We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better Service in a two-for-one pub” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dantes at the Halfway House

Dantes at the Halfway House
Ranked #36 of 199 Restaurants in Chorley
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Better Service in a two-for-one pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

The food is was amazing as always however the service has gone down, massively!
We were shown to our table in the restaurant and there was only us and another party of five in.
This was lunchtime on a saturday afternoon before Christmas so would of expected it to be busier.

Within seconds of us being at the table we all had to out our coats back on as it was freezing in there. We asked one of the waitresses to turn the heating on and she said she would do it. Actually all that she did was turn the air conditioning off so it was still freezing throughout the whole meal and we couldn't wait to get out.

There were five of us around the table and we all had a drink when we went to the table. When they were gone the waitress came and took our order for more drinks, then walked away from the table leaving all the empty glasses on the table. We all thought she would take them when she returned with the drinks, but no . . . the glasses stayed there along with our new drinks.

There was absolutely no music on in the restaurant which means no atmosphere.

Overall the food was brilliant but i wouldnt go back here again just due to the lack of training from staff and lack of atmosphere and detail in the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nichola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    121
    73
    36
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Attention to detail please”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We ate here as a party of 4 for a birthday treat. It was a Sunday night and the bar area was pleasant enough to have pre-dinner drinks. We went through to the restaurant to find it pretty empty and were attended to straight away.

The food and service were fine but I just felt that there could have been a bit more attention to detail. The salt and pepper on the table were in Schwartz grinders that you would have in your kitchen cupboard. The side plates were greasy and mine had a huge chip in it. Our table was wobbly and the waitress watched us trying to steady it with beer mats without offering to help. The floor itself was grubby in the corners and there was a thick layer of dust on the skirting/ledge.

They have obviously spent a lot of money on the refurbishment and the decor itself is very stylish but a little more effort on the little things would have left us less disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karen1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
363 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

menu is good range, with fixed price 2 course option, prices were very reasonable and food was excellent. Chips were huge chunks of potato about half inch square.

Pizza was thin crust and very nice with big chunks of chicken.

2 main course , 3 drinks 1 coke, side order of chips and a sweet was £41

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank fozzie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretty good overall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Two of us went Sunday lunchtime.Nice room and decor. Basic italian menu . Food quality good but overpriced for what you get. Decent service and atmosphere. May return at some time but not in a hurry.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnG906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Been a couple of times recently and although the restaurant seems to have had a nice atmosphere I felt that the food was very average and overpriced. The first occasion I went was for a birthday party. There was about 15 people in the group so the bill came to about £350. I was asked to sign up to their loyalty scheme which entitles you to a £10 off voucher on your next visit. This should have been e-mailed through but never was. I was also given a loyality card which converts your spend into points and money off your next bill. I sent a few e-mails to explain that I hadn't received the voucher but they said that I had provided them with the wrong e-mail address. Anyway it still hadn't come through by the next time that I visited but after a load of faffing about they knocked £10 off the bill. The points that I accumulated on the loyalty card they said would be put on and I could use them next time, but I don't think I will be going there again in a rush..

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dantes at the Halfway House also viewed

Clayton le Woods, Lancashire
 
Chorley, Lancashire
Chorley, Lancashire
 

Been to Dantes at the Halfway House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing