We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and a bit tatty.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
North West UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Over priced and a bit tatty.”
Reviewed September 22, 2006

We stayed over night after attending a "medieval night" at the hotel.

The cost was £85 for B&B.

The room was in a chalet adjoining the hotel - about 300 yards from reception.

The room was OK. Reasonably clean, but it had seen better days. Cheap furniture and a bathroom that was just acceptable - not dirty, but not sparklingly clean. The toilet flush was a bit wonky and the bath looked old.

Thin walls completed the overall feeling of a cheap motel.

Certainly, in the USA (where we have holidayed quite a bit) you would have expected to pay maybe $40 max for the room in a motel in New England. $30 in Florida.

There is a cosy looking pub maybe 3 miles away offering rooms at £40 per night - if we ever go here again (unlikely) we will simply get a taxi to there and save some money.

  • Liked — Not very much
  • Disliked — Tatty, over priced
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else cheaper.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Chriswith2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    280
    177
    119
    101
See reviews for
340
161
22
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale,England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2006

We have stayed at this hotel many times and always had a good time. The staff are always courteous and friendly and the restaurant meals,including breakfast, are exellent. The breaks which include theme park tickets are great value!! The main complaint in the reviews is that the rooms are a bit old & outdated. I agree,but they are always clean & comfortable and good value for families. My kids are always asking us "when can we go to park hall again?"

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank andy6702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2006

I am writing this mail to complain about the hugely disappointing stay we had at the Park Hall Hotel on Monday evening.
The room that we stayed in was outdated, in need of re decorating and lots of repair. The radiator was red hot with no warning and my baby son burnt his hand on it. We had to meet family in the bar and did not have time to enquire as to a change of room.

We found the staff at dinner unprofessional and the meal was totally average and overpriced.

When we returned to our room late we realised that the shower was unusable as it was just a trickle. The beds had springs that make noise with the slightest movement. The picture quality of the TV was snowy on all channels. The tap being turned on made a loud noise in the bedroom that was frightning. We could hear loud techno music pumping out from one of the rooms at around 3am. We basically had a sleepless and uncomfortable night.

Although we were due to stay two nights we had to check out as when I asked for a better room I was shown one that had a door that wouldn't shut!

We we went for breakfast I was met with a blunt CAN I HELP? as opposed to a GOOD MORNING, the breakfast was poor quality and had been sitting for so long that the sausages were rock hard. My chair was broken and wobbly, to be honest I could go on and on.......

I am hugely dissapointed and would like a full refund.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — dont stay
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank evemeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chorley hotels

Tyne and Wear
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2006

Just came back yesterday after staying one night in the Park Hall Hotel, it was fantastic value for money. We booked a themed break, which was one night dinner, bed and breakfast and having two kids under 16 they went free!! and got the meals included free as well!! ( the meals were lovely) We arrived on the afternoon and got preview tickets for camelot which is about a 3 minute walk (you get the full day tickets the next day) then we went into the hotel swimming pool, which was small but suffice, and they give us towels so you didn't have to lug them with you. The only complaint about the health club was that there was no changing rooms only one big communual one!! so if your shy its tough basically. The hotel room we had was huge but we didn't have a seperate lounge area, just open front door and there are the beds right in front of you, one double and two single, which were very comfortable. There was also tea and coffee making facilities which was nice, and a tv and mirror/dressing area, our bathroom was huge, and clinical like, white tiles and blue floor, but free dove shower gel and hand wash to use, and the shower was powerful. Also towels provide in the room and a hairdryer. Plenty of room for all. Only thing we didn't like about hotel was that there was no parking near your chalet room, we had to carry all our bags around to it.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank thesimpsonssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2006

Just returned from a 1 x night stay at Park Hall, it was fab value - booked Saturday night B&B in a family room including Camelot tickets for family of 4 (2 x adults/2 x children) at £100 on Expedia (Park Hall Direct won't let you book Saturday only on a leisure break deal) If you book Expedia phone them tho as you will need to make sure that they put in the special instructions that theme park tickets and breakfast is included along with childrens ages, so you get correct room size). Brookes Restaurant at Park Hall is gorgeous and at £21.95 for a three course including coffee for adults is great value, they have a kids menu or 1/2 portions! Our Family room was clean and modern, the newly decorated living area complete with 3 seater sofa, armchair, TV and tea/coffee facilities had a pull down double bed,; the separate also newly decorated twin bedded room was lovely, the bathroom was spacious 'be it very dated - but did have Dove hand wash, Lux shower get and a brand new Mira Sport shower. We were opposite the the leisure club which was very handy after a day at the park, we relaxed in the pool area which the children loved. The theme park Camelot whilst not as refined as Alton Towers, was great for our two children aged 8yrs and 10yrs - they loved it. Overall we had a great break and would definately go again.

  • Liked — We had separate rooms from the children with comfy beds and not all squashed in a hotel room!
  • Disliked — The dated bathroom all in blue!
  • Tips/Secrets — Shop around, if doing a mid week (Sunday - Friday) check out their website as at the moment they are doing 15% off 1 x night 20% off 2 x nights, 25% off 3 x nights. Feature rooms are full price tho plus £50 per night, offers not applicable to Saturday nights.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank SOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 21, 2005

We booked a package deal which gave us a two-day pass into the Camelot theme park.

The hotel lounge was lovely and staff were helpful, but the accomadation was poor and scruffy. We asked for a travel cot and it was covered in mould at the top - very unhygenic and dangerous for a baby. There was urine in the toilet of the bathroom. We had a chalet and found the decor very old-fashioned - 1970s.

The package deal was a good idea, but the accomadation was dirty and spolied the stay.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 31, 2005

Arrived at hotel at 3,check in easy and staff very pleasent and helpful. We stayed on the B&B & evening meal package,very good value for money with having children. We stayed in one of the themed rooms which the children thought was fantastic,hunting in all places for the hidden chocolate(so did the adults!). Entrance into camelot was also included in the overall price. The park was a very good day out,with entertainment shows on throughout the day. I would recomend the park to familys with children from the ages five onwards for a fantastic family day out.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorley
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Charnock Richard M6
4.1 mi away
Shaw Hill Hotel, Golf & Country Club
2.8 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
945 reviews
22.7 mi away
Best Western Oaks Hotel & Leisure Club
4.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Preston Leyland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Park Hall Road | Charnock Richard, Chorley PR7 5LP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Chorley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Chorley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chorley Best Western
Best Western Chorley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing