We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely find”

Thru the Lookin Glass
Ranked #88 of 217 Restaurants in Chorley
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed May 22, 2013

What an unusual place on three very interesting levels. This was our first visit and found it a lovely experience, delicious cakes and an excellent choice of tea and coffee on offer. Staff very helpful and friendly. Well worth a visit, will certainly return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne M, Owner at Thru the Lookin Glass, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and thank you very much for taking the time out to review us on Trip Advisor, we really appreciate your time and enthusiasm for our Tea room and gift shop, it's so encouraging as we try very hard to make it a lovely experience for every body who calls in! Lovely, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 95 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

This vintage tearoom is a little gem and breath of fresh air were you can go and spend an hour or two taking time out . There is an excellent range of tea and coffee that compliment a wide selection of homemade cakes . Once I had enjoyed afternoon tea I spent time browsing a wide range of gifts on the upper floor. If you are looking for a. Special gift for someone then this is the place for you. I am also lead to believe that there is a small outside area that is an absolute sun trap opening I very soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LancsMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne M, Owner at Thru the Lookin Glass, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am so glad you feel it's a relaxing and sociable place to visit. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

A lovely tea room and gift shop. Beautifully executed with delicious cakes. Just what Wheelton needed. Will most certainly be a frequent visitor :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bladerunner81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne M, Owner at Thru the Lookin Glass, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive and heart warming comments! It is a wonderful compliment to hear that you will be returning regularly and that you also enjoyed browsing our gifts which we pride ourselves on.
Many Thanks,
Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Visited Thru the Looking Glass with my husband this morning after seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. Fabulous selection of cakes (was difficult to choose!) eventually settled on Chocolate Key Lime Pie and my husband tried Victoria sponge. Both were delicious. Tried the 'palace breakfast' tea, but there were lots of other varieties. Lovely relaxed atmosphere, service at the table was great - made it feel like a real treat. Will definitely be visiting again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne M, Owner at Thru the Lookin Glass, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to Thru the Lookin Glass and we are even more thrilled you would like to come back on another occaision!
Wonderful. Thank you so much for your feed back, it is so very much appreciated by all of us!
Kind Regards,
Lynne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My grand-daughter has coeliac disease and loves cakes, so it was great to be able to take her and her mum to such a nice little place where we could have hot chocolate, a latte and cakes, all gluten-free. Next time we'll go for a walk first and finish up with tea and cakes. Might try the soup too - sounded lovely!

Thank 37MargieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne M, Owner at Thru the Lookin Glass, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

How lovely to hear that your Grand daughter could enjoy a treat and that her family could too. This absolutely warms my heart as I personally have a gluten intolerance and know what a wonderful feeling it is to enjoy a treat and know I won't be ill as a consequence!!
We are really trying to offer an interesting and varied selection of sweet and savoury treats along with a lovely drink which will also cater for food intolerance but not be compromised on taste!
Thank you so much for your positive comments.
We hope we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thru the Lookin Glass also viewed

 

Been to Thru the Lookin Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing