We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chorley
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed here in early September last year and got a great deal for two nights including breakfast and dinner and two rounds of golf. Tee times can be booked and my only complaint was that the course was very busy and play very slow. I was on my own but the marshall arranged for me to play with two members after a few holes, which I didn't really mind. The golf booking system is better suited to fourballs really. The hotel building is magnificent and the golf course is also excellent. The food was excellent and the staff very helpful. I had a very nice room overlooking the golf course and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    105
    53
    36
    19
See reviews for
70
100
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic Express Spa day with my two friends. We all felt very welcome and relaxed after our visit to Le Visage at Shaw Hill Golf Club. The staff are all lovely and the treatments, pool, steam room were all fantastic. Not sure of the name of the girl who did my treatments but it was fantastic. Great value for the £45 offer for the treatments that you receive. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockyLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We arrived to be told we have to play on a small piece of astro turf on the fairways which we had to buy!!!

The course was very muddy and in poor condition - we left after one day of golf.

However the hotel was very pleasant, good food and nice staff!

I believe we should have been told that we had to play from astro turf in advance - it seems that the golf side of the business just wants our money but would not go back and would not recommend which is a loss for the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tavebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawHill, General Manager at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We endevour to ensure all visiting parties are aware of course conditions and local rules. When booking direct with the hotel we will provide this information at the point of booking and our rules and regs are on our wesbiste for all to peruse. Unfortunately when dealing with third party booking ie specialist websites catering for golfing breaks we rely upon the agent to inform the clients of our terms and conditions of play during the winter months. (November to March) These are the same details year upon year and have never changed. I have spoken to two major agents in respect of this and unfortunately they will not provide us any information with regard to visting parties due to data protection. My hands are tied in this respect. My advice for all golfing parties is to always contact the hotels directly once they have made a booking via a third party so that they are fully versed with all aspects of their individual booking and feel that they are welcomed in advance from the hotel. I trust this answers your post. Should you wish to call me to discuss the matter further then please feel free to contact me on 01257226829 Best wishes Joanne Arroyo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

I went in a party of four on a Golf Sunday Driver offer. The chap in the pro shop was very grumpy and quite unhelpful. (He was the older guy, not the nice young man). The course was very muddy, and the greens were awful, very bumpy, the ball was going all over the place. Aside from that we enjoyed our two games, there were some very nice holes, and I guess a game in the summer would be a lot better. The hotel was lovely, we had fantastic large rooms overlooking the course with very good facilities. The hotel itself is very well furnished and comfortable. The only downside for us was that we were the only people staying in the hotel apart from one man on business. We had the restaurant to ourselves for the evening meal and breakfast, a rather strange experience. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and we later found out that our rooms had been upgraded that was a nice touch. I would definitely go there again, but more likely in summer months when the course was better and there was more likelihood of the hotel being busy.

Room Tip: I don't know how much an upgrade is, but the rooms overlooking the course are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SjS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawHill, Owner at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for the comments posted with regard to your stay. I glad that you will be returning in the summer months. I have however passed on your comments with regard to the staff in the Pro Shop who are not employees of Shaw Hill Golf Club. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

played 2 rounds of golf 28/29 /12/2011, we played using astro turf like pieces these to be used on all shots be it fairway or rough, these are obtained from the pro shop i was charged £11 ,over 2 days for the hire of a trolley and a piece of astro turf i returned the items at the end of play expecting money back for the astro turf,this was not forthcoming so i was charged £5 for the use of this piece of plastic turf , a rip off, i am all for saving the golf course using these mats but to be charged for using them leaves a lot to be desired. The hotel, food ,and HOTEL staff were excellent , but in my opinion the course should have been closed , it is a course i would love to play in better conditions.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 627john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawHill, Owner at Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
I am sorry for the late response but I have passed on your comments to the Proprietor of the Pro Shop. This is a seperate business to Shaw Hill Golf Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

It's not a new-build corporate hotel like a modern Marriott or Hilton etc. But it's clean functional and well-located. And the staff were wonderful. I stay away a lot in the major chains which are pleasant but soulless. With lots of "corporate" smiles; these staff are genuinely friendly and the food was excellent. I would thoroughly recommend staying there. I Cannot comment on the golf. Don't play the game. But the gym and pool are really good.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

I would like to say a great big thank you to all the staff at Shaw Hill for making my mum and dads anniversary memorable. I sent them away to a one night dinner, b&b & massage, they reported back to say what a fantastic time they had.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorley
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
9.0 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
7.1 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
11.5 mi away
Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa
23.1 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 7 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club

Property: Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Address: Preston Road | Whittle-Le-Woods, Chorley PR6 7PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Chorley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 30 individually styled bedrooms which vary in size and positioning gently reflecting the period of the building. All rooms are en-suite and facilities include Telephone, TV, Hospitality Tray and 24 hour room service. Most rooms include trouser press, ironing boards or are available on request. All guests are welcome to use the Leisure club free of charge and if you fancy a round of golf you can enjoy half price green fees - just ask at reception.The accommodation is set over three floors with a spiralling staircase and glittering chandeliers. Due to the nature of the building there is no lift access to the floors so should you have difficulty with stairs please request ground floor rooms when booking. All public areas of the Hotel have wheelchair access.We have a range of packages from Bed & Breakfast, Dinner inclusive, Spa & Golf breaks, Conference/ Delegate and Corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf And Country Club
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club Hotel Chorley
Shaw Hill Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing