. The food for our friends evening reception was superb and the resident band were excellent. It was 20+ degrees outside but the air con made for a sweltering free evening. The bar service was excellent, I only wanted a half a guiness after several pints and they kindly went to other bar to get me one. The breakfast this morning was a good selection and filled us ready for the day. I think possibly a little pricey, given the minor faults. But still enjoyed and would go again to a function there.

Room Tip: If you want a double...make sure it is a double bed and not 2 singles joined up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorley
4.1 mi away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
9.0 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
6.9 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Property: Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Address: Preston Road | Whittle-Le-Woods, Chorley PR6 7PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 30 individually styled bedrooms which vary in size and positioning gently reflecting the period of the building. All rooms are en-suite and facilities include Telephone, TV, Hospitality Tray and 24 hour room service. Most rooms include trouser press, ironing boards or are available on request. All guests are welcome to use the Leisure club free of charge and if you fancy a round of golf you can enjoy half price green fees - just ask at reception.The accommodation is set over three floors with a spiralling staircase and glittering chandeliers. Due to the nature of the building there is no lift access to the floors so should you have difficulty with stairs please request ground floor rooms when booking. All public areas of the Hotel have wheelchair access.We have a range of packages from Bed & Breakfast, Dinner inclusive, Spa & Golf breaks, Conference/ Delegate and Corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chorley
Shaw Hill Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing