We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent great visits” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dantes at the Halfway House

Dantes at the Halfway House
Ranked #36 of 199 Restaurants in Chorley
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Recent great visits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Real mix of staff (Bar man Ben is excellent) Food usually great and have recently not been let down at all. Great buzz on a Friday with live music- beer selection improving a little with a guest ale from Marco. Keep it up!
Great Local.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hospitalityisking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    121
    73
    36
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Could be reall good!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Even with its recent refurb there is still an air of incompleteness about the place. Visitors may be put off by signs on the entance doors advising that the dress standards after a certain time of day must meet certain standards, which appeared normal; so just who goes there that they need to be reminded? Guessing it must be the "t-shirt & shorts in winter" brigade!! Note to self-better to look elsewhere, maybe!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank luvinlifetilwedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“good food, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The restaurant has a contemporary feel which was good- it is clearly a restaurant and it didn't feel like we were just having a bar snack. The interior was far more inviting than the exterior although the large car park is a clear bonus. My friend and I visited mainly to have a good meal and a catch-up. This was a good destination. My pizza had a crisp base with plently of toppings including a fried egg, cooked to perfection. We just followed this by coffee. We weren't rushed and the service was good. We both enjoyed it very much indeed and will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Tasty food but service and coffee a let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went for a get together with several friends. Very busy time of year as expected but we kept getting overlooked and waited an age for dessert. Liquer coffee was tepid and lacking.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“It was busy but a brilliant night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Came in with friends on Saturday evening and the place was packed at 6pm! Got drinks and sat and chatted for a while whilst watching everyone come and go. We were shown to our table and I could see how busy it was so I expected a wait as everything is cooked fresh plus I was in good company too so we just chatted and drank till our food arrived. Lovely meal (best pizzas ever!!) and for a bill of 120 between 4 is good value for the food we got! Will be going again as I am living in the area and I'd highly recommend the place too anyone!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blahblahblah111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dantes at the Halfway House also viewed

Clayton le Woods, Lancashire
 
Chorley, Lancashire
Chorley, Lancashire
 

Been to Dantes at the Halfway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing